We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lewis at The Old Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$$
French, European, Wine Bar
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
15 Main Street | The Old Inn, Crawfordsburn, Bangor BT19 1JH, Northern Ireland
+44 (0)28 91853255
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Lewis at The Old Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 262 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 101
    Excellent
  • 64
    Very good
  • 40
    Average
  • 28
    Poor
  • 29
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Pity about the staff

Food was beautiful but pity it was let down by poor staff, they were rude and ignorant which made me feel very uncomfortable when having my meal...it was my birthday and my partner had taken me here for an overnight stay and meal.

3 of 5 starsReviewed August 28, 2015
Amandaggbelfast
,
Belfast
Good for:
  • Special occasions
Add Photo Write a Review

262 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015 NEW

Food was beautiful but pity it was let down by poor staff, they were rude and ignorant which made me feel very uncomfortable when having my meal...it was my birthday and my partner had taken me here for an overnight stay and meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear Amandaggbelfast, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were of course disappointed to see your comments especially n light of of the overwhelming support we receive on Tripadvisor about the friendliness and professionalism of the team. Unfortunately your review does not tel us when you stayed and dined with us. With that in... More 

essex
Level Contributor
81 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015

We recently had dinner in this restaurant whilst staying in the hotel. Everything is freshly prepared and cooked whilst you wait. You can even watch the chefs as the restaurant has an open kitchen. The Halibut that I had was a huge chunk of fish and was served with a selection of vegetables that were cooked to perfection. The waiter/... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ztilb, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. The team in the kitchen actually love the idea of being 'on stage' and are very happy to have guests walk up and chat to them at the pass. Thank you, also, for... More 

Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015

Stopped for lunch yesterday and this remains an excellent stop for a meal. Great menu selection with. Daily specials. Staff are very attentive and professional. Good is good quality and well presented. Always consistent and always good. Worth a stop !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear GeoffKennedy, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We were delighted to see that you find the food and service to be so consistent each time you visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn. More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

Hadn't been to the Crawfordsburn Inn in years and after my recent experience I wouldn't consider ever returning. Despite the beautiful setting - quaint without being haggard - our dining experience was amongst the worst I've ever encountered in terms of quality. I ordered the chilli chicken with a candied walnut coleslaw. What I received was 4-5 strips of chicken... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear Nick B, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We are saddened to see that you were disappointed on your recent visit. As we have said many times before, we react to all feedback both positive and negative. We were so surprised by the comments in your review that we decided to put your... More 

Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015

Have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions & can honestly say we have never had a bad meal. All food is cooked fresh & tastes delicious everytime. All restaurant staff are polite & well presented.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear m_hargrove, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. Your kind words on the food and on the service are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again, very soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn. More 

Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

Visited the Old Inn Crawfordsburn for dinner along with visiting guests from South Africa.The food was well presented and very tasty.Top marks must go to the young man who was restaurant manager that evening.He was pleasant and informative.Showing us into the lounge for pre dinner drinks and taking our order at a suitable time space.Our visiting guests from South Africa... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear skyranger912, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent evening with us. Thank you for your kind words on the attentiveness of the team and the quality of the food. We look forward to welcoming you back again, very soon. Kind regards, the team at... More 

Belfast
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

We called here for lunch and the atmosphere is great.The bar is very comfortable and the lunch was excellent with really good service.The staff were really pleasant and very efficient.I would recommend this place for a nice quiet lunch .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear heggers, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. Thank you for your kind words on the atmosphere and service and thank you for recommending us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn. More 

UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

There was not a single item on the lunch menu that was FODMAP friendly, and there were no alternatives offered. I was really surprised to see that there was no offers to discuss allergies or intolerances, other than a short line at the bottom of the menu about gluten and nuts. There was no gluten free alternatives, and no offers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear dea_ex_machina, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were genuinely disappointed to see your comments. Since the legislation relating to allergens changed last December, we have worked very hard to make adjustments to our menu where possible. For example, none of our daily, freshly prepared soups, contain flour, our chilli chicken dish and... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

Arrived for Sunday lunch with 2 toddlers - an abundance of tables but older waitress with short hair who greeted sorry grunted at us on arrival seemed distinctly unimpressed by our request for table of 4, with no booking and 2 high chairs. At length they brought one high chair and we made do. Took forever to bring the menu... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear Clare G, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We welcome all feedback, both positive and negative and we will certainly being using your constructive comments to improve our service, especially on a Sunday. We hope that your experience does not deter you from visiting us again in future. Kind regards, the team at... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015

We booked evening meal, service was excellent however the meal itself was not worth the money paid. Big plates but very little on them. If it wasn't for the meat we would have still been hungry after.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear Eileenm M, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor and making us your first ever review. We are not sure if we looked after you on the day that you posted your review, but thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We hope that your experience does not deter you from visiting... More 

Travelers who viewed Lewis at The Old Inn also viewed

Bangor, County Down
Bangor, County Down
 
Bangor, County Down
 

Been to Lewis at The Old Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 15 Main Street | The Old Inn, Crawfordsburn, Bangor BT19 1JH, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  County Down  >  Bangor  >  Crawfordsburn
  • Phone Number: +44 (0)28 91853255

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 11 - 56
  • Cuisine: French, European, Wine Bar

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Lewis at The Old Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Belfast, Maine
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Lewis at The Old Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?