We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Port of Menteith Restaurants

The Lake of Menteith Hotel

Port of Menteith, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3RA, Scotland
+44 1877385258
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night

Hotels travelers are raving about...

Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    43
    17
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The dining room is very well arranged and the food is modern and delicious. We also enjoyed breakfast and it was equally good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for you kind words and delighted you enjoyed your meals with us. We are lucky to start of with some of the best produce in the world, right on our doorstep! Best wishes, Ian More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a lovely meal here - the staff were friendly and accommdating to our children and the reviews were amazing. Food was fantastic and great kids' menu

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James Thank you visiting the Lake and delighted it ticked all the boxes. We are lucky to have a great location and some fantastic staff. Regards Ian More 

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Popped in on Saturday for a spot of lunch, it was already hard to choose from such a great menu, but then the specials made it even harder. We settled for a number of small dishes tapas style .. mussels, tomato soup, hot smoked salmon salad and the best of all was the fish cake, best ever I've tasted I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your generous words and kind comments. Appreciated greatly by our team who have been making some minor improvements across our dining offering. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards Ian More 

Glasgow
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I wrote a review of lunch here in Nov. but it sems to have gotten 'lost' - so here goes again! We had lovely drive up to this beautiful spot on 10th Nov. for lunch. We've been here before, for lunch, in the summer months & were able to dine outside with a fine view of the lake. The food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jack, Many thanks for visitng the Lake and I am sorry the experience disapointed. Rib Eye is usually the best cut, nice bit of fat for cooking and flavour and usually well hung and tasty from our supplier of eight years. It is a very expensive cut of meat and in light of your comments will consider offering a... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Lunch today was so disappointing macaroni cheese and frozen chips! The macaroni was so dry had to put sachets of ketchup on to swallow. It's such a shame as we had been told it was agreat place for lunch. The staff were run off their feet but very attentive. May not frequent again

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kenny, I am sorry you had a disapointing lunch, please let us know at the moment and we will do all we can to improve your experience. Delighted you might be willing to try us again and we will contemplate removing the macaroni as it does seem to be inconsistent. Regards Ian More 

Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

food very good service not so good had to wait 50 mins for dinner. didnt keep in touch we had to go and ask how long dinner would be . seemed more interested in the customers in the restaurant than customers in the bar side.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Michelle, Many thanks for visiting the Hotel and delighted you enjoyed youre food. I am sorry it was slow in getting to you and that you had to enquire about the time. It has been brought up with the team and I hope you will try us again when you return to the area with Loch & Glens. Have... More 

Scotland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I too ate in this hotel at the end of October. Yes, it was a cold day and yes, the fire could have been lit by lunchtime. Our group ate in several other establishments during the week and they ALL had log fires going by lunch time. Come on, you have to up your game!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this review

I appreciate your comments and thank you for them. We do have central heating and a massive roaring fire in this area which generally makes it pretty "toastie". However if we get a bright sunny morning it heats that area such that it gets too warm but a comment to the staff will instantly change that. We are now fast... More 

Stirlingshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My sister, mum and i visited for Sunday lunch on 11th November. The setting is amazing, and it was a crisp late autumn day, a cosy log fire and the views from the restaurant across the water were beautiful. All starters were delicious, lovely bread and Medium Rare roast beef with Kale was perfect (always dubious about "sunday roasts"). The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review and generous words. We are fortunate to have a british team of staff, young and enthusiastic. A great foundation for training and development and we do our best to bring them on, so much so a number have trained in our USA business to be enriched by that service culture. As we enter our... More 

Bournemouth
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Went for lunch on Oct 31st. The service was ok but the food did seem to take a long time to arrive, compared with the service to other tables...there were only 4 of us but the other tables were pairs. I had been before in the summer and sat outside, this time we were in the bar. Sadly the one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and please that overall you enjoyed your experience. Disapointed you found it a little cold as we have both central heating and an enormous fire in that area. The temperature at that time of year can swing from sunny and warm to overcast and cold in a few minutes and possibly this was the case.... More 

Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Magnificent location, service and food. We arrived late but were very comfortably seated while a table became available. The view from the hotel is beautiful. It is very quiet and there is room to walk around this scenic spot. We ate in the fast food area but it was still a memorable meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innspiration, Owner at The Lake of Menteith Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for you generous comments and we are all delighted you enjoyed your visit. We are most fortunate to enjoy a beautiful and peaceful location yet only an hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh. Ian More 

Travelers who viewed The Lake of Menteith Hotel also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Lake of Menteith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake of Menteith Hotel

Address: Port of Menteith, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3RA, Scotland
Phone Number: +44 1877385258
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park  >  Port of Menteith

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lake of Menteith Hotel staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?