We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lewis at The Old Inn

15 Main Street | The Old Inn, Crawfordsburn BT19 1JH, Northern Ireland
+44 (0)28 91853255
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $56
Cuisines: European, French, Wine Bar
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    70
    48
    23
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 NEW via mobile

We arranged a lunch for 11 here on Saturday. Ages ranged from 4 months to 70 plus! We had booked a high chair and we also had a pram. We were seated at a table near the window with plenty of space around us. The food was lovely although luckily we were not in a rush as the pace was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear Bernie S, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your lunch with us on Saturday. We are sorry if you found the service to be sluggish. We will certainly look into this for you. We hope that your experience does not deter you from visiting us... More

London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Good value at £24.50 for 3 courses and coffee. Excellent rare roast beef let down by cold and chewy Yorkshire pudding! Lamb and turkey both good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sharon1506, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent visit with us and that you enjoyed the rare roast beef. We were diappointed to note your comments on our Yorkshire puddings. We are sorry that these were not up to scratch and we will gratefully... More

northern ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Having completed our shopping we decided to call in for early evening tea. Service was excellent and the choice of meals good. Particularly good was the vegetarian options...full of flavour We relaxed in the lovely atmosphere of the old inn....what a lovely way to spend a sunny summer evening

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear Patrick, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. Thank you for your kind words on our waiting team and on the food, especially the vegetarians who so often get overlooked. Thank you also for bringing the weather with you! We look... More

2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Visited for lunch recently,with my husband & 2 friends We were quickly invited to pick which ever table we would like,as it was an early light lunch,we opted for a window table Staff were very attentive & were able to advise on menu Three decided on prawn open sandwich,this wasn't a particularly large helping,but quite sufficient Served with warm wheaten,unfortunately... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth H, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We welcome feedback, both positive and negative, to help us maintain and improve our standards. The portion sizes of each dish is under constant review and along with customer comment cards and our own observations, portion sizes can fluctuate slightly. Since many of our customers... More

Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Visited restaurant on 11th June to see changes made to this charming "country Inn" over the past 6 months. It is now more beautiful than ever - ideal spectacle for the passing tourists! Restaurant appearance is as good as ever, but service from staff is most inadequate. We waited for over 15 minutes to place order from the menu, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ken77708, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were very disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your recent visit with us. We are very sorry and disappointed to see that you found our service to be at least lack lustre. This is certainly not our normal. We hope that your experience... More

Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Had another lovely meal in the Old Inn on Saturday last. This hotel is always busy - when we were there they had a wedding on and had a large family party as well as numerous couples and small groups in the bar/restaurant - however we were greeted by smiling helpful staff who took our order and served us delicious... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

kate123belfast, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you have enjoyed your many visits with us, especially your last visit. It is very reassuring to see that the food and service that we provide are consistent. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Kind regards, the... More

Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Husband and I on a few days away in NI discovered the pretty village of Crawfordsburn. We were warmly welcomed by Aidan and settled into a nice "wee" nook. The menu is extensive and I was assured that my food allergy could be catered for. We had a delicious lunch - husband having the home made burger (without bun to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear Masha, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent visit with. Thank you for your kind words on the hospitality of Aidan and the overall atmosphere and we were also pleased to see that your dietary needs were accommodated without fuss. As you correctly point... More

Larne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

had 3 course meal. All of it was to a very high standard. Fillet steak was amazing and service was exceptional!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear juls541, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. We were particularly please to see how much our fillet steaks! We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn. More

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I took my three children out for a treat one Sunday evening, with their mum being away, and reserved a table in the Parlour Bar for 7.30. On arrival we were informed that there had been no note of my booking and asked courteously if we would mind waiting a short time whilst a table was prepared. Shown to our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear L3959FZPaul_H, We were very flattered to see that you made us your first post on Tripadvisor. We were equally disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your visit with. Unfortnately your review does not tell us on which Sunday you visited which would have allowed us to ascertain which members of staff we could have spoken to, to... More

carrickfergus
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

In the past we have had some very satisfactory meals at this atmospheric restaurant and we thought it would be a suitable place to entertain a guest from Thailand. Sadly this turned out not to be the case. Firstly,after we sat down it took an age to catch a waiter's eye to place an order for wine. My starter of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear esler c, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were very disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your recent visit with us. Thank you for constructive criticism, on the hot smoked salmon starter which were passed on to the head chef. This particular dish is going to be reviewed on the... More

Travelers who viewed Lewis at The Old Inn also viewed

Bangor, County Down
Bangor, County Down
 
Groomsport, County Down
 

Been to Lewis at The Old Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lewis at The Old Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing