We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Meikle Restaurant

Ferntower Road, Crieff PH7 3LQ, Scotland
+44 (0)1764 655555
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 33 restaurants in Crieff
Price range: $1 - $74
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    98
    59
    29
    23
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 NEW

Breakfasts were superb, amazing variety and quality was excellent. Evening meals were good but occasionally either undercooked or sometimes overcooked, ie main course only. Starters and desserts were very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 NEW

Really great food. Only issue we had was that kids menu was invariant and so became boring for our 10 year old. Resturant could and should try harder on this to make it a totally inclusive dining experience for all the family and not just those who can eat from adult menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

had Sunday carvery lunch, thoroughly enjoyed this - 4 courses in all and great choice. Only negative point, could've been hotter. Staff/service excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Meikle Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you mrandmrsr84 for such a great review. This along with your other comments keeps our spirits high and hopefully your planned return visit will be soon. More

south lanarkshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

enjoyed a lovely 3 course meal at the Meikle last night. We were offered a table looking into the kitchen but on hearing it was our last night were kindly moved to a window table which was lovely. We enjoyed our meal very much and the waitresses were especially friendly and chatty. We preferred it to the Brasserie..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crieff_Hydr0, Public Relations Manager at Meikle Restaurant, responded to this review

We're so grateful to you for taking the time to post a review about each of the restaurants you tried and can't wait to see you again soon. More

Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Service excellent, food brilliant! Lovely atmosphere and well worth the money. Nothing I disliked with this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Meikle Restaurant, responded to this review

It's great to hear you enjoyed your visit to Meikle so much kosmik123. We appreciate your comments here and also those made on our main hotel page. More

Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Went with my wife and 12 year old daughter. Really nice menu, we all had steaks which were very enjoyable. Good atmosphere - if you are looking for a quiet meal, its not the place - we really liked it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Meikle Restaurant, responded to this review

Great review Jaye-dubya and thanks too for your comments on our main hotel page. We're thrilled Meikle Restaurant hit the spot and hope to see you again soon. More

Orkney Islands, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Uninspiring menu, vegetarian leek crumble main meal could fit into a tea cup! Small portions, vegetables cost extra. Meals luke warm only, had to be eaten quickly before completely cold. Waiting staff superb.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Meikle Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks again Meiosis38. As we mentioned in our reply to your review on our hotel page, we are reviewing the Meikle Restaurant and part of this will include our menu content. We're sure you'll see improvements next time. More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Great food and service nada reasonable selection for dinner. The breakfast had everything you could wish for

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Meikle Restaurant, responded to this review

We were so happy with your review on our hotel page, we didn't expect to find another here so thank you again and come back soon! More

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Food was ok though pretty average. Hard fondant potatoes and green beans only veg! Disappointing! Service was really poor as had to wait ages for drinks which had been ordered and there were long delays between courses. Staff seemed to be confused as to which tables to deliver food to and had the knack of avoiding eye contact so didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Meikle Restaurant, responded to this review

Sorry Sheila M, we're so sorry that we didn't get everything right for you this time around. We've listened to you and promise that we'll work hard on those areas you felt needed more attention. Hopefully you will try us again sometime. More

Bonnyrigg Scotland
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

On our five night stay in the Hydro we only had dinner in the Meikle twice. The menu choice is ok and we found the service to be good and attentive. The food is well cooked, but perhaps a bit more institutional than the Brasserie. Breakfast could be a bit of a scrum if you don't time it right, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crieff_Hydr0, Public Relations Manager at Meikle Restaurant, responded to this review

Another great review from you "tonythemonk", thank you. Your advice is really useful for other visitors coming to Crieff Hydro and we hope to see you again soon. More

Travelers who viewed Meikle Restaurant also viewed

Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Meikle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meikle Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing