We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Almondvale Parkway, Livingston, Scotland
01506410661
Website
Add hours for The Lime Kiln and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Lime Kiln is a child- friendly licensed restaurant, right across from...
The Lime Kiln is a child- friendly licensed restaurant, right across from Livingstons designer shopping outlet. We have a large capacity dining area, a bar area, outside dining area,a childs outdoor playarea, and Tots TV room to keep the kids happy. Our menu has a wide and varied selection of meals to suit all tastes, as well as a number of deals to suit all budgets! These include: 2 main meals for £9.95 all day every day, Fish night on a Wednesday, Grill night on a Thursday, Fajita Friday and our popular Sunday Roast deals.We can cater for large parties- if you have an occasion coming up then please contact us about our special occasion tables or if you would like to organise a set menu or a buffet.We look forward to seeing you soon!
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 323 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 71
    Excellent
  • 69
    Very good
  • 56
    Average
  • 66
    Poor
  • 61
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Return visit-disappointed

I have visited the Lime Kiln many times but can honestly say on this occasion, never again. It's obvious that it's no longer the same chef since my last visit some months ago. The food was simply terrible. I ordered steak pie, which I have had on other occasions and always loved it, so what was... read more

2 of 5 starsReviewed June 16, 2015
jakki26
,
scotland
Add Photo Write a Review

323 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Calder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015 NEW

Good place for a drink and a meal withfamily or friends.on a bus route so no need for a car.,also good for works night outs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LimeKiln2014, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi Maureen, thank you for your 5 star review. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit with us, and look forward to seeing you again. Arthur Leamy Deputy Manager More 

scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

I have visited the Lime Kiln many times but can honestly say on this occasion, never again. It's obvious that it's no longer the same chef since my last visit some months ago. The food was simply terrible. I ordered steak pie, which I have had on other occasions and always loved it, so what was different this time? Well...... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LimeKiln2014, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi Jakki26, I am very disappointed to hear that you were not happy with your recent visit. I can assure you this does not meet our standards and I have discussed your comments with the kitchen manager. Can you please contact me at 6593@greeneking.co.uk to discuss this. Arthur Leamy Deputy Manager More 

Edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

Very average im every area. Passable staff attention but certainly not pleasant and food which tasted like a microwave warm up. Im feeling generous so two stars.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LimeKiln2014, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi Fabio D Thank you for your review on the Lime Kiln. I am disappointed you only felt you could give us 2 stars on your review. If possible could you contact me at 6593@greeneking.co.uk with details on when you visited and what meals you ordered which you felt were poor. Kind Regards Elaine Cowan General Manager More 

Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

Lovey cosy restaurant with lovely home made food,Steaks amazing the burgers are huge,reasonable priced drinks,out door seating.I have been here often with family and standards have got better.Staff very helpful and pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LimeKiln2014, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi Kats37 Thank you for your five star review on the Lime Kiln. Our Chefs work hard to prepare a high standard of food, and I will ensure they see your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Elaine Cowan General Manager More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

My husband and I came for lunch today and had a lovely meal. The female manager even let me taste a sample of the whisky sauce before i ordered my meal, to make sure i liked it. I also changed an element on my meal and this wasn't a problem for them. Very attentive staff, food was lovely and restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LimeKiln2014, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi Bakingmamma55 Thank you for your five star review of the Lime Kiln! We are glad you enjoyed your meal with us and hope you had a successful trip to the shops!! Kind Regards Elaine Cowan General Manager More 

Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

I have to be honest, we arrived not thinking it would be up to much as been previous and standards were not to par, however we were pleasantly suprised, staff were all friendly our waitress linsey was very happy, bubbly and added to our experience she ensured our food was out straight away always informing us of her actions which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LimeKiln2014, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi Hay2325 Thank you for your five star review of the Lime Kiln. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit, and I will ensure Linsey sees your comments regarding her excellent service. Kind Regards Elaine Cowan General Manager More 

Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015 via mobile

Very nice visit, had a sharer board and a sharer dessert was amazing, service was outstanding Linsey was very friendly and couldn't do enough to make our visit more enjoyable. We would recommend this restaurant to anyone. Left very happy !!.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LimeKiln2014, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi Jims2310 Thank you for your five star review of the Lime Kiln. I am delighted that you have mentioned Linsey as an excellent waitress and I will ensure your comments are passed onto her. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon! Kind Regards Elaine Cowan General Manager More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Pleasant and friendly staff. No problem. Food wasn't cooked nicely at all. Overcooked steaks with bland accompaniments. Takes forever to get served at the bar too. Despite been empty. No bar staff present. Won't be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LimeKiln2014, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi Isharpe I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your visit with us. We offer full table service, I apologise that you had to go to the bar for your drinks. Thank you for bringing these matters to my attention. Kind Regards Elaine Cowan General Manager More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Went out for a family meal and have to say that this is my favourite place to have eat and drink in West Lothian. The staff are very friendly, attentive and customer focused. They are backed up by great food at reasonable prices and a superb selection of drinks. A special mention to Pauline who served us, she has lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LimeKiln2014, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi Ali D Thank you for your five star review! I'm glad you enjoyed your visit with us, and I will be sure to recognise Pauline for your kind comments about her service. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Elaine Cowan General Manager More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

Thankyou to the two lovely female waitresses who served my hubby and I our breakfast this morning; both very attentive, and also compliments to the chef for a 1st class Scottish breakfast. Thoroughly enjoyed this lovely wee restaurant 10/10. Highly recommended!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LimeKiln2014, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi McCartney35 Thank you for your 5 star review on your food & service here at the Lime Kiln! We agree that our breakfast is first class, and I'm very proud of the Team who had the pleasure to serve yourself and your husband yesterday, I will ensure they are recognised for this. We hope to see you again soon!... More 

Travelers who viewed The Lime Kiln also viewed

Livingston, West Lothian
Stirling, Stirlingshire
 

Been to The Lime Kiln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lime Kiln

Address: Almondvale Parkway, Livingston, Scotland
Phone Number: 01506410661
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  West Lothian  >  Livingston
Cuisine: British, Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Almondvale Parkway, Livingston, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  West Lothian  >  Livingston
  • Phone Number: 01506410661

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Description

The Lime Kiln is a child- friendly licensed restaurant, right across from Livingstons designer shopping outlet. We have a large capacity dining area, a bar area, outside dining area,a childs outdoor playarea, and Tots TV room to keep the kids happy. Our menu has a wide and varied selection of meals to suit all tastes, as well as a number of deals to suit all budgets! These include: 2 main meals for £9.95 all day every day, Fish night on a Wednesday, Grill night on a Thursday, Fajita Friday and our popular Sunday Roast deals.We can cater for large parties- if you have an occasion coming up then please contact us about our special occasion tables or if you would like to organise a set menu or a buffet.We look forward to seeing you soon!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lime Kiln staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?