We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Duck Bay Hotel & Restaurant

Loch Lomond | Duck Bay Hotel, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8QZ , Scotland
+44 (0)1389 751234
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
36 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    101
    64
    33
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 NEW

Great views,restaurant,staff,service,food.value for quality and portions.only downside if u wish to sit outside,plastic glasses for wine etc n coffee(not down to restaurant)as facilities separate)but really need to review this policy'could make this establishment 10/10

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brockworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Had a meal there on a nice sunny afternoon in June 2014. Views from the restaurant are very nice , it is by the shore of Loch Lomond and it was a day to remember. Restaurant was clean and nicely decorated. Service was good, staff were polite and helpful. We had fish and chips , portions were generous and nicely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan L, Guest Relations Manager at Duck Bay Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Dendoc, Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable visit and look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area. Kind regards and best wishes Ryan Logan Guest Relations Manager Cawley Hotels. More

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We arrived here from a long drive, the roast dinner was 3 slices of dry overcooked beef and frozen veg, my partner had chicken pie reformed chicken and again frozen veg also tinned peas. The manager apologised when we told him we were not happy, then proceeded to wish us a happy journey back to England ! when no mention... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan L, Guest Relations Manager at Duck Bay Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear CalPix, While we can only sincerely apologise if the meals were not to your liking, we do take issue with a couple of factual errors you have made in your review. Firstly, the chicken is certainly not 'reformed', it is 100% fresh chicken breast that we use. Secondly, the vegetables are not frozen, they are indeed fresh. As I... More

Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I went to this establishment after reading reviews on trip advisor. This was a very attractive restaurant and the view would have been great had we been seated near the window. The food was of a decent caliber however the time it took for the staff to take our drink order and food order was quite long, also we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan L, Guest Relations Manager at Duck Bay Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Megk93, Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the food and are very grateful for the constructive comments. Our apologises for any inconvenience caused with regard to service. We do hope that you will return. Kind regards and best wishes Ryan Logan Guest Relations Manager Cawley Hotels More

Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We came here for lunch on a very sunny day in early July. We were staying in nearby Luss so popped in en-route. I had tempura prawns followed by fish and chips and my wife haggis then scampi. Not hugely adventurous I know but but we fancied something seafoody and simple. The food was fantastic. Very fresh and the batter... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan L, Guest Relations Manager at Duck Bay Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear TMacD2000, Thank you for your review and kind comments. The team at Duck Bay are delighted that you had such an enjoyable visit and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards and best wishes Ryan Logan Guest Relations Manager Cawley Hotels More

Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Six of us plus baby dined here last night. We were seated at a table tucked in a corner - great as we didn't feel baby would upset other diners if she made a fuss ( needn't have worried she was an angel!) we all ordered different dishes (6 starters plus 6 mains). Our order was taken promptly and everything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan L, Guest Relations Manager at Duck Bay Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer B, Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meals and had such an enjoyable time. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards and best wishes Ryan Logan, Guest Relations Manager, Cawley Hotels. More

Luxembourg
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our experience was that this establishment is living off a previous reputation. It may have outstanding views, good décor but the quality of food is shocking and not what I would expect from an establishment of this type. It is part of a small chain of Hotel/Restaurants and should be able to provide better quality food. We were shown to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan L, Manager at Duck Bay Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear LachieMhor, While we welcome all feedback we expect such feedback to be genuine, constructive and a fair representation of that customers visit. Unfortunately when reviews are written by 'want-to-be' food critics, they are often distorted, exaggerated and a grossly unfair portrayal of that persons visit. To make such statements and jump to such conclusions about our food based on... More

Glasgow
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The other day my family and I went to the duck bay for lunch. When we first arrived we were given a buzzer so that when our table was ready it would buzz for us, we were told it would take 45 mins - 1 hour. So in the meantime we went over to cameron house, which is something worth... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan L, Manager at Duck Bay Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear sara-xcox Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you such an enjoyable visit and hopefully when you come back you will be able to get a table looking out over the loch. Kind regards and best wishes Ryan Logan Customer Relations Manager Cawley Hotels & Restaurants More

Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I have visited the restaurant at the Duck Bay many times and always leave impressed with the intention of writing a review. Well this time I am doing just that! Need to pass on my experience of excellant food, stunning Loch view but most of all the first class service from the most pleasant waiting staff. I will return....many times!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan L, Manager at Duck Bay Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Senga D , Thank you for your review and kind comments, they are greatly appreciated by all the staff. We look forward to you returning. Kind regards and best wishes Ryan Logan Customer Relations Manager Cawley Hotels & Restaurants More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Went to Duck Bay at Loch Lomond on a Sunday for a late lunch, having checked we didn't need to book. Restaurant was busy when we arrived but got a table within a few minutes. We both had salads which were ok at best. Caesar salad was definitely not that. Staff had specific roles e.g. serving drinks, taking orders which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan L, Manager at Duck Bay Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear BosuDunn, Thank you for your review. While we welcome your views I feel that they are somewhat harsh and I can assure you that they are certainly not representative of the majority of our customers. If there was anything that was not up to the standard you were expecting then a quick word with one of our staff would... More

Travelers who viewed Duck Bay Hotel & Restaurant also viewed

Gartocharn, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire

Been to Duck Bay Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duck Bay Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing