We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant

Bank Street, Aberfeldy PH15 2BB, Scotland
+44 1887 820699
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 26 restaurants in Aberfeldy
Cuisines: British
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    86
    52
    16
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 NEW

Kind staff, but the food was terrible. Dried out risotto with overcooked salmon. Medium rare duck tough like a shoe sole.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crail, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 NEW

food was very good, waiters were very good and service was quick we were also offered if we would like to sit outside or inside

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 NEW

Worst bar meal ever. Never again. Almost an hours wait for food. When it eventually came was not edible. Disgusting!! Food was cold, steak pie was chewy fatty meat. My daughter's pizza didnt look like it had been cooked. Awful!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 NEW

If I could give this so called restaurant a minus it would be ten. Waited an hour for four meals all of which were absolutely diabolical. Steak pie full of grisle, unedible, vegetarian lasagne again awful, and a childs meal of a supposed pizza, what a laugh, would not feed this to a dog. The chef at this establishment should... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We ordered lunch to be told there were no chips however there were potato wedges available which were not offered as an alternative?? We asked for them and were told they would take a few minutes the manager then came to us 20 mins later asked if we wanted the bill still no wedges we told her we still hadnt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Food ok but almost an hour wait for four very basic dishes when not that busy? You would think in circumstances like this they would at least not charge you for drinks. Maybe am hour wait for food is the norm up here. Would not recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Gavin P, Owner at The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you had to wait for your meal, we do have only one kitchen which serves the bar, restaurant and beer garden and do advise all of our customers that their may be a delay especially at this time of year. More

Leven, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Arriving in Aberfeldy for a girlie "spa" weekend, we popped into the Black Watch and ended up spending most of our time there! The weather was fantastic so their beer garden which caught the sun all day was fab. The staff and the regulars made us feel really welcome and were very friendly. We had lunch outside on our second... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gavin P, Owner at The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you had a good weekend away and that the sun was out for you to enjoy our beer garden. It also pleases us to hear you were made to feel welcome while here and that you also enjoyed your lunch with us. We hope to see you again in the future. More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We were looking for a salad meal, but the only salad was the crayfish salad starter, so we asked the young waitress if we could have 2 of these but in main course versions. However, 2 starter portions were brought by the restaurant manager, who said she didn't know we'd asked for larger ones. She took them away and brought... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gavin P, Owner at The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I would like to start by saying it is never our intention to 'fleece the tourist' , we aim to provide good quality food at reasonable prices for locals and tourists alike. I have looked into this matter and it appears you requested two starters for your main meal,... More

Helsinki
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great to mingle with the locals who are all very friendly. You must book at the restaurant otherwise you miss out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gavin P, Owner at The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we are glad you had a good time mixing with our friendly locals and hope to see you again in the future. It is not always necessary to book but always advise to do so during the summer season. More

Bembridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We went into the public bar and were more then a little disappointed by the general decour and ambience. The bar lady was not very friendly and did not want to be engaged in conversation. However we then went into the The Croft restaurant and what a difference. The decour was very welcoming as were the friendly and attentive staff.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gavin P, Owner at The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, we were sorry to hear you didn't feel very welcome in our public bar, all of our staff are usually very friendly and attentive as you found out in the restaurant, we will look into the reason for this and can only assume the bar lady was busy. It pleases us to hear you enjoyed... More

Travelers who viewed The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant also viewed

Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing