We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Bank Street, Aberfeldy PH15 2BB, Scotland
+44 1887 820699
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 270 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 127
    Excellent
  • 80
    Very good
  • 29
    Average
  • 22
    Poor
  • 12
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Consistent

My wife and I have eaten here three or four times over the last four years or so, and have not been disappointed. The staff are very helpful with the gluten free options for the wife, and they are also pleasant and efficient. The meals were very good, and the cask ale was well kept. The decor is... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 27, 2015
Nigel J
,
Crewe, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

270 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015 NEW

My wife and I have eaten here three or four times over the last four years or so, and have not been disappointed. The staff are very helpful with the gluten free options for the wife, and they are also pleasant and efficient. The meals were very good, and the cask ale was well kept. The decor is very dark,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
uk
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015 NEW

We went on a Friday steak night - and both enjoyed some very tasty steak, well cooked and presented and excellent value. We went about 6pm, and were asked if we had a table reservation, so although it wasn't over busy at that time it may be that you need to book if you are going later. Would recommend to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gavin P, Owner at The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review. Our Friday steak night is always busy , even during the winter , so we do always advise booking in advance. However, we are glad you managed to get a table without a reservation and enjoyed your meal with us. We hope to welcome you back again... More 

Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015 NEW

This is an old favourite of my family and it certainly gives you a great value for your money. If you like steak, Friday is the night for you, however, most are available on other nights. Better priced option than some of the newer trendy eateries in the town just now. My parents prefer the menu options here to some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gavin P, Owner at The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for leaving us this lovely review. We are happy to hear you have been several times and that you and your parents enjoyed your meals. We like to offer a wide range of items to choose from so there is something for even the fussiest of customers , young and old alike. We look forward to your return... More 

Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015 NEW

We went to this spot for lunch one day. Oddly they had quite a selection of American favorites on the menu. we had some chicken wings that had a wonderful crunchy spicy coating. Very good and above the standards of most stateside restaurants. We also had a very good salmon and cucumber sandwich. Of course they had an excellent selection... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gavin P, Owner at The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant, responded to this review

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your lunch. There are many different items to choose from depending on your personal tastes so we are glad you found something 'American' . We hope to see you again soon. More 

Loanhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

Very pleasant staff. Friday steak night very busy, You better book a table at the weekend. Fish very Fresh

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gavin P, Owner at The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our fish and chips is one of our most popular dishes and you can choose whether you would like it battered, breaded or grilled depending on your preference. We look forward to your return visit. More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015

Nice very modern and clean feeling to this place .We only had a drink in the Beer Garden but having visited on a previous trip standards are kept high

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gavin P, Owner at The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant, responded to this review

Our beer garden has been very busy this year, even with the 'not so good' weather. We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review and hope you find time to dine with us on your next visit. More 

Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

Settled on eating here after looking at other venues in Aberfeldy. Excellent friendly service. Couldn't fault the food. Would highly recommend paying a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gavin P, Owner at The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for your recommendation. it pleases us to hear you were left satisfied with your meal and hope to welcome you back in the near future. More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

Great atmosphere, great food, great service! Although- we did have to wait a while for food... HOWEVER! It was cooked to order and it was fresh, so it was worth waiting for. It was also completely booked so that will be another reason...BUT OVERALL- Definitely coming back here! Thourghouly recommend it :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gavin P, Owner at The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you had a wait for your food but this is sometimes unavoidable during the summer months as we do prepare and cook everything fresh. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your meal and that you intend to return. We look forward to welcoming you back on your... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2015

Only came in for a couple of drinks and to play on the pool table - no where else has one! Service from the young bar man was great and good prices for drinks too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gavin P, Owner at The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant, responded to this review

We are glad to hear you had a good evening and received good service from our bar man. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2015

Our second visit to this outstanding restaurant. Not only was the food of the highest quality but, the service from the staff equalled it and more. This was a night to celebrate my retirement and we were not disappointed. There was nine in the company with ages ranging from 2 years through to myself. From everyone's starter, main course and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gavin P, Owner at The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. We are happy to hear you all enjoyed your evening with us and hope to welcome you all back again next year. I will pass on your kind comments to Vicki and Toni. More 

Travelers who viewed The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant also viewed

Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Bank Street, Aberfeldy PH15 2BB, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Perth and Kinross  >  Aberfeldy
  • Phone Number: +44 1887 820699

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?