We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Halfway Inn

$$
English, British, Brew Pub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Norden | BH20 5DU, Wareham, England (Formerly Halfway Inn)
+44 1929 480402
Website
Add hours for The Halfway Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Good for:
Outdoor seating
Breakfast/Brunch
Dinner
Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 151 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 49
    Excellent
  • 51
    Very good
  • 19
    Average
  • 16
    Poor
  • 16
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Best burger I ever had

Ordered the butchers burger and it was perfectly cooked with a delicious relish. Compliments to the chef. Friendly staff. Would recommend.

4 of 5 starsReviewed February 15, 2015
Leah H
via mobile
Good for:
  • Outdoor seating
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
Add Photo Write a Review

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015 via mobile

Ordered the butchers burger and it was perfectly cooked with a delicious relish. Compliments to the chef. Friendly staff. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor we are delighted you enjoyed our chargrilled beefburger. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Wareham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

The Half Way Inn was third on our choice of pubs to visit and should have been first. The food was served hot, the staff were attentive and pleasant and the bill was very reasonable. The steak was cooked to perfection after being asked how we liked it cooked and i wanted to swap potatoes for chips which was no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments we are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to The Halfway Inn. Not all of our tables have bench seating - please do not hesitate to ask for chairs on your next visit. More 

Isle of Wight
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

We luckily found this place on a wet and windy January afternoon when looking for a late lunch/ early dinner - all the other pubs had stopped serving food or didn't take dogs. Here, there was a warm welcome from the barman and a cosy fire lit. Our dogs were very welcome, and were even offered a treat, and we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor. The Halfway Inn welcomes dogs anywhere in the pub and garden. We serve food from 12noon throughout the day seven days per week. (We do close our kitchen earlier at 7pm on a Sunday evening during off peak months.) We are glad that you enjoyed our homemade soup and the... More 

Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

We have eaten here previously, on Mother's Day 2024, when the food was good. This time however it was very disappointing. We ordered our food and it arrived within 5 minutes! The food was cold and poor quality. I ordered roast pork, my wife homily pie and the 3 kids had food from the childrens menu. Some of the vegetables... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Assistant Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are very disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and that we did not get a chance to rectify the issue on the day. As you can see from previous posts, we do have a good reputation for our roasts and do hope you will return so... More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Stopped at this place for the first time yesterday after passing it a few times. Had the best Sunday toast dinner I've ever eaten in a pub...ever!! Food was clean, tasty and cooked to perfection. Portion was more than enough for the price. There is a good choice if drinks and other food on the menu. Landlady was lovely and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments , we are delighted you enjoyed your Sunday roast. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Wareham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

9 of us had lunch. 9 very satisfied people. I would definitely recommend. I had great hunter's chicken. Very good vegetarian options. Very comfy surroundings. Helpful, friendly efficient staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor..we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to The Halfway Inn and that we made the start of your New Year so memorable. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

Came here looking for food when everything else in the area of operation was closed down. (typical of Britain) Place is small, and doesn't look at nice as the pictures make it but regardless, it's cozy, quaint, FULL of history, serves GREAT food, and the staff were honestly & friendly. We loved it, and had one of the best meals... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments we are delighted that we were the venue for your "best meal in the UK!" Hope to see you again on a return visit to this country. More 

Swanage, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

We had age range from 16 months to 67!! So we all had different needs for the fifteen of us ! We had lovely meals and for me the duck breast was cooked superbly . The duck came with red cabbage , celeriac mash and as I love my veg I I ordered extra veg .. Perfect , soft stem... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are delighted that you family enjoyed their get together at the Halfway and we will look forward to your return visit in the New Year. More 

Hampshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

We visited here with four friends at lunchtime. We were warmly welcomed into a cosy pub. The menu has a good choice plus an extensive specials board. The staff were friendly and attentive and the service was good. We all enjoyed our meals..

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor. We are delighted you and your friend enjoyed lunch in our cosy pub. The woodburners really do give a warm welcome as do the staff! More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Visited for a quick lunch on my wife's birthday. Good choice on menu and specials board and the food was cooked well. The service was attentive without being too much and on a cold day the woodburner stove was very welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you liked our Specials Board and Menu. Both our woodburning fires are very popular at this time of year. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Travelers who viewed The Halfway Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Halfway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Norden | BH20 5DU, Wareham, England (Formerly Halfway Inn)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Wareham
  • Phone Number: +44 1929 480402

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 15 - 22
  • Cuisine: English, British, Brew Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Outdoor seating

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Halfway Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?