We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Halfway Inn

$$
Brew Pub, British, English
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Norden | BH20 5DU, Wareham, England (Formerly Halfway Inn)
+44 1929 480402
Website
Add hours for The Halfway Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Good for:
Outdoor seating

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 157 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 53
    Excellent
  • 52
    Very good
  • 20
    Average
  • 16
    Poor
  • 16
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Great pub!

Staff very welcoming. Made a big fuss of us & our dog! Great food too, so all in all a good visit. Have been here for several years now & it has always been great, but new landlords & staff have just added that little bit more! Thank you.

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 30, 2015
BarbsP
,
Winchester, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Outdoor seating
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
Add Photo Write a Review

157 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015 NEW

Staff very welcoming. Made a big fuss of us & our dog! Great food too, so all in all a good visit. Have been here for several years now & it has always been great, but new landlords & staff have just added that little bit more! Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015 NEW

Having discovered The Silent Lady was shut for a private function we decided to take a ride towards Corfe and called into the Halfway Inn purely by chance. Lovely welcome from the Landlord who made it clear our dog was welcome. Nice varied menu with Fish finger baguettes which I couldn't resist.(Best fish fingers I've ever tasted. My partner had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted that both you and your dog enjoyed your visit to our pub. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Abingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

I stopped for lunch with my father on the way to Studland bay . We both had the chicken with chorizo. Rather overcooked, quite bland and very small portion that was also incredibly oily. Service was brusque. The beer (tanglefoot) was good. Bit too ' generic ' for my taste, but then again it is on the edge of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were "unimpressed " with your visit to our pub. We are not part of a chain. We are a stand alone business and do not consider ourselves generic as all food is freshly cooked and prepared on site. The Spanish Chicken dish that you chose was a special from our blackboard. It is offered as... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Visited this wonderful Inn a couple of weeks ago. Although it is on a fairly busy road, once inside it is calmness itself! As well as a general menu there is also a blackboard menu. Very difficult to choose as everything looked quite scrumptious! Finally went with something 'retro' Scampi and Chips (without the basket) Servings are generous, Scampi was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments on Tripadvisor. We hope that you make it to dessert next time as they are all home-made and delicious.( We do offer a smaller portion of some of the main meals, including scampi, so that you can leave room for dessert!) We will look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Brixham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Excellent service excellent food in fact my says it was one of the best fish finger sandwiches she's had. really friendly staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your snack. We feel the homemade tartare sauce was the added bonus in your fishfinger bap. Baguettes and Baps are served 1200-1700 on Mondays through to Saturdays. Sorry we cannot offer these on a Sunday. More 

Napoli
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

After a bracing walk we decided to have Sunday lunch at this lovely inn. Service was quick and very friendly. Food was excellent and good sized portions. Very happy and would definitely recommend, and return if I was back in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. and for taking the time to put them on Tripadvisor. Check out our website for a good 4 mile walk that starts and ends at The Halfway Inn. We would always recommend that you book on a Sunday as we are very busy. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Ordered the butchers burger and it was perfectly cooked with a delicious relish. Compliments to the chef. Friendly staff. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor we are delighted you enjoyed our chargrilled beefburger. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Wareham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

The Half Way Inn was third on our choice of pubs to visit and should have been first. The food was served hot, the staff were attentive and pleasant and the bill was very reasonable. The steak was cooked to perfection after being asked how we liked it cooked and i wanted to swap potatoes for chips which was no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments we are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to The Halfway Inn. Not all of our tables have bench seating - please do not hesitate to ask for chairs on your next visit. More 

Isle of Wight
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

We luckily found this place on a wet and windy January afternoon when looking for a late lunch/ early dinner - all the other pubs had stopped serving food or didn't take dogs. Here, there was a warm welcome from the barman and a cosy fire lit. Our dogs were very welcome, and were even offered a treat, and we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor. The Halfway Inn welcomes dogs anywhere in the pub and garden. We serve food from 12noon throughout the day seven days per week. (We do close our kitchen earlier at 7pm on a Sunday evening during off peak months.) We are glad that you enjoyed our homemade soup and the... More 

Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

We have eaten here previously, on Mother's Day 2024, when the food was good. This time however it was very disappointing. We ordered our food and it arrived within 5 minutes! The food was cold and poor quality. I ordered roast pork, my wife homily pie and the 3 kids had food from the childrens menu. Some of the vegetables... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Assistant Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are very disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and that we did not get a chance to rectify the issue on the day. As you can see from previous posts, we do have a good reputation for our roasts and do hope you will return so... More 

Travelers who viewed The Halfway Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Halfway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Norden | BH20 5DU, Wareham, England (Formerly Halfway Inn)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Wareham
  • Phone Number: +44 1929 480402

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 15 - 21
  • Cuisine: Brew Pub, British, English

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Outdoor seating

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Halfway Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?