We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Almondvale Parkway, Livingston, Scotland
01506410661
Website
Add hours for The Lime Kiln and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Lime Kiln is a child- friendly licensed restaurant, right across from...
The Lime Kiln is a child- friendly licensed restaurant, right across from Livingstons designer shopping outlet. We have a large capacity dining area, a bar area, outside dining area,a childs outdoor playarea, and Tots TV room to keep the kids happy. Our menu has a wide and varied selection of meals to suit all tastes, as well as a number of deals to suit all budgets! These include: 2 main meals for £9.95 all day every day, Fish night on a Wednesday, Grill night on a Thursday, Fajita Friday and our popular Sunday Roast deals.We can cater for large parties- if you have an occasion coming up then please contact us about our special occasion tables or if you would like to organise a set menu or a buffet.We look forward to seeing you soon!
read more
Good for:
Breakfast/Brunch
Lunch
Dinner
Reservations
Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 290 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 62
    Excellent
  • 63
    Very good
  • 53
    Average
  • 54
    Poor
  • 58
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Appalling service and customer care.

Having arrived at 5.45pm food not served until 6.50pm Ordered a rare steak, received medium rare maybe that's why it took so long to get served. Partners burger was not hot!! Table service was not any better. No apologies for delay and asked "are you happy". Was recommended to visit by family... read more

1 of 5 starsReviewed February 26, 2015
Derek C
via mobile
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015 NEW via mobile

Having arrived at 5.45pm food not served until 6.50pm Ordered a rare steak, received medium rare maybe that's why it took so long to get served. Partners burger was not hot!! Table service was not any better. No apologies for delay and asked "are you happy". Was recommended to visit by family. Neither them or us will revisit this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

This restraunt is average, the main let down on our visit was poor service, not enough staff on, the night we went. But food was lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LimeKiln2014, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi Debbie A Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to us, and thank you for the comment on our food. I can only apologise for the poor service you received and your constructive feedback on this is appreciated. If possible, could you contact me at 6593@greeneking.co.uk with further details to allow me to investigate. Arthur Leamy Deputy... More 

Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Good value, good food, slow service. The TV at the boots is good for sports fans. Limited parking in the car park but plenty of parking nearby

Was this review helpful? Yes
LimeKiln2014, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi Colin715 Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to us. Kind regards Arthur Leamy Deputy General Manager More 

Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

we went as a party of 13 for a lunch for a special Occasion and it had been booked..The steak was burnt, the buns for the burgers were burnt at the bottom.More like charcoaled...The chips we just warm ...The peppercorn sauce did not taste of really anything...My small tomatoes with my steak were burnt as well and my wedges were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LimeKiln2014, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi Rebecca W I am sorry you were disappointed with the standard of meals you were served. If possible, could you contact me at 6593@greenekimg.co.uk with further details to allow me to investigate. Kind Regards Elaine Cowan General Manager More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Visited with family, service was definitely not intrusive. The food arrived and it was not what we ordered which is fine these things happen. When the right order came the food was cold. Everyone makes mistakes I guess but wasn't a great expieence for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LimeKiln2014, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi jamM78 Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to us. I would like to apologise for the cold meals that were delivered to your table. Can you please contact me at 6593@greeneking.co.uk to allow me to investigate this further. Kind Regards Elaine Cowan General Manager More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Extremely over priced. i ordered Welsh rarebit- £4.39. One small, very small, piece of mushroom topped bread. That was it apart from some tired unseasoned rocket. Robbery and £ 6.50 for a glass of wine- No wonder no locals were there. Very disappointed

Was this review helpful? Yes
LimeKiln2014, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi tggcrawford I am disappointed to read your review of our restaurant. We do have a wide range of wines available by the glass starting from £2.20 for a small glass which I apologise that we did not offer to change your order to our house brand, El Mazo. I will also use your comments to improve the portion of... More 

South Queensferry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

We visited tonight. Here is a quick summary. Gammon served uncooked and half raw. When I asked for it to be cooked properly, the plate returned with the same piece of gammon, but half of it was black and completely burned, and the other half was like rubber and half the size. Peas were rock hard. Half of the chips... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LimeKiln2014, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi ferryreviewer I'm sorry you were disappointed with your meals and service on your visit with us, these are not the standards we aim for here at the Lime Kiln. I would be grateful if you could email me details to 6593@greeneking.co.uk to allow me to investigate this further. Kind Regards Elaine Cowan General Manager More 

Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

2 adults and 3 children. We have had a bad experience in here before but it was a couple of years ago and we thought we would give it another try. We ordered the ribs 2 x meals for £9.99 and the kids had 3 x kids meals, 1 at £3.99 and 2 at £4.99. Our eldest also ordered ribs.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LimeKiln2014, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi davidandgayle I'm sorry you were disappointed with your meals and service on your visit with us, these are not the standards we aim for here at the Lime Kiln. I would be grateful if you could email me details to 6593@greeneking.co.uk to allow me to investigate this further. Kind Regards Elaine Cowan General Manager More 

Erskine
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015 via mobile

Dined here on Saturday 24th January. Eat here when visiting Livingston as we always have a great meal. Waited 20 minutes for drinks to be served & 40 minutes for starters. It was not that busy and there were plenty off staff on. After another 45 minutes we got our main courses which were lukewarm but we ate them as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
LimeKiln2014, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi Kirsten M I'm sorry you were disappointed with your visit to us last weekend. I was aware we had an issue on Saturday night with your meals, but I apologise that this was not dealt with to your satisfaction. If you would like to discuss this any further, I can be contacted on 6593@greeneking.co.uk. Kind Regards Elaine Cowan General... More 

Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

my friend and myself had a lovely time at limekilns ,staff were lovely and we enjoyed our food surroundings and toilets clean and tidy.we will be returning

Was this review helpful? Yes
LimeKiln2014, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi Elaine G Thank you for your recent review on your visit to the Lime Kiln, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Elaine Cowan General Manager More 

Travelers who viewed The Lime Kiln also viewed

 
Stirling, Stirlingshire
Livingston, West Lothian
 

Been to The Lime Kiln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Almondvale Parkway, Livingston, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  West Lothian  >  Livingston
  • Phone Number: 01506410661

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British

Description

The Lime Kiln is a child- friendly licensed restaurant, right across from Livingstons designer shopping outlet. We have a large capacity dining area, a bar area, outside dining area,a childs outdoor playarea, and Tots TV room to keep the kids happy. Our menu has a wide and varied selection of meals to suit all tastes, as well as a number of deals to suit all budgets! These include: 2 main meals for £9.95 all day every day, Fish night on a Wednesday, Grill night on a Thursday, Fajita Friday and our popular Sunday Roast deals.We can cater for large parties- if you have an occasion coming up then please contact us about our special occasion tables or if you would like to organise a set menu or a buffet.We look forward to seeing you soon!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lime Kiln staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?