We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Halfway Inn

Norden | BH20 5DU, Wareham, England (Formerly Halfway Inn)
+44 1929 480402
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 47 restaurants in Wareham
Price range: $17 - $24
Cuisines: English, British, Brew Pub
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reserve with OpenTable
The Halfway Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    31
    41
    14
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 NEW

We have just returned from a holiday in this lovely area and we chose this place for our evening meal simply because it looked nice. We thought it was a lovely place, the staff were all very pleasant and the food (gammon/fish & chips) was well cooked, nicely presented and very tasty. I think you normally order at the bar,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lingfield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 NEW

Having eaten here last year on Boxing Day, and had a good meal, we thought we'd go back again this time, but , oh dear, it has changed hands and the food was dreadful. Soggy pastry on the "Signature" steak and ale pie and tough meat, served with tasteless gravy tasteless veg and squashy reheated new potatoes, and a chicken... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your meal at the Halfway Inn on your recent visit. To address the points that you have raised specifically: 1. The Chicken Masala Curry is a moist, mild dish and is usually served with the rice and the curry in two separate balti dishes so the the sauce can be kept... More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stopped for an evening meal 30/6/14 with welcoming greeting from staff. Food ordered and arrived in timely fashion. Gammon steak excellent. Steak & ale pie fine on one side but totally dried out on the other; the problem satisfactorily dealt with but shame it happened. Would I go back - yes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad that you largely enjoyed your food and would come back again. However we are disappointed that your pie was not 100% and will investigate why this has happened to ensure it does not happen again. More

Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Went for evening meal, chose steak which was cooked to perfection, delicious. Service good, efficient and friendly. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your 5 out of 5 rating! We are really delighted that you enjoyed your 28 day mature local sirloin steak! We hope to see you again soon. More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited here for our evening meal last night. Since our last visit all the wood has been stripped back which makes inside much lighter and appealing. The food was quick to come out looked delicious I had pie which came with lots of veg which was nicely cooked. My husband has lasagne, again was lovely. Altogether... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments we are pleased that you enjoyed your meals, had good service and liked the new décor. Peroni is a premium lager and as such commands a higher price. We do also offer Amstel on draught at a lower price if you would prefer. More

swanage dorset
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

visited today for a late lunch and was very disappointed in the menu choice... choice of two vegetarian and rather pricey.. we have been frequent visitors with the previous owners but are very disappointed today and we wont be returning or recommending....

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

Whilst our main menu has only two main meal vegetarian options it also has a reasonable number of light bite vegetarian options too. The special board usually had as least two veggie specials and a veggie starter. As you were here for a late lunch it is possible we had sold out of the vegetarian specials on the board on... More

Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I have visited this pub many times over the past 30 years and it has always been reasonable pub food and featuring a specials board. This visit was a disappointment with very average food and no specials at all. Somebody needs to get a grip as the tourist season is here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

We are not sure when you visited us in May but we only took over the pub at the start of the month. Initially we had teething problems with a lack of staff, broken equipment and next to no stock on site so we had no option but to offer a limited menu. The specials board is now fully operational,... More

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stopped off here on our way back from Studland Bay to have a bite to eat. There was a nice varied menu. Not too much, not too little. I went for the beef burger with chips and my wife went for the Devon Crab Salad. The beef burger was as you would expect. The Crab salad, in our opinion was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments we are glad that you liked the choices and size of the menu. We have taken on board your criticism of the dressed crab salad. It is generally made simply with local Dorset Baby leaves, cherry vine tomatoes, red onions and cucumber to complement the crab. We serve the lemon mayonnaise in a separate pot... More

Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We have driven past this Pub on many occasions over the past few years and often thought we should stop and try the food. On Sunday we had been on our usual walk around Worth Matravers. We didn't go to our normal stop (the excellent Square and Compass) for a pasty but decided to try the Halfway. Bad decision! Arriving... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to The Halfway Inn. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your meals on this occasion. You visited on Sunday 15th June at about 6.30pm when we were very busy.As you stated all the tables inside were booked out. We served over 100 roast dinners on that... More

Sussex
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

For many years we have visited as a couple and with family. Always good. However this year it was sadly very poor. My meal of pie with veg consisted of cabbage stalks as veg. Even the waitress admitted it was unacceptable. Sons dinner of lasagne was so poor we sent it back. Apologies sent and excuse was they thought it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your visit to The Halfway Inn in May. We only took over this pub at the beginning of the month, and despite having 30 years experience in other pubs we did inherit some problems on changeover. We are confident that these are now being ironed out and that our food has... More

Travelers who viewed The Halfway Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Halfway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Halfway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing