We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lewis at The Old Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$$
French, European, Wine Bar
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
15 Main Street | The Old Inn, Crawfordsburn, Bangor BT19 1JH, Northern Ireland
+44 (0)28 91853255
Website
Add hours for Lewis at The Old Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 228 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 92
    Excellent
  • 60
    Very good
  • 30
    Average
  • 24
    Poor
  • 22
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Very good all round, nice food and great service

We were at the Inn with friends and family for dinner. Service in the bar before dinner was excellent. No issues transferring our bar tab to the restaurant, all done with a smile and no fuss. Menu was interesting, with complex sounding dishes for starters and mains. Pricing was on the expensive... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 24, 2015
Polychrest
,
Belfast, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Special occasions
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

We were at the Inn with friends and family for dinner. Service in the bar before dinner was excellent. No issues transferring our bar tab to the restaurant, all done with a smile and no fuss. Menu was interesting, with complex sounding dishes for starters and mains. Pricing was on the expensive side for starters, mains were priced about right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
malta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

On our trip to Belfast we visited this place twice ... it is a great place to eat in, food is excellent although a bit on the high side moneywise. The ambiance at the bar is also great ... we will definitively visit the place when in NI.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bangor , Northern Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

One of my favourite hotels. Lovely environment - new menu disappointing .. Meal average... Wouldn't hurry back - Bring back the old menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

The soup and sandwich we had for lunch was the best we had eaten for a considerable time. Pea and ham soup in a spectacular bowl with a lovely watercress garnish....not outdone by the tasty ham and piccalilli sandwich. The little bowl of homemade chips/crisps were delicous. Can't wait to take a drive to Co Down again and have another... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear Dave M, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We are big fans of simple done well and this certainly seems to be the case here. We look forward to welcoming you back, the next time you're in this part of the world. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn. More 

Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

My son, his wife and her parents and I had reservations for dinner at the Old Inn. The entire experience was very disappointing. Upon entering, we ordered a drink at the bar, that drink took 35 minutes, the experience went downhill from there. The service was appalling and very disappointing as I have been to the old inn upon our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear irisP, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were sorry to see that you did not enjoy your experience with us. If you would be kind enough to let us know when this happened, we can carry out a more thorough investigation into why things appear to have gone wrong. If you could... More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

What a wonderful meal and ambeaunce this beautiful place has .. Celebrating my sisters 50 Birthday was a great night .. The food is outstanding.. We all had steak and Triple cooked Chips .. They brought us lovely bread and canapés to try complimentmeny which was a lovely touch .. We had Champagne which was at a reasonable price considering... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear trudy89, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you had such a wonderful time at your sister's 50th birthday. Thank you for your kind words on the food and on the service team. We look forward to seeing you next year for sister's 51st! Kind regards, the team... More 

Belfast
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015 via mobile

Had lunch here today and have to say pretty poor it was too. Shame really as my wife and I had our wedding here 2yrs ago and itvwas fab. Criticism today is down to poor service - staff talking amongst themselves bout working for posh nosh on days off, waiter slamming empty glass down on bar top and really how... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear Lovepitlochry, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your recent visit with us. We would be very interested in catching a bit more, specific, feedback, if you would be kind enough to contact us via wecare@theoldinn.com. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn. More 

Belfast, Maine
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

We were greeted and seated quickly, waitress was excellent. First course (Melon) was extremely hard and could not be sliced into smaller pieces. Main course, my roast beef looked delicious , but was cold as were plates. There was a very long wait between 1st course and main (30 minutes). Dessert was very nice. I don't think I will be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear Rosemary J, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were sorry to see that you did enjoy your recent Sunday Lunch with us. If we could ask you to contact us via wecare@theoldinn.com, we can make more thorough investigations for you. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn. More 

Lisburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Had lunch at crawfordsburn inn on easter sunday. Lunch ok , we had finished our lunch and sat for 15 minutes before the manageress came and took our plates (this is after i sat them on edge of table, plus there was waitress /waiter passing our table, all this time we were sitting opposite bar) manageress didn't say r u... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear Linda M, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We will be sure to share your feedback. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn. More 

comber
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Popped in for a late lunch. Been here a lot lately and keep coming back. I had chilli chicken which was basically fancy goujons. Tasted good and just the right amount. The star of the show was the pumpkin gnocchi which was delightfully presented and the taste of the dish was sublime. Service was excellent. The young tall waiter was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review

Dear pmturner, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your recent lunch visit, so much so that you posted a photo! Thank you also for your kind words on the team member who looked after you. We believe this to be Crisanto, quick of foot and wit!... More 

Travelers who viewed Lewis at The Old Inn also viewed

Bangor, County Down
Bangor, County Down
 
Bangor, County Down
 

Been to Lewis at The Old Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 15 Main Street | The Old Inn, Crawfordsburn, Bangor BT19 1JH, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  County Down  >  Bangor  >  Crawfordsburn
  • Phone Number: +44 (0)28 91853255

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 11 - 56
  • Cuisine: French, European, Wine Bar

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Lewis at The Old Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Belfast, Maine
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Lewis at The Old Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?