We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Bridge of Allan Restaurants

Vecchia Bologna

Mine Road, Bridge of Allan, Stirling FK9 4DT, Scotland
01786 833617
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $48
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Beautiful quite setting, private gardens and large car park. open 7 days lunch and dinner
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    55
    8
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014 NEW

Enjoyed a fantastic meal..lovely wine... what a gem of a restaurant.... Have eaten here on several occasions and always came away with a big smile... Took my VERY young grandchild here for her first experience of fine dining (she was under 2).. The staff were very attentive (so Italian!) .. Must take up the loyalty card option..it seems a great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ayrshire, Scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

This restaurant has a good range of Italian and other food, perfectly cooked. This restaurant provides quality with moderate portion sizes. Located in a village with many restaurants and great competition between them, Bologna manages to retain many local regulars who appreciate the quality, value, and friendly atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Glasgow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

A visit to Bridge of Allan in my family is synonymous with a visit to Vecchia Bologna. I have been a handful of times (it is only a stones throw from the B&B we typically stay in). My husband typically opts for the pizza or pasta, however I must admit I have the same thing (1 of 2) everytime, either... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

I'll just keep this plain and simple. Had booked a table on Saturday for 2.30pm for 5 people for the Sunday carvery. Other friends of ours where booked in for 1pm. They were informed on arrival that they only had Ham left for their carvery as they had been so busy. My friend rang me to tell me not to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
owner2055, Owner at Vecchia Bologna, responded to this review

Dear Mr and Mrs Smith i am disappointed as you are that we were not able to provide you with a good sunday lunch. Unfortunatley at the Bologna everything is cooked from fresh ( the roasts being prepared early on a sunday morning and taking up to 3 hours.). We do our best to guess the number of covers we... More

Fife
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014 via mobile

We were staying at Dunblane Hydro and looking for a nice restaurant. Found this one via Trip Advisor and reviews seemed good. Booked a taxi and made our way. We were given a nice welcome and shown to a table. Menu offers a fair selection. Short of Italian wines though!! Service was lovely and friendly. Food when it came was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014 via mobile

Love this restaurant and so does my family. Regularly dine here and can't say I've ever had a bad experience. My Favourite main on the menu would have to be the Tagliatelle Gamberoni & their bruschetta & Caprese(starters) are the best I've had. Staff are very friendly and hard working. I also work in bridge of allan and will continue... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
STIRLING
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Our first visit in a while, but unfortunately it didn't quite hit the mark. The menu doesn't ever seem to change and perhaps we didn't chose well but it was mediocre. Does however continue to be busy with regular customers, so clearly suits some folks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
owner2055, Proprietario at Vecchia Bologna, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Fishface i am sorry to read you have had a " mediocre " opinion of the never changing food at the Bologna restaurant. I cant comment on that as " degustibus non disputandum est " and you were not specific enough on what food disappointed you. Two things i have to point to your attantion though : Fisrttly... More

Scone
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

The restaurant looks the same but the staff look a lot better smartly dressed in black and white. Over a couple of days we had two measl here one was at lunch time the menu has change and your not getting such a good a deal as when I was here before but the food was still good. The second... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
owner2055, Owner at Vecchia Bologna, responded to this review

Dear Sir i rarely reply to positive comments but in your case after the third positive review i am happy to do so. I am also happy you share my view on the waitress witch has indeed been with us for almost 15 years now. Let me take this opportunity to bring to the attention of Mr. Tripadvisor that my... More

2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

My wife and I had Lunch 2 Fridays ago using a Groupon deal. I was embarrassed to pay so little for an utterly fabulous meal with great service. Felt we should have skulked out with a striped t-shirt and a mask. The pate was the best I've ever tasted, the veal to die for and the tagliatelle was a true... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
owner2055, Owner at Vecchia Bologna, responded to this review

Mr. T you give me palpitations when i read your headline !!!!! Thank you for your comment :-) Let me take this opportuniti to ask again Mr. Tripadvisor to place my restaurant in the correct order in the Bridge of Allan list. !!! Thank you again Claudio on behalf of the Menichetti family More

London
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

A large group of us ate here and on another day a smaller group. The service was good but the food was a little mixed. Excellent mussels and pasta but the steaks were not as good. It was not their fault that the wine was corked but they only had one bottle of two of our choices which was surprising.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
owner2055, Owner at Vecchia Bologna, responded to this review

Thank you for eating in our restaurant during your stay. For the ryder cup week we had the busiest time for quite a while. We remember running out of the wine of your choice and i must admit it is a very rare occurance for us. A lot of your collegues up here to cover the Cup event were also... More

Travelers who viewed Vecchia Bologna also viewed

Bridge of Allan, Stirling
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 

Been to Vecchia Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vecchia Bologna

Address: Mine Road, Bridge of Allan, Stirling FK9 4DT, Scotland
Phone Number: 01786 833617
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Stirlingshire  >  Stirling  >  Bridge of Allan
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Monday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Tuesday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Thursday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Average Prices: USD 1 - 48
Cuisine: Italian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing