We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fountain

$$
Pub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
The Square, Aberfeldy PH15 2DD, Scotland
01887 820418
Add hours for The Fountain and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 152 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 71
    Excellent
  • 53
    Very good
  • 18
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Dog Friendly

Just across the Square from the Breadalbane Arms. We used this bar as it had a sign saying "freindly dogs welcome " - their spelling not mine. Nice enough bar & food was very nice. Would have liked to have sat by a roaring log fire , but I suppose not much call for it in July.

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 14, 2015
Bluebelter
,
Tranent, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015 NEW

Furniture very tired, but clean. Food is good and plentiful and not expensive. Didn't like the fact that dogs are allowed in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015 NEW

We visited her recently when we were holidaying at the nearby Drumcroy Lodges. The bar was very nice and exceptionally busy on both times we visited which is always a good sign I feel. We were a big party (9 in total) and the girl who served us on each occasion went out of her way to move things around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tranent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

Just across the Square from the Breadalbane Arms. We used this bar as it had a sign saying "freindly dogs welcome " - their spelling not mine. Nice enough bar & food was very nice. Would have liked to have sat by a roaring log fire , but I suppose not much call for it in July.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gavin P, Owner at The Fountain, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review . We are glad you enjoyed your meal. Hopefully you can return during the winter months to sit by the log fire. We will check our spelling before your next visit! More 

Dundee, Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

Had the Steak. Perfectly cooked to my liking. Was able to sit & watch Wimbledon with my tea & a few pints to wash it down. Friendly staff & friendly up ters

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gavin P, Owner at The Fountain, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. Our steaks are very popular and often receive good feedback so I will pass on your comments to the kitchen staff. Tennis and a steak sounds like the perfect combination, who needs strawberries! We hope to welcome you back soon. More 

Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

The food was typical pub fare which is what we were wanting. Nothing very fancy but it was prepared well. The service was good and the staff was friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gavin P, Owner at The Fountain, responded to this review

We aim to pride good quality, home cooked food in a welcoming environment so are happy to hear you enjoyed your meal. many thanks. More 

Karratha, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015

The food was excellent but the venue is well over due a make over. Only went as had good recommendation for the food. Had I walked in without this knowledge I wouldn't have stayed. The clientele in the bar would make this an unsuitable place to take young children. Good value and quick service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gavin P, Owner at The Fountain, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you didn't find our establishment as welcoming as we would have liked, We have recently had a new paint job and replaced all the tables and chairs so don't think it is looking as run down as you have suggested. We occasionally have had customers at the bar who can be a bit noisy but... More 

The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015

The Fountain is a nice and spacious pub, with a great food menu. The staff is very friendly. There can be live music or themed party's on a saturdaynite

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gavin P, Owner at The Fountain, responded to this review

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your meal with us. Our staff are all very friendly and welcoming and we appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with the trip advisor community. We look forward to your next visit . More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

Good staff, quick service and fair prices. Ideal for family, nothing was too much for the staff. \\\\\\\\\\try it out for yourself, I am very picky when it comes to food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gavin P, Owner at The Fountain, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We aim to provide something for everyone so we are happy to here you found something which you liked. Our one pound kids meal deal is always very popular with families. We hope to welcome you back again soon. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

friendly and warm welcome, food was good value and tasty staff was excellent as well would visit again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gavin P, Owner at The Fountain, responded to this review

It is always nice to get feedback from our customers, thank you. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your meal and received excellent service, we hope to welcome you back soon. More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

On our recent visit to Aberfeldy my girlfriend and I decided to visit the Fountain following reviews on trip advisor. We were not disappointed as the home cooked food was of very good standard. Good portion sizes and very friendly staff. The pub it's self is in need of updating (especially the toilets) but it's very good value for money... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gavin P, Owner at The Fountain, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your meal with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. We take all comments on board and will look into scheduling an upgrade in the near future, More 

Travelers who viewed The Fountain also viewed

Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountain

Address: The Square, Aberfeldy PH15 2DD, Scotland
Phone Number: 01887 820418
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Perth and Kinross  >  Aberfeldy
Average Prices: USD 8 - 15
Cuisine: Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: The Square, Aberfeldy PH15 2DD, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Perth and Kinross  >  Aberfeldy
  • Phone Number: 01887 820418

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 8 - 15
  • Cuisine: Pub

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Fountain and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Fife, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Fountain staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?