We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Almondvale Parkway, Livingston, Scotland
01506410661
Website
Add hours for The Lime Kiln and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Lime Kiln is a child- friendly licensed restaurant, right across from...
The Lime Kiln is a child- friendly licensed restaurant, right across from Livingstons designer shopping outlet. We have a large capacity dining area, a bar area, outside dining area,a childs outdoor playarea, and Tots TV room to keep the kids happy. Our menu has a wide and varied selection of meals to suit all tastes, as well as a number of deals to suit all budgets! These include: 2 main meals for £9.95 all day every day, Fish night on a Wednesday, Grill night on a Thursday, Fajita Friday and our popular Sunday Roast deals.We can cater for large parties- if you have an occasion coming up then please contact us about our special occasion tables or if you would like to organise a set menu or a buffet.We look forward to seeing you soon!
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 335 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 74
    Excellent
  • 74
    Very good
  • 57
    Average
  • 68
    Poor
  • 62
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Pub

Food was poor value for money. Bill was £47.00 for 3 people. Food was ok but not enough and slow service. The place was not busy at the time we went there but staff too busy talking to each other.

3 of 5 starsReviewed July 14, 2015
gillians555
,
Wigan
Add Photo Write a Review

335 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015 NEW via mobile

4 non alcoholic drinks 3 simple meals and a soup cost £48, I feel it was a little expensive for what we had, the staff were very friendly though and the atmosphere was nice and chilled

Was this review helpful? Yes
LimeKiln2014, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi Johnlinz64 Thank you for your recent feedback. I'm glad you found our food to be delicious and served quickly. We do have meals available from £4.49, I'm sorry if you felt the meals you had were expensive. Kind Regards Elaine Cowan General Manager More 

Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 NEW

The food is good, but the service is atrocious. We have eaten here on three occasions, hoping the service would improve, unfortunately it hasn't . We won't be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
LimeKiln2014, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi Mowgli206 Thank you for your review on the Lime Kiln. I'm sorry we let ourselves down with our service on your visit, we aim for a much higher standard than that. If you would like to contact me directly, please email 6593@greeneking.co.uk. Kind Regards Elaine Cowan General Manager More 

Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

Me and my partner went for something to eat there because years ago it was a nice family orientated place to eat. After the food came we very very disappointed. The meals looked like they were sitting on the hot plate for ages... Mashed potato was dry and tasteless and the meat was chewy. We never went back since.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LimeKiln2014, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi galina175 I'm sorry your visit wasn't great in November last year. Since then we have a new Kitchen Manager & Chefs who take great pride in not only the quality of food they serve, but also the presentation of their dishes. If you would like to discuss revisiting the Lime Kiln to try our menu now, please contact me... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

Never again. Ages to wait on food and the place was not busy. Soup tasteless garlic mushrooms greasy. ordered a child's meal of cheese burger for a 18month old. Roll brick hard child couldn't eat it cheese a couple of grated bits. Chicken so so , chips hellish. Child plate was so hot we had to keep it well back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LimeKiln2014, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi margaretmoffat I'm sorry you feel you could only rate us one star for your visit. If you would did not speak to a Duty Manager on your visit and would like to speak to me directly, please contact me at 6593@greeneking.co.uk Kind Regards Elaine Cowan General Manager More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

A typical chain restaurant. Fairly clean, the staff are very good. Food is well cooked and well served. Prices are as you would expect. Pretty good atmosphere. the staff try to seat you in the best position especially if there are fractious kids in. Thank you for that.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LimeKiln2014, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi Cardi01 Thank you for your review on the Lime Kiln. We do try where possible to seat families in our section next to our kid's TV room to minimise noise for other guests, I'm glad you enjoyed the quiet! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Elaine Cowan General Manager More 

Wigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

Food was poor value for money. Bill was £47.00 for 3 people. Food was ok but not enough and slow service. The place was not busy at the time we went there but staff too busy talking to each other.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LimeKiln2014, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi Gillians555 I am sorry you didn't feel like our menu was value for money. We do have dishes ranging from £4.49 upwards, I apologise if this wasn't clear enough on our menu. I will also use your feedback regarding the waiting times and my team to improve this for future visits. Kind Regards Elaine Cowan General Manager More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

We came to the mcmillan fun day for kids today and it was brilliant was a great day and the entertainment was great and the staff were fantastic xx

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LimeKiln2014, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi Stacey S Thank you for your comments on our MacMillan fun day, we hope you enjoyed yourself as much as we did! Kind Regards Elaine Cowan General Manager More 

Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Went to the Lime Kiln just last week with myself and two kids. It was indeed an enjoyable experience, I had the Haddock and it was superb. I had the regular (not the large) and believe me that was enough!. No complaints from any of the rest of the family. Laura looked after us well. Thank you. Its pretty good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LimeKiln2014, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi Johnandlinzi Thank you for your review on your visit with us last week. I'm glad you enjoyed your food, and I have passed your comments onto Laura also. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Kind Regards Elaine Cowan General Manager More 

Whitburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

Just been in for a quick meal after work. Usually head in for something cheap and cheerful but the chef has changed since last time we were in and the quality of the food was brilliant - couldn't fault it at all. Excellent customer service from Laura who made sure we were well looked after (I train people in customer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LimeKiln2014, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi Stevis0n Thank you for your review on the Lime Kiln. As you mentioned, we have recently hired new chefs and we are proud of the quality of meals we serve here. Thank you also for your comments on Laura, I will ensure she is recognised for the excellent service she provided you. Kind Regards Elaine Cowan General Manager More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

Stopped off here while working in the outlet center, the staff were so friendly, and the food was great, the home made soup was to die for, it's clean, very spacious , also has outside area for eating and drinking, we asked the manager if we could leave our motor on the carpark over night while working in the outlet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LimeKiln2014, General Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi Shaun S Thank you for your review. I hope you enjoyed your stay in the local area and night shift wasn't too hard! We hope to see you back if you are in the area again. Kind Regards Elaine Cowan General Manager More 

Travelers who viewed The Lime Kiln also viewed

Stirling, Stirlingshire
Livingston, West Lothian
 
Livingston, West Lothian
Musselburgh, East Lothian
 

Been to The Lime Kiln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lime Kiln

Address: Almondvale Parkway, Livingston, Scotland
Phone Number: 01506410661
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  West Lothian  >  Livingston
Cuisine: British, Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Almondvale Parkway, Livingston, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  West Lothian  >  Livingston
  • Phone Number: 01506410661

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Description

The Lime Kiln is a child- friendly licensed restaurant, right across from Livingstons designer shopping outlet. We have a large capacity dining area, a bar area, outside dining area,a childs outdoor playarea, and Tots TV room to keep the kids happy. Our menu has a wide and varied selection of meals to suit all tastes, as well as a number of deals to suit all budgets! These include: 2 main meals for £9.95 all day every day, Fish night on a Wednesday, Grill night on a Thursday, Fajita Friday and our popular Sunday Roast deals.We can cater for large parties- if you have an occasion coming up then please contact us about our special occasion tables or if you would like to organise a set menu or a buffet.We look forward to seeing you soon!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lime Kiln staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?