We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Contented Sole

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
4, Old Quay | Harbour Road, Eyemouth TD14 5HS, Scotland
01890 750268
Improve this listing
Add hours for The Contented Sole and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 111 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 53
    Excellent
  • 34
    Very good
  • 15
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Good Food & Good Value

We stayed for a few days in Eyemouth and came upon this restaurant while walking around the village. We had a combination of steak, salad & fish and all meals were very good. With friendly staff, good food and Old Speckled Hen to drink it made for an enjoyable evening at a reasonable price.

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 13, 2015
rz0dcr
,
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015 NEW

We stayed for a few days in Eyemouth and came upon this restaurant while walking around the village. We had a combination of steak, salad & fish and all meals were very good. With friendly staff, good food and Old Speckled Hen to drink it made for an enjoyable evening at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura B, Owner at The Contented Sole, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again. More 

St.Andrews
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

There are, apparently, only four Pubs in Eyemoth and you have to go wandering about a bit to find this one.So glad we did, because it fitted our budget very well. And, with my coffee came three biscuits! A perfect ending to the meal of fish and chips. Go seeking!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura B, Owner at The Contented Sole, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your visit. I like a biscuit with my tea or coffee too. Hope to see you again. More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015 via mobile

our 3rd visit to Eyemouth and 2nd to the contented sole, lovely friendly staff who have a great sense of humour! Food absolutely gorgeous, not your usual microwave stuff, will see you next year same time 😀

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura B, Owner at The Contented Sole, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting again.. Look forward to seeing you again next year. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

We went there a couple of times on a day trip to Eyemouth. This is the only place on the harbour that is open. The other two places look like they have been closed for a while. The pub is nice in side and has a good selection of drinks. The old speckled hen beer was really good. Free wifi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Laura B, Owner at The Contented Sole, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your visit and the Old Speckled Hen!! Hope to see you back so you ca try our food.We are sure you wont be disappointed. More 

Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

basic bar food not made at home food as indicated but as far as basic bar grub goes o k price is resonable

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura B, Owner at The Contented Sole, responded to this review

I don`t quite understand this review as food is home cooked where indicated. We hope you will come again and enjoy your next visit more. More 

Hurworth-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

We were so relieved when we could bring our dog into the pub. The staff were so welcoming and friendly. We were a party of 3 adults and 2 children and stopped for a light bite. We ordered the smaller portions, but there was still a great amount of food. The food was nice, quality pub food and we thoroughly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Laura B, Owner at The Contented Sole, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope we will see you again soon. More 

Juneau, Alaska
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015 via mobile

For us, the service in the restaurant was exceptional. My daughter really enjoyed her food and the waitress was just great. Good beer on tap, good food sent up. Quiet, easy, good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura B, Owner at The Contented Sole, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope we will see you again soon. More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

We have made multiple trips to this little pub in the harbour and each time they have lived up to what we have come to expect from them for food and service. It would not be a trip to Eyemouth with out some fish and chips and what better then to have them in a nice atmosphere served by a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura B, Owner at The Contented Sole, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope we will see you again soon. More 

Hawick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

A party of six of us from the local static caravan site met up on Saturday night for a meal at the Sole ,we were welcomed by two very smart girls that directed us to our table , menu.s on table wide choice of starters n mains available all of which came well presented .and promptly ,a selection of wines... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura B, Owner at The Contented Sole, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope we will see you again soon. More 

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

I visited this pub for some food while in the area on business. I had the chowder that was nice but the main course of lasagna was basically all yellow cheese and hardly any meat. It was served with chips and when I went to put vinegar in the chips from one of the sachets the vinegar seemed to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura B, Owner at The Contented Sole, responded to this review

So sorry you did not enjoy your visit to our premises.We did take your complaint on board and no longer use vinegar sachets. If you are in he area again, please pop in and make yourself known to us. Your meal will be on the house. More 

Travelers who viewed The Contented Sole also viewed

Eyemouth, Scottish Borders
Eyemouth, Scottish Borders
 
Eyemouth, Scottish Borders
 

Been to The Contented Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 4, Old Quay | Harbour Road, Eyemouth TD14 5HS, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Borders  >  Eyemouth
  • Phone Number: 01890 750268

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: European

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Contented Sole staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?