We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Meikle Restaurant

Ferntower Road, Crieff PH7 3LQ, Scotland
+44 (0)1764 655555
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 33 restaurants in Crieff
Price range: $1 - $74
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
10 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    97
    56
    29
    23
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Service excellent, food brilliant! Lovely atmosphere and well worth the money. Nothing I disliked with this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Went with my wife and 12 year old daughter. Really nice menu, we all had steaks which were very enjoyable. Good atmosphere - if you are looking for a quiet meal, its not the place - we really liked it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orkney Islands, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Uninspiring menu, vegetarian leek crumble main meal could fit into a tea cup! Small portions, vegetables cost extra. Meals luke warm only, had to be eaten quickly before completely cold. Waiting staff superb.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Meikle Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks again Meiosis38. As we mentioned in our reply to your review on our hotel page, we are reviewing the Meikle Restaurant and part of this will include our menu content. We're sure you'll see improvements next time. More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Great food and service nada reasonable selection for dinner. The breakfast had everything you could wish for

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Meikle Restaurant, responded to this review

We were so happy with your review on our hotel page, we didn't expect to find another here so thank you again and come back soon! More

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Food was ok though pretty average. Hard fondant potatoes and green beans only veg! Disappointing! Service was really poor as had to wait ages for drinks which had been ordered and there were long delays between courses. Staff seemed to be confused as to which tables to deliver food to and had the knack of avoiding eye contact so didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Meikle Restaurant, responded to this review

Sorry Sheila M, we're so sorry that we didn't get everything right for you this time around. We've listened to you and promise that we'll work hard on those areas you felt needed more attention. Hopefully you will try us again sometime. More

Bonnyrigg Scotland
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

On our five night stay in the Hydro we only had dinner in the Meikle twice. The menu choice is ok and we found the service to be good and attentive. The food is well cooked, but perhaps a bit more institutional than the Brasserie. Breakfast could be a bit of a scrum if you don't time it right, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crieff_Hydr0, Public Relations Manager at Meikle Restaurant, responded to this review

Another great review from you "tonythemonk", thank you. Your advice is really useful for other visitors coming to Crieff Hydro and we hope to see you again soon. More

Dollar
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

12 of us went for dinner last night a combined 70th and 21st birthday so should have been a special night. Our main waiter was good, however all all staff were very poor, delivery of drinks was very slow, guests expected to reach for drinks from staff rather than putting on table. Food itself was mediocre at best, greasy and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a very enjoyable couple of days at Crieff Hydro. We were incredibly lucky with the weather which certainly helped. I would say if you have kids, you should definitely give this hotel a try. Very few hotels cater for families, to this extent and my three year old had a fabulous time. The day started... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Meikle Restaurant, responded to this review

Bit of a mixed bag, Lynniethemanc. We're really sorry we didn't wow you with our restaurant choices this time but more than happy that your family enjoyed the activities they tried. We've noted your comments and hopefully when you visit us again, you'll see improvements. More

Cortez, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

A group of us ate in the Brasserie at Crieff Hydro on a Friday night. Initially the place was busy and appears to be family friendly. The service was reasonable but not brilliant. We waited a long time for our food and when it arrived it was rather average in quality. I thought it was overpriced and overrated and wouldn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Meikle Restaurant, responded to this review

Oh dear, we didn't impress this time and we're really sorry about that. We're sure it was only a blip but do appreciate your candour and have relayed your feedback to our Executive Chef. Hope you'll give us another chance someday. More

Scotland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Shetland Salmon was the best although the portions varied on what time you were there it seemed. A little more choice in the salad bar would be lovely, only lettuce and tomatoes and usual coleslaw/potato salad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Meikle Restaurant, responded to this review

Short but sweet Shetlandwomble. We're really glad you enjoyed the salmon and your comments are appreciated. They will be passed on so that next time we are spot on. More

Travelers who viewed Meikle Restaurant also viewed

Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 
Crieff, Perth and Kinross

Been to Meikle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meikle Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing