We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Squat Lobster

Certificate of Excellence
$
Fish & Chips, Seafood, British, Scottish
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
The Pier | Isle of Bute, Rothesay, Scotland
+44 7818 112336
Add hours for The Squat Lobster and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 62 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 46
    Excellent
  • 7
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
not a sit in place, but a great take away !!

Surprisingly found this little gem close to the pier. Although you cant sit in and eat, the take away of fish and chips was as good as it gets. A little bit pricey for what it is, but the food was tasty and fresh !!

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 10, 2015
linzerbairn
,
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

The Squat Lobster is a very small fish and chip takeaway right beside the ferry terminal. Closes at 8pm on a Friday and we arrived at 7.30 to be told in non offensive but rather animated terms that there were no fish left however they had large fish and goujons. We opted for one of each with chips. We placed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

Surprisingly found this little gem close to the pier. Although you cant sit in and eat, the take away of fish and chips was as good as it gets. A little bit pricey for what it is, but the food was tasty and fresh !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015 via mobile

Had fish and chips for dinner , huge fish resembled a shark in size lol. Lovely dinner , could not fault it. Service was good , phone order and collect from premises . Friendly staff. No complaints

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karon H, Owner at The Squat Lobster, responded to this review

THANK YOU !! You made our day....we are glad you enjoyed your meal. We appreciate All feedback...if it's good, we give ourselves a pat on the back; when sometimes there is a problem we stress and weep and try to do something about it ....Hope to see you again, THANK YOU for reviewing us.... Karon and Emma More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

Really disappointed in what is regarded as great "Who are writing these reviews" I wonder ?Hmmm. Batter on the fish was extremely greasy and the chips are 100% frozen and not fresh potatoes. I will even guess there McCain chips with the skins left on which can be found in a Booker cash and carry. The cans there selling are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karon H, Owner at The Squat Lobster, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Sorry that you weren't happy with your meal. Regarding the issue of selling multipack cans there is NO law against this according to trading standards....(Edinburgh Trading Standards has a good advice page on this). I buy multi packs locally, as and when I need them because, as you will... More 

Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

Take away only, or sit outside the kiosk. Be prepared to wait, cooked to order. Worth the wait for squat lobster!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

just finished a most excellent fresh haddock fish supper. Service was fast and friendly, great chippie, I will certainly be back to try the shrimp and lobster menu items which I believe are available Thursday to Saturday (depends on local suppliers) good downtown location, reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rothesay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

Had a superb fish supper all done to perfection and will be back again for another. Staff very friendly and helpful. Sat on a bench on the seafront and tried to protect my fish supper from the seagulls which was hard going.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

I wouldn't go as far as amazing fish and chips they were very average to say the least. I was very disappointed after reading so many good reviews. Fish was very dry and chips were tasteless, hopefully it was just a bad day for them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

Having fish and chips in the UK has to be on the bucket list. this shop made it better. Just a simple fish and chip takeaway. Tried the frito misto which comprised smoked salmon, smoked haddock and haddock and chips. Fish was cut up and battered fresh. Great serving - enough for two. Staff are friendly and very helpful. would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

Fish and chips so good I went twice when I was last in Rothesay. (Second time, I was on the way to dinner...!) Langoustine perfectly cooked in butter were delicious also, they'd just been delivered by the fisherman. Lovely staff too. 'Regular' size fish and chips were pretty big. I wonder what the large portion is like. Marvellous, fantastic, excellent,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed The Squat Lobster also viewed

Rothesay, Isle of Bute
 
Rothesay, Isle of Bute
 

Been to The Squat Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Squat Lobster

Address: The Pier | Isle of Bute, Rothesay, Scotland
Phone Number: +44 7818 112336
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Argyll and Bute  >  Isle of Bute  >  Rothesay
Average Prices: USD 3 - 12
Cuisine: Fish & Chips, Seafood, British, Scottish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: The Pier | Isle of Bute, Rothesay, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Argyll and Bute  >  Isle of Bute  >  Rothesay
  • Phone Number: +44 7818 112336

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 3 - 12
  • Cuisine: Fish & Chips, Seafood, British, Scottish

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Squat Lobster staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?