We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Torridon Hotel Restaurant

By Achnasheen | The Torridon Inn, Torridon IV22 2EY, Scotland (Formerly The Torridon Restaurant)
01445791242
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 restaurants in Torridon
Price range: $45 - $64
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Torridon Restaurant is a 3 AA rossette fine dining establishment. We offer a 5 course table d'hôte menu prepared by our award winning chef Bruno Birckbeck.Our front of house team will always be on hand to recommend the best matching wine for your selections from the menu from our well appointed wine list.Following your meal enjoy petites fours and a degestif in our award winning whisky bar with 350 whiskies
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Torridon Restaurant is a 3 AA rossette fine dining establishment. We offer a 5 course table d'hôte menu prepared by our award winning chef Bruno Birckbeck.Our front of house team will always be on hand to recommend the best matching wine for your selections from the menu from our well appointed wine list.Following your meal enjoy petites fours and a degestif in our award winning whisky bar with 350 whiskies
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    23
    9
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We went to Torridon in May this year and stayed in a holiday cottage in the small village of Alligen on the north shore of the Loch. We visited the Hotel for our evening meal and heard that it was a very good restraint with three rosettes from the AA. On arrival we were greeted by the assistant manager Ross,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights at the start of our honeymoon. Stunning location, great room, nice to have the option of restaurant or sister pub for food. It was a little tight to be charged the full £55 for eating one course of the 5 course set restaurant menu but there you go, still a great experience. Staff fabulous

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Definitely worth a visit. Superb food and service, lovely location and beautiful views, we look forward to our return visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

It was our third time in this special hotel. This time as it was fully booked we had a standard room on the ground floor that was nice but of course not comparable to the other rooms. The atmosphere is unique, the peace, the ambience.... The restaurant always top quality, we had 2 dinners there and they were both excellent.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Dan & Rohaise More

Brecon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

While staying a few nights at The Torridon Inn, we chose to have dinner one night at the Hotel and were not disappointed. Pricey, yes, but reflected all the work and ingredients which undoubtedly went into the creation of each of the 5 courses. This was to mark a 60th birthday. It was a very well balanced menu, beautifully presented... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Despite the restaurant being in the hotel we do welcome our guests from the Inn to dine, as well as those staying locally in the area. We are so pleased you enjoyed your birthday celebration. Regards, Dan & Rohaise More

Fife
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Setting and ambience was great, service was very attentive and the food was excellent, a semi-set menu, and I particularly enjoyed the tamworth pork . Comprehensive wine list to match a great menu - well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Regards, Dan & Rohaise More

Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

It was a set 5 course menu. The service was very old British like. Food quality was good but gourmet style dishes, so eat lots of bread to fill up!! Wine selection was better and the whiskey bar was outrageous. At 55 pounds per person, too pricey.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed staying at the Inn but that the meal at the the hotel did not meet your expectations. On the whole guests who stay at the hotel enjoy the gourmet experience as that is often one of the reasons they book to stay. When non-residents dine with us and write reviews it... More

Griesheim, Hessen, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at The Torridon hotel and had dinner one night at the Torridon itself. The five course dinner was vey good, yet no fancy London style and not exceptional. We enjoyed the meal. The service was good, and we enjoyed also the younger staff members. It was a treat being served by the crew.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and positive comments on the dinner and service of the team and we glad you found it all a treat. Regards, Dan More

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Limited choices, only 2 choices for the main course. 1st night: braised highland beef or sea bream. 2nd night: guinea fowl or hake. Even though it was 5 courses it was uninspiring and we rate it "at best" 4 out of 5. Disappointed with lack of local seafood.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DanRB, Manager at The Torridon Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your meal with us. We have offered a daily changing menu for a number of years, which offers a choice of main course each day. Most guests, but not all, enjoy the style of menu. The beef is from our own highland beef herd from the field in front, Sea Bream and... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

The food was nothing special, not the taste sensation promised. Service was hit and miss. Some staff were very courteous and knowledgeable, whilst others were just plain rude. Won't be eating there again and wouldn't recommend it, given the price. Eaten far better elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your meal. I am at a loss to explain why you felt some of the staff were rude to you yet others were good. I had not received any comments that this was the case. If you were able to write to me personally and elaborate then I would be able... More

Travelers who viewed The Torridon Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Torridon, Ross and Cromarty
Shieldaig, Ross and Cromarty
 
Torridon, Ross and Cromarty
Applecross, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to The Torridon Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Torridon Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing