We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Halfway Inn

$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Norden, Wareham BH20 5DU, England (Formerly Halfway Inn)
+44 1929 480402
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for The Halfway Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 311 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 96
    Excellent
  • 112
    Very good
  • 51
    Average
  • 23
    Poor
  • 29
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Good place to stop en route to coast

We stopped here when we were looking for a meal when we had been to Corfe and been unable to get a seat anywhere on Boxing Day. We were able to bring the dog inside which was good. Fish and chips were lovely.

4 of 5 starsReviewed yesterday
annej18
,
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

311 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My Sister & I called in for lunch on 29th Jan....I was very dubious of popping in because of some of the negative reviews........Well, I am so glad we did call in, We WERE AMAZED !!! The service was great & continuous, the young girl was very attentive.... we had a lovely place to sit with a roaring fire &... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lin W
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stopped here when we were looking for a meal when we had been to Corfe and been unable to get a seat anywhere on Boxing Day. We were able to bring the dog inside which was good. Fish and chips were lovely.

Helpful?
Thank annej18
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we have dined here on numerous occasions but its not the best dining experience we have experienced. Food is ok but service is average...

Helpful?
Thank celia340
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
336 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We dropped in a couple of weeks ago when they were full, so having heard it was under new management kept it in mind to come back. The roast pork was a good plateful, with carrots, broccoli, swede, cabbage and parsnip. Potatoes were not as fresh and crispy as they should have been but stuffing ball was good and good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris S
Dorset, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called in Saturday 1.30pm for lunch with a group of 9, without booking.Place was quite busy, but staff responded helpfully, quickly put tables together and got us in. Food was ordered at the bar and all came quickly. There were a couple of mistakes with the soups ordered, but these were dealt with pleasantly and quickly. Portions were generous. Every... More 

Helpful?
Thank funchitect
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Always good food and service, great location after walking the dog at studland or swanage if taking a trip down there. Dog friendly and very relaxed, a frequent lunch spot for us and will continue to be.

Helpful?
Thank Hannah K
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Helpful staff and pleasant venue with tables in a variety of rooms . There is a children's outdoor play area and outdoor seating when weather is good . Good choice of food

Helpful?
Thank Joyce S
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Been here lots of times , always been good. Under new management now .... The Food was terrible .. My daughter was sick after eating the funny tasting pork ...never again !!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie G
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

The Halfway Inn is not under new management! Ben & Anne have been running pubs in the area for 30 years and took over The Halfway Inn in May 2014. You were obviously with the same party as the previous review. Please see our detailed reply to that review below. More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited this pub as a family after a nice walk around swanage. Some of us had been a year or so ago so we decided to give it another go. The service was ok but the food was terrible. I wish I had taken pictures so you could see for yourselves! The garlic mushrooms were a bowl of boiled... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Garfunklex
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

We are obviously sorry that you were disappointed with your visit to The Halfway Inn but feel that many of your comments are unfounded because your food was served in accordance with the description on the menu. Our Garlic mushrooms are cooked Spanish Tapas style as the description on the menu shows "pan fried mushrooms cooked with garlic, parsley, olive... More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016 via mobile

Been here a few times for Sunday lunch & seemed o.k, booked for Christmas Day OMG a rude rip off beware! Obviously try but can't cater for anything other than simple! Supposed to be good with intolerances... A pile of gloop met with the cooked Brie starter, (that's the way they cook it apparently); nothing to help mop it up... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hales73
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this review

I am very surprised to receive such a damning review. Christmas Day as a whole was a success despite being let down by our Assistant Manager who cried off halfway through service very hungover. As I remember, your complaint was that your Rib-Eye steak was over- cooked, and despite being offered a fresh one, you declined. Sadly, we had another... More 

Travelers who viewed The Halfway Inn also viewed

Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to The Halfway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Norden, Wareham BH20 5DU, England (Formerly Halfway Inn)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Wareham
  • Phone Number: +44 1929 480402

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 12 - 36
  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Halfway Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Poole, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Halfway Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?