We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Blue Bell

English
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
West Green, Cottingham, Kingston-upon-Hull, England
Website
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Good for:
Breakfast/Brunch
Reservations
Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 131 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 38
    Excellent
  • 36
    Very good
  • 13
    Average
  • 14
    Poor
  • 30
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Great Atmosphere

Been here plenty of times, the food is sublime and worth the money. Visited many times for Christmas as they serve a delicious mulled wine, the vamped up the outside area with lights which is a lovely atmosphere on the night time. I would recommend everyone to try their food at least once in their... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed February 23, 2015
Danny M
,
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015 NEW

Been here plenty of times, the food is sublime and worth the money. Visited many times for Christmas as they serve a delicious mulled wine, the vamped up the outside area with lights which is a lovely atmosphere on the night time. I would recommend everyone to try their food at least once in their lifetime.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew C, Owner at The Blue Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and just wait till our planned extension has been completed, the plans are on our website. It's going to be pretty impressive. More 

Cottingham, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015 NEW

We re-visited again today for Sunday lunch after hearing their new chef had arrived and wasn't disappointed so thought it only right that we write another review. The food was a vast improvement from the last time, the best Yorkshire puddings I have had in a very long time, my only criticism was two of the veggies were a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew C, Owner at The Blue Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Ram my new chef believes in everything being cooked and served fresh for each customer, unfortunately how the kitchen is currently set out makes this very difficult to achieve without having to re heat everything before it leaves the kitchen, and the refurb we are waiting for will solve all our current issues. We can't... More 

Cottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015 NEW

We have had evening meals here before and enjoyed them. Booked a lunch this time as it was more appropriate for the occasion. Food was ok but the open fire really needs attention. If you were sat near the fire it was very off putting as there was a lot of smoke coming off the fire. Whilst the food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew C, Owner at The Blue Bell, responded to this review

This was the first time since I had the fire converted back to real flame from gas I have had a problem with it. Have it swept twice a yr so called out a contractor as the actual pot at the top looks damaged. This showed that the pot collapsed in on itself and a new one will be put... More 

east yorkshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015 NEW

I have previously been a good supporter of the bluebell on many many occasions recommending it to friends, but what a come down. We recently visited (a party of 7) ordered our meals and were summonsed to the table.We ordered pate - previously it appeared home made and was very good - now we got a solid chuck of something... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew C, Owner at The Blue Bell, responded to this review

I have read your review and feel I need to respond to your comments. You were "politely asked" to come to your table as we were about to start serving your meals. The pate was not purchased from a supermarket. After reviewing the cctv of that evening, the service was not unduly slow. As you are aware my kitchen is... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

We nearly didn't eat here because of the negative reviews on Trip Advisor. Well if there are any problems, we saw no sign of them on our visit. Firstly, the room was warm on a very cold night (which is quite rare these days.) Service from the young staff was polite and efficient. The food was very good, particularly the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew C, Owner at The Blue Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, unfortunalty due to the cost of the ingredients we use this means our prices are higher than if we used lower quality ingredients. My chef tries to keep costs to a minimum and be very thorough when costing his dishes taking into account what we need to take to cover their purchase and running costs... More 

Hull
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

We have been eating at the Blue Bell (our local) a couple of times a year for several years and have always had really good food and a pleasant experience. Yes, it's quite pricey but the service, choice and quality made it worthwhile. This year we could only book 6.30 or 8.15 for my husband's birthday. The table wasn't ready... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew C, Owner at The Blue Bell, responded to this review

From your review where you in during January? With the times you put that were left I would assume that it was a Friday or Saturday evening as these nights fill up early leaving early times of late times depending on when that table has already been booked, so the 815 table I gues you booked would have already been... More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

We ate here for the first time today. We where pleasantly surprised, After reading previous negative reviews. The food was hot and plentiful, the service was polite, and overall good. We did have to wait for the cheeseboard, and coffee the other puddings came promptly. Overall a superb family Sunday lunch, proving that sometimes, you have to try and form... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew C, Owner at The Blue Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for dining with us. After investigating the issue I found that they automatically start the hot desserts first before cold ones so they should all go out together, which had included starting to prep the cheeseboard but as this is all cut to order I have told them to ensure the cheeseboard is started first and also asked... More 

Cottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

We took friends , 8 of us in total, for dinner to celebrate my wife's birthday. I had booked an early sitting as sometimes the service has been very slow with new staff. Further I had pre booked and paid for champagne before we arrived, but was slightly dissapointed that it wasn't ready on the table as we arrived, even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew C, Owner at The Blue Bell, responded to this review

I don't know why your champagne was not ready for you on arrival. It should have been and think it was overlooked I have instructed the waiter on orders to ensure they double check the diary for any requests or notes for any of the bookings incase I'm off again. With regards to my toilets we have been scheduled for... More 

Cottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

we have been to the blue bell a few times in the last year but tonight was the best meal we have ever had. It was lovely to have carrots and broccoli instead of the usual courgettes which none of us like. The waitress was very friendly and efficient and it was really good value for money, and a lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew C, Owner at The Blue Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us and appreciating the new direction I am taking the blue bell in with my new chef. More 

Hull
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

Have visited this place many times and have never had reason to complain. Even the rude owner, didn't put us off as the food was always good. Visited last night, our meals was dreadful, beef stroganoff URGH!!!! When we asked to speak to the owner, he surpassed himself with his lack of people skills, telling us "we've changed the chef... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Andrew C, Owner at The Blue Bell, responded to this review

Are you seriously saying this was the first time you have complain? Our log suggests otherwise, from the temperature, to music level, to type of music and on most occasions the food after you have finished and in each intense wanting to complain directly to me whether I was working or not. After you complained to my waiter that the... More 

Travelers who viewed The Blue Bell also viewed

Cottingham, Kingston-upon-Hull
 
Cottingham, Kingston-upon-Hull
Cottingham, Kingston-upon-Hull
 

Been to The Blue Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: West Green, Cottingham, Kingston-upon-Hull, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  East Riding of Yorkshire  >  Kingston-upon-Hull  >  Cottingham

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: English
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Blue Bell and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Blue Bell staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?