We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lewis at The Old Inn

$$$
European, French, Wine Bar
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
15 Main Street | The Old Inn, Crawfordsburn, Bangor BT19 1JH, Northern Ireland
+44 (0)28 91853255
Website
Add hours for Lewis at The Old Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 212 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 85
    Excellent
  • 57
    Very good
  • 28
    Average
  • 23
    Poor
  • 19
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Imaginative food:

Lovely, beautiful food, well-presented. Delightful serving staff who had the right mix of friendly and professional

4 of 5 starsReviewed February 28, 2015
blackrockDublin
,
Dublin
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

212 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015 NEW

Lovely, beautiful food, well-presented. Delightful serving staff who had the right mix of friendly and professional

Was this review helpful? Yes
florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

I am a frequent visitor to Crawfordsburn & Bangor---In my view, I consider this area one of the most relaxing and lovely areas in all of Northern Ireland.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear ensie, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to see that you enjoy visiting us so much, even though Florida is so far away. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn. More 

Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015 via mobile

Been many times, food is always good unfortunately this time one meal had to be returned as it was cold. However was quickly sorted and the rest was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear Joan H, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to see that you have a become an Old Inn fan and that you enjoy coming to visit so much. We are sorry that you had to return one of your dishes on your last visit. Even in the month of December... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015 via mobile

We arrived and were shown to our table which would have been perfectly fine if a second waitress hadn't come up and asked us excuse me have you booked a table to which we replied yes and this is it. Are you meant to talk to customers in this way ? I was extremely disappointed with the choice on both... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear CraigW1988, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were sorry to see that your visit did not live up to your expectations. We are sorry that you felt that our Ciabatta was not cut thickly enough or maybe the expectation was a 'bap' and are equally sorry that you could not detect the... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

We planned a christening celebration with the events team. Kerry and Louise were so professional and helpful from start to finish. We had the sit down, four course option. The food was top notch and the silver service waiting staff extremely attentive. My family who arrived from all over the globe were pleased with the ambience and the attention to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear gailr r, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you were so pleased with Isaac's recent christening and that you found everyone to be so attentive. Thank you for your especially kind words on Kerry and Louise, in our sales team, its always lovely to see the whole... More 

Belfast
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

Again a great meal with pleasant staff. Love staying here always great value though we mostly have our meal included in our stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ciaran S, Assistant Manager at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear EithneBelfast, Thanks for reviewing your most recent visit at The Old Inn. I'm glad to hear you had another fantastic experience at the hotel, and I hope its one of many more to come! Look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. From all the team at The Old Inn. More 

Belfast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

The Old Inn is always great for the relaxing ambiance, a lovely venue, the managers and staff are always pleasant and helpful apart from staff following up with customer service especially in the Bar bistro we sat many times hoping to be approached by the staff asking us if we required another drink but alas I had to go to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ciaran S, Assistant Manager at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear johnny5Belfast, Thanks for taking the time to review your experiences with us here at The Old Inn. I'm sorry to hear you had some poor service experience in our bar, I have addressed this with our bar team and we have introduced some refresher training with the team ensuring they are much more attentive. We spend a lot of... More 

northern irealnd
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Visited the Old Inn for Friday lunch. Arrived about 2.15 and place was buzzing. After short wait for someone to arrange table for us, we were seated near the kitchen - which we did not mind. Food order taken quickly with good knowledge of menu shown by waiting staff. Although not usually a fan of mushroom soup, it was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear pillhill, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you and your colleagues enjoyed your recent visit with us. Thank you for your kind words on the team and on the food, especially the mushroom soup, which we get rave reviews about. Next time, why not leave time for... More 

Bangor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

We were out with friends for an evening & booked this restaurant because it has so much going for it -beautiful surroundings, very cosy & relaxed atmosphere & good food. In short it never lets us down. Last night was no different- everything was superb. We benefited from the January offer of £55 per couple & bearing in mind the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear DM1_10, Thank you for posting such a 'Brilliant' review. The combination of great food, friendly and efficient staff in a cosy environment is hard to beat and when it works, it really works. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you and kind regards, the team at The Old Inn. More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Booked a table for New Years Day for 3.30pm. Arrived at 3.15 to be told table would be ready in 5 mins-happy days so we ordered a drink at the bar and waited to be called in..and waited and waited! After 20mins we enquired about our table to be told it was accidently given to "walk ins". We were offered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear st51arm, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were sorry to see that there were aspects of your recent visit that you did not enjoy. New years day is quite a 'unique' day in the village of Crawfordsburn when 100's of people come out to see the hunt leave the village. When the... More 

Travelers who viewed Lewis at The Old Inn also viewed

Bangor, County Down
Bangor, County Down
 

Been to Lewis at The Old Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 15 Main Street | The Old Inn, Crawfordsburn, Bangor BT19 1JH, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  County Down  >  Bangor  >  Crawfordsburn
  • Phone Number: +44 (0)28 91853255

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 11 - 56
  • Cuisine: European, French, Wine Bar

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lewis at The Old Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?