We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Almondvale Parkway, Livingston, Scotland
01506410661
Website
Add hours for The Lime Kiln and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Lime Kiln is a child- friendly licensed restaurant, right across from...
The Lime Kiln is a child- friendly licensed restaurant, right across from Livingstons designer shopping outlet. We have a large capacity dining area, a bar area, outside dining area,a childs outdoor playarea, and Tots TV room to keep the kids happy. Our menu has a wide and varied selection of meals to suit all tastes, as well as a number of deals to suit all budgets! These include: 2 main meals for £9.95 all day every day, Fish night on a Wednesday, Grill night on a Thursday, Fajita Friday and our popular Sunday Roast deals.We can cater for large parties- if you have an occasion coming up then please contact us about our special occasion tables or if you would like to organise a set menu or a buffet.We look forward to seeing you soon!
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 302 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 63
    Excellent
  • 66
    Very good
  • 57
    Average
  • 58
    Poor
  • 58
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Don't order steak

It was a last minute to eat here with my husband after he received some very bad news. The shared starter was lovely. Then came the mains. My husband couldn't fault his but the same could not be said of mine. I had ordered steak cooked medium it was burnt and not just slightly. Any other day... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed March 26, 2015
ScotsLass123
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

302 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015 NEW

It was a last minute to eat here with my husband after he received some very bad news. The shared starter was lovely. Then came the mains. My husband couldn't fault his but the same could not be said of mine. I had ordered steak cooked medium it was burnt and not just slightly. Any other day I would have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015 NEW

Sadly everything getting a bit mundane and on the slide. Last few times in here service has been poor not through lack of effort of what was 2 staff run ragged with too many tables to tend to. Staffing is a problem simply not enough. As soon as large party in its awful. Fridays and Saturday nights worse. Not a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015 NEW

Used to be well known as microwave city. Not anymore food is fresh and lovely. Clean and nice atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Livingston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015 NEW

Good food spoiled by terrible service, lack of attentive staff. That was when the place was less than half empty as well! Your management need to go on customer service training.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LimeKiln2014, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi Coolgaff Thank you for your review on our restaurant. I am disappointed to hear our service was poor, and would like to investigate this further to ensure I rectify any issues for future visits. If convenient, can you please email me at 6593@greeneking.co.uk with further details of your visit. Kind Regards Elaine Cowan General Manager More 

armadale
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015 via mobile

Visited the lime kiln yesterday for a mothers day lunch. Family were working on the actual day. It said wait to be seated, unfortunately nobody was at hand to show us to a table. We enquired at the bar, explained one of the party was on crutches, she told us to sit in the corner behind us. Was actualy suitable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LimeKiln2014, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi Valerie S Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to the Lime Kiln. I'm glad you enjoyed your meal, but I would like to apologise for the length of time your experience lasted. I will follow up your comments regarding the waiting times and also the Front of House service issues with my Team to ensure these... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Returned here for a second time after visiting previously. I left feeling quite deflated. Breakfast took a long time until it arrived. At which everything was very dry and overcooked. On a plus side the waiter was very pleasant. Really can't see that I would return here again

Was this review helpful? Yes
LimeKiln2014, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi Kellym1981 Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to us, and the comments about the waiter. I can only apologise for the poor quality you received and your constructive feedback on this is appreciated. If possible, could you contact me at 6593@greeneking.co.uk with further details to allow me to investigate. Arthur Leamy Deputy General Manager More 

Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

It took us ages to get served, and when the food arrived the chicken was dry and over cooked the salad was not much more than a tablespoon, ver disappointed would not go back

Was this review helpful? Yes
LimeKiln2014, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi Dorothy Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to us. I can only apologise for the poor service you received and your constructive feedback on this is appreciated. If possible, could you contact me at 6593@greeneking.co.uk with further details to allow me to investigate. Arthur Leamy Deputy General Manager More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015 via mobile

We visited the lime kiln (my husband and I and our son) in late afternoon. We had a very enjoyable meal. The homemade Mac and cheese was lovely. Service was good. Staff were polite and interacted with my son which I value from a restaurant. I would defiantly come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LimeKiln2014, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi Littleclairsey Thank you for your recent review on the Lime Kiln. We are proud of our Homemade dishes such as our Macaroni Cheese, so we appreciate positive feedback on these dishes. I'm glad your son enjoyed himself and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Elaine Cowan General Manager More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

If you want food, thats very over cooked, you will love this place, and as long as you want it bathing in grease. You cant buy a mixed grill, but can buy a mini grill ? The staff are nice, a bit on the scruffy side, Shirts are designed to be tucked in all the way round, not just the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LimeKiln2014, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi Brian S I am sorry we didn't meet your expectations on your recent visit to the Lime Kiln. I will use your comments at our next house meeting to ensure we improve, both in the quality of our food and our ordering levels. Kind Regards Elaine Cowan General Manager More 

West Calder, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

This was our first time visiting the lime kiln, we had heard mixed reviews about it, we visited on the 5th on March, we where served by a young girl called Lauren she was extremely helpful throughout our visit and is an assist to the company. Are food was lovely we both had starters and fajitas which was really nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
LimeKiln2014, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review

Hi Kirsty B Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to the Lime Kiln. I am especially grateful that you have taken the time to recognise Lauren as doing a good job, and I will ensure that Lauren is rewarded for your kind comments. Kind Regards Elaine Cowan General Manager More 

Travelers who viewed The Lime Kiln also viewed

 
Livingston, West Lothian
Stirling, Stirlingshire
 

Been to The Lime Kiln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Almondvale Parkway, Livingston, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  West Lothian  >  Livingston
  • Phone Number: 01506410661

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British

Description

The Lime Kiln is a child- friendly licensed restaurant, right across from Livingstons designer shopping outlet. We have a large capacity dining area, a bar area, outside dining area,a childs outdoor playarea, and Tots TV room to keep the kids happy. Our menu has a wide and varied selection of meals to suit all tastes, as well as a number of deals to suit all budgets! These include: 2 main meals for £9.95 all day every day, Fish night on a Wednesday, Grill night on a Thursday, Fajita Friday and our popular Sunday Roast deals.We can cater for large parties- if you have an occasion coming up then please contact us about our special occasion tables or if you would like to organise a set menu or a buffet.We look forward to seeing you soon!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lime Kiln staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?