We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Bank Street, Aberfeldy PH15 2BB, Scotland
+44 1887 820699
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 307 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 142
    Excellent
  • 94
    Very good
  • 34
    Average
  • 24
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Friendly bar

Ordinary pub but friendly staff(and locals) made it a pleasurable place for a drink Surprisingly charged nothing at all for 1/2 pint soda and lime as they said its only soda from a gun and costs practically nothing

4 of 5 starsReviewed 4 days ago
janet c
,
Glasgow
Add Photo Write a Review

307 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Glasgow
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Ordinary pub but friendly staff(and locals) made it a pleasurable place for a drink Surprisingly charged nothing at all for 1/2 pint soda and lime as they said its only soda from a gun and costs practically nothing

Helpful?
Thank janet c
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good quality adults meals, totally let down by poor quality kids food - we've moved on from rubbish frozen burgers etc. such a shame, I'd much rather pay a bit more for decent quality. pub is grand for a game of pool, watching the footsie and a blether. Sunny outside space - nowt you can do about the road though

Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
Gavin P, Owner at The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. All feed back is appreciated. We have changed our children's menu a few times and it was the little burgers and pizzas that were always the best sellers. We can ,however , offer some of the adult meals as smaller portions like the pasta or roast beef etc. We... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to stay in bar area as restaurant was empty probably due to it being a Wednesday night and snow was falling. Food was fine and it let my partner watch the football 😲. Good chat from locals..All in all nice enough local pub.

Helpful?
Thank Glasgowlady1
Gavin P, Owner at The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. A lot of our customers choose to dine in the bar area due to the fact that they can watch the football at the same time. We serve the same menu in the bar , restaurant or beer garden ( when it is warm enough! ). We hope to... More 

Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Hubby and I had an amazing meal did not book a table but that was no problem. The soup of the day was delightful piping hot with crusty brown roll and the sirloin steak was amazing cooked to perfection. Lovely friendly staff great surroundings hubby and I would go back for dinner good price for big portions

Helpful?
Thank 395agnes_gray
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016

We booked a table for dinner on Boxing Day at the last minute.I had a lovely fillet steak and my husband had fish & chips. the meal was lovely served by a friendly and efficient waiter.

Helpful?
Thank M8055JDmichaelk
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

Delicious food, tasty and well presented. Very reasonably priced. Quick service. Will be back and would Defo recommend. Thanks

Helpful?
Thank kasspeace
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed in the town centre and due to the rain we tried the restaurants in the neighbourhood. Croft's was a great choice! Friday night was steak night so we tried the sirloin steak. The food as well aa the servicee was so good that we came back the next day to have venison followed by a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Per25
Etters, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
215 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015

Stopped here while going through town on our way to Kenmore. Delicious food, friendly service, very reasonable prices and great music.

Helpful?
2 Thank Diane w
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

This was my 2nd visit to the Croft - pleased to report that was no disappointed with our meal. Food delicious and piping hot and served by a lovely friendly waitress who although friendly did not intrude.

Helpful?
1 Thank christinepZ8039CZ
Gavin P, Owner at The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant, responded to this review

It is always nice to receive such positive feedback so many thanks for your review. I shall pass on your kind comments to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. More 

Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2015 via mobile

This was the first place we walked into after arriving in Aberfeldy. We had to wait for a table as the restaurant was busy. We went intimate the bat for a drink, ordered in there and were welcomed into the throng of a 'turkey' themed stag night!!? When told our table was ready, we had hardly say down when the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sam N
Gavin P, Owner at The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It is lovely to hear you had an enjoyable dining experience with us. We are quite often busy with large parties as there are not many other establishments in the area who can accommodate them so , although it is not always necessary , we do always advise to... More 

Travelers who viewed The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant also viewed

Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Bank Street, Aberfeldy PH15 2BB, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Perth and Kinross  >  Aberfeldy
  • Phone Number: +44 1887 820699

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Black Watch Bar and Croft Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?