We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Blue Bell

English, Pub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
West Green, Cottingham, Kingston-upon-Hull, England
Website
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 139 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 40
    Excellent
  • 36
    Very good
  • 14
    Average
  • 17
    Poor
  • 32
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Nice place but food nothing special

Eaten here a couple of times now, and the atmosphere and setting is really nice, the staff all friendly and attentive, and they even occasionally have live music on later in the evening which turns a meal into a full night out. The only thing that lets it down really is the food. There's... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed May 19, 2015
404tuneless
,
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Special occasions
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015 NEW

Our party of 13 turned up at 7 o'clock. Many of us had preordered our main courses. At 9.15 we were still waiting for our food. Only a few of us had a starter. When we complained, rather than apologise and try to appease us, the manager argued with us waving his order form saying that it was 7.30 by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015 NEW

Eaten here a couple of times now, and the atmosphere and setting is really nice, the staff all friendly and attentive, and they even occasionally have live music on later in the evening which turns a meal into a full night out. The only thing that lets it down really is the food. There's nothing especially wrong with it except... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

I ate there recently and since the new chef has taken over the standard of the food is superb. The menu has reduced in selection but the quality is outstanding

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

We arrived at 12.30 for a lunch time meal there was just one couple in the pub so we expected to be served quickly ,the drinks was served all except one the barman had forgotten to serve ,we order meals for four people after waiting at least 45 mins. For the meal then we where the only four people in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Went to Blue Bell on Bank Holiday Monday, it was dead only another table eating. The waiter completely blanked us at first and then shrugged us off with the menu and the waitress saw to us afterwards luckily. We both ordered the fish & chips as there wasn't much choice on the menu, when it arrived I was very disappointed.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew C, Owner at The Blue Bell, responded to this review

It was mentioned to me a customer had said that we use oven chips by a table which we don't our chips are prepared by my chef and our fish comes in fresh each day, this is actually why our fish and chips has to be £9.95 due to the price of the fish. Unfortunately our peas are frozen and... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Been to bluebell for many many years & the menu is now very limited! Plates seem to of shrunk .. Everything served with carrots & broccoli! Including the stroganoff! Very disappointed don't know whether I will ever return

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew C, Owner at The Blue Bell, responded to this review

My previous chef for the last 6 yrs left at Christmas so we have a new head chef now and as the last chef did has started with a smaller menu he can execute with speed and train his team to serve. Nothing else has changed, same crockery and suppliers. He has adapted dishes for what our dinners have asked... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015 via mobile

I had the stroganoff and my partner had the duck. Both were very tasty, generous portions and the meat was cooked superbly. Looking forward to coming back and trying some more of the menu!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew C, Owner at The Blue Bell, responded to this review

I'm so glad you had such a nice evening with us and enjoyed your meals. Once our extension has been completed Ram my head chef will launch his full new menu, we can't wait and hope to see you back very soon. More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

I visited the Blue Bell last week and the meal was lovely apart from when we ordered desert and it didn't turn up. I asked one of the waitresses and she was extremely rude about it, if I remember correctly I think her name was Hannah, anyway that is beside the point. She handled it completely the wrong way and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Andrew C, Owner at The Blue Bell, responded to this review

I am very sorry one of my staff were rude to you. Had I been made aware of this I would have dealt with this immediately. This will be dealt with now and assure you this is not how my staff are trained to behave and are instructed to treated all my customers with the utmost respect and gratitude for... More 

Cottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Been here plenty of times, the food is sublime and worth the money. Visited many times for Christmas as they serve a delicious mulled wine, the vamped up the outside area with lights which is a lovely atmosphere on the night time. I would recommend everyone to try their food at least once in their lifetime.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew C, Owner at The Blue Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and just wait till our planned extension has been completed, the plans are on our website. It's going to be pretty impressive. More 

Cottingham, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We re-visited again today for Sunday lunch after hearing their new chef had arrived and wasn't disappointed so thought it only right that we write another review. The food was a vast improvement from the last time, the best Yorkshire puddings I have had in a very long time, my only criticism was two of the veggies were a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew C, Owner at The Blue Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Ram my new chef believes in everything being cooked and served fresh for each customer, unfortunately how the kitchen is currently set out makes this very difficult to achieve without having to re heat everything before it leaves the kitchen, and the refurb we are waiting for will solve all our current issues. We can't... More 

Travelers who viewed The Blue Bell also viewed

Cottingham, Kingston-upon-Hull
 
Cottingham, Kingston-upon-Hull
Cottingham, Kingston-upon-Hull
 

Been to The Blue Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: West Green, Cottingham, Kingston-upon-Hull, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  East Riding of Yorkshire  >  Kingston-upon-Hull  >  Cottingham

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: English, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Blue Bell and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Blue Bell staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?