We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Blue Bell

English
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
West Green, Cottingham, Kingston-upon-Hull, England
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 134 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 39
    Excellent
  • 36
    Very good
  • 13
    Average
  • 15
    Poor
  • 31
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
A vast improvement

We re-visited again today for Sunday lunch after hearing their new chef had arrived and wasn't disappointed so thought it only right that we write another review. The food was a vast improvement from the last time, the best Yorkshire puddings I have had in a very long time, my only criticism was... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed February 22, 2015
GibsonFamily
,
Cottingham, England
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Been to bluebell for many many years & the menu is now very limited! Plates seem to of shrunk .. Everything served with carrots & broccoli! Including the stroganoff! Very disappointed don't know whether I will ever return

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015 via mobile

I had the stroganoff and my partner had the duck. Both were very tasty, generous portions and the meat was cooked superbly. Looking forward to coming back and trying some more of the menu!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew C, Owner at The Blue Bell, responded to this review

I'm so glad you had such a nice evening with us and enjoyed your meals. Once our extension has been completed Ram my head chef will launch his full new menu, we can't wait and hope to see you back very soon. More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

I visited the Blue Bell last week and the meal was lovely apart from when we ordered desert and it didn't turn up. I asked one of the waitresses and she was extremely rude about it, if I remember correctly I think her name was Hannah, anyway that is beside the point. She handled it completely the wrong way and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew C, Owner at The Blue Bell, responded to this review

I am very sorry one of my staff were rude to you. Had I been made aware of this I would have dealt with this immediately. This will be dealt with now and assure you this is not how my staff are trained to behave and are instructed to treated all my customers with the utmost respect and gratitude for... More 

Cottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Been here plenty of times, the food is sublime and worth the money. Visited many times for Christmas as they serve a delicious mulled wine, the vamped up the outside area with lights which is a lovely atmosphere on the night time. I would recommend everyone to try their food at least once in their lifetime.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew C, Owner at The Blue Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and just wait till our planned extension has been completed, the plans are on our website. It's going to be pretty impressive. More 

Cottingham, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We re-visited again today for Sunday lunch after hearing their new chef had arrived and wasn't disappointed so thought it only right that we write another review. The food was a vast improvement from the last time, the best Yorkshire puddings I have had in a very long time, my only criticism was two of the veggies were a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew C, Owner at The Blue Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Ram my new chef believes in everything being cooked and served fresh for each customer, unfortunately how the kitchen is currently set out makes this very difficult to achieve without having to re heat everything before it leaves the kitchen, and the refurb we are waiting for will solve all our current issues. We can't... More 

Cottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We have had evening meals here before and enjoyed them. Booked a lunch this time as it was more appropriate for the occasion. Food was ok but the open fire really needs attention. If you were sat near the fire it was very off putting as there was a lot of smoke coming off the fire. Whilst the food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Andrew C, Owner at The Blue Bell, responded to this review

This was the first time since I had the fire converted back to real flame from gas I have had a problem with it. Have it swept twice a yr so called out a contractor as the actual pot at the top looks damaged. This showed that the pot collapsed in on itself and a new one will be put... More 

east yorkshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

I have previously been a good supporter of the bluebell on many many occasions recommending it to friends, but what a come down. We recently visited (a party of 7) ordered our meals and were summonsed to the table.We ordered pate - previously it appeared home made and was very good - now we got a solid chuck of something... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew C, Owner at The Blue Bell, responded to this review

I have read your review and feel I need to respond to your comments. You were "politely asked" to come to your table as we were about to start serving your meals. The pate was not purchased from a supermarket. After reviewing the cctv of that evening, the service was not unduly slow. As you are aware my kitchen is... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

We nearly didn't eat here because of the negative reviews on Trip Advisor. Well if there are any problems, we saw no sign of them on our visit. Firstly, the room was warm on a very cold night (which is quite rare these days.) Service from the young staff was polite and efficient. The food was very good, particularly the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew C, Owner at The Blue Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, unfortunalty due to the cost of the ingredients we use this means our prices are higher than if we used lower quality ingredients. My chef tries to keep costs to a minimum and be very thorough when costing his dishes taking into account what we need to take to cover their purchase and running costs... More 

Hull
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

We have been eating at the Blue Bell (our local) a couple of times a year for several years and have always had really good food and a pleasant experience. Yes, it's quite pricey but the service, choice and quality made it worthwhile. This year we could only book 6.30 or 8.15 for my husband's birthday. The table wasn't ready... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew C, Owner at The Blue Bell, responded to this review

From your review where you in during January? With the times you put that were left I would assume that it was a Friday or Saturday evening as these nights fill up early leaving early times of late times depending on when that table has already been booked, so the 815 table I gues you booked would have already been... More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

We ate here for the first time today. We where pleasantly surprised, After reading previous negative reviews. The food was hot and plentiful, the service was polite, and overall good. We did have to wait for the cheeseboard, and coffee the other puddings came promptly. Overall a superb family Sunday lunch, proving that sometimes, you have to try and form... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew C, Owner at The Blue Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for dining with us. After investigating the issue I found that they automatically start the hot desserts first before cold ones so they should all go out together, which had included starting to prep the cheeseboard but as this is all cut to order I have told them to ensure the cheeseboard is started first and also asked... More 

Travelers who viewed The Blue Bell also viewed

Cottingham, Kingston-upon-Hull
 
Cottingham, Kingston-upon-Hull
Cottingham, Kingston-upon-Hull
 

Been to The Blue Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: West Green, Cottingham, Kingston-upon-Hull, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  East Riding of Yorkshire  >  Kingston-upon-Hull  >  Cottingham

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: English
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Blue Bell and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Blue Bell staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?