We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Squat Lobster

Certificate of Excellence
$
Fish & Chips, Seafood, British, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Pier | Isle of Bute, Rothesay PA20 5AQ, Scotland
447884290996
Improve this listing
Add hours for The Squat Lobster and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Takeout

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 66 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 49
    Excellent
  • 7
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
The Best Fish n Chips in Years!

Whilst visiting family in Rothesay, we had the opportunity of sampling the best fish and chips I have tasted in a very long time. We opted for haddock goujons, which were plump, juicy, and coated in the lightest, crispy batter. The chips were skin-on, crispy outside and fluffy inside, perfect! We... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed August 26, 2015
evejon
,
glasgow
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015 NEW

Whilst visiting family in Rothesay, we had the opportunity of sampling the best fish and chips I have tasted in a very long time. We opted for haddock goujons, which were plump, juicy, and coated in the lightest, crispy batter. The chips were skin-on, crispy outside and fluffy inside, perfect! We did have to wait as the friendly young girl... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015

Sadly they didn't have the time to get things ready before the ferry that was leaving in 20 mins! So who knows?!! Perhaps it's was worth the wait!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015 via mobile

I had a smoked sausage and chips from here and without doubt was the best ive ever tasted,my wife had the fish goujons and they were tasty as well.If your holidaying in rothesay then this place is well worth a visit and the staff are warm and friendly too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

Felt compelled to write a review after reading a negative one that I completely disagree with!! I am in no way affiliated with squat lobster a noisy at my profile will show that!! I visited Rothesay in May for my husbands birthday we ended the day by stopping at this quirky little chippie. Wow what a menu I was genuinely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

The Squat Lobster is a very small fish and chip takeaway right beside the ferry terminal. Closes at 8pm on a Friday and we arrived at 7.30 to be told in non offensive but rather animated terms that there were no fish left however they had large fish and goujons. We opted for one of each with chips. We placed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

Surprisingly found this little gem close to the pier. Although you cant sit in and eat, the take away of fish and chips was as good as it gets. A little bit pricey for what it is, but the food was tasty and fresh !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015 via mobile

Had fish and chips for dinner , huge fish resembled a shark in size lol. Lovely dinner , could not fault it. Service was good , phone order and collect from premises . Friendly staff. No complaints

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karon H, Owner at The Squat Lobster, responded to this review

THANK YOU !! You made our day....we are glad you enjoyed your meal. We appreciate All feedback...if it's good, we give ourselves a pat on the back; when sometimes there is a problem we stress and weep and try to do something about it ....Hope to see you again, THANK YOU for reviewing us.... Karon and Emma More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

Really disappointed in what is regarded as great "Who are writing these reviews" I wonder ?Hmmm. Batter on the fish was extremely greasy and the chips are 100% frozen and not fresh potatoes. I will even guess there McCain chips with the skins left on which can be found in a Booker cash and carry. The cans there selling are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karon H, Owner at The Squat Lobster, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Sorry that you weren't happy with your meal. Regarding the issue of selling multipack cans there is NO law against this according to trading standards....(Edinburgh Trading Standards has a good advice page on this). I buy multi packs locally, as and when I need them because, as you will... More 

Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

Take away only, or sit outside the kiosk. Be prepared to wait, cooked to order. Worth the wait for squat lobster!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

just finished a most excellent fresh haddock fish supper. Service was fast and friendly, great chippie, I will certainly be back to try the shrimp and lobster menu items which I believe are available Thursday to Saturday (depends on local suppliers) good downtown location, reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed The Squat Lobster also viewed

Rothesay, Isle of Bute
 
Rothesay, Isle of Bute
Rothesay, Isle of Bute
 

Been to The Squat Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: The Pier | Isle of Bute, Rothesay PA20 5AQ, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Argyll and Bute  >  Isle of Bute  >  Rothesay
  • Phone Number: 447884290996

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 3 - 12
  • Cuisine: Fish & Chips, Seafood, British, Scottish

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Squat Lobster staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?