We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Halfway Inn

$$
Brew Pub, British, English
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Norden | BH20 5DU, Wareham, England (Formerly Halfway Inn)
+44 1929 480402
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for The Halfway Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Good for:
Outdoor seating

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 161 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 53
    Excellent
  • 54
    Very good
  • 22
    Average
  • 16
    Poor
  • 16
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
12 months made a difference

We last visited the Halfway Inn about a year ago ,what a difference in 12 odd months . The steak pie had rather solid pastry and the carrots were a little hard and the broccoli heads were cold ,very small portion of mediocre chips .How disappointing compared to our last visit ! Quite expensive for... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed April 8, 2015
Peter W
,
Swanage, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Outdoor seating
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swanage, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

We last visited the Halfway Inn about a year ago ,what a difference in 12 odd months . The steak pie had rather solid pastry and the carrots were a little hard and the broccoli heads were cold ,very small portion of mediocre chips .How disappointing compared to our last visit ! Quite expensive for average pub fare and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were disappointed in your meal on your most recent visit to our pub. We always try to check back on tables inside the pub and ensure that any problems with meals are corrected on the day.Sadly we cannot guarantee to do this when you are eating outside. Steak pie is one of our most popular... More 

Dorchester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

A nice stop off on the way back from Swanage to Dorchester. Always visit and hope to sit near the fire - sadly no space as was a wet and windy Sunday. Yet then a family with a dog were located there, so was glad that we weren't placed there. Sat near the door - which was quite chilly! O.H.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

We are always very busy on a Sunday and would recommend booking. If you call us to book, and we have availability we will always try to accommodate requests to sit by one of our two fires. We do try to limit the draught coming in from outside on a windy day as we have a front door into a... More 

dorset, england
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Four of us visited here for a meal on a Saturday afternoon following a visit to Monkey World. I was immediately impressed by the building from the outside and upon entering found a delightful olde-world pub. We were greeted warmly by I think the landlady and served our drinks immediately and given menus. We all had mains which were delicious,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments and for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you and your dog enjoyed your visit to our pub! More 

Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Attended with family. The pub seemed inviting with a varied menu. Had a steak pie which was only ok, with good veg selection but was let down mainly by the instant smash. Not what I was inspected from this establishment. The berry Eton mess was strangely presented in a drinking glass! Tasted very syrupy. Family members apple pie arrived barely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor. We will answer the points raised as follows: 1. Disabled access: The Halfway Inn is a 16th Century listed building and as such we are limited by the size and dimensions of the structure as to how disabled friendly we can be. The pub is on one level throughout and... More 

Ferndown, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

This is an attractive pub halfway between Wareham and Corfe Castle on the isle of Purbeck. The pub is olde worlde beams etc, service was good food excellent this is an ideal stopping place any time of the year on the main road to Swanage

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed our food and hospitality. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Staff very welcoming. Made a big fuss of us & our dog! Great food too, so all in all a good visit. Have been here for several years now & it has always been great, but new landlords & staff have just added that little bit more! Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad that you noticed a difference with the new team on board. We look forward to seeing you and your dog again soon. More 

Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

Having discovered The Silent Lady was shut for a private function we decided to take a ride towards Corfe and called into the Halfway Inn purely by chance. Lovely welcome from the Landlord who made it clear our dog was welcome. Nice varied menu with Fish finger baguettes which I couldn't resist.(Best fish fingers I've ever tasted. My partner had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted that both you and your dog enjoyed your visit to our pub. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Abingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

I stopped for lunch with my father on the way to Studland bay . We both had the chicken with chorizo. Rather overcooked, quite bland and very small portion that was also incredibly oily. Service was brusque. The beer (tanglefoot) was good. Bit too ' generic ' for my taste, but then again it is on the edge of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were "unimpressed " with your visit to our pub. We are not part of a chain. We are a stand alone business and do not consider ourselves generic as all food is freshly cooked and prepared on site. The Spanish Chicken dish that you chose was a special from our blackboard. It is offered as... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Visited this wonderful Inn a couple of weeks ago. Although it is on a fairly busy road, once inside it is calmness itself! As well as a general menu there is also a blackboard menu. Very difficult to choose as everything looked quite scrumptious! Finally went with something 'retro' Scampi and Chips (without the basket) Servings are generous, Scampi was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments on Tripadvisor. We hope that you make it to dessert next time as they are all home-made and delicious.( We do offer a smaller portion of some of the main meals, including scampi, so that you can leave room for dessert!) We will look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Brixham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Excellent service excellent food in fact my says it was one of the best fish finger sandwiches she's had. really friendly staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your snack. We feel the homemade tartare sauce was the added bonus in your fishfinger bap. Baguettes and Baps are served 1200-1700 on Mondays through to Saturdays. Sorry we cannot offer these on a Sunday. More 

Travelers who viewed The Halfway Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Halfway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Norden | BH20 5DU, Wareham, England (Formerly Halfway Inn)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Wareham
  • Phone Number: +44 1929 480402

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 15 - 21
  • Cuisine: Brew Pub, British, English

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Outdoor seating

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Halfway Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?