We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Smuggler's Inn

Pub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Weymouth, Osmington Mills DT3 6HF, England
01305 833 125
Website
Add hours for The Smuggler's Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 479 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 177
    Excellent
  • 149
    Very good
  • 77
    Average
  • 46
    Poor
  • 30
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Lovely pub in idyllic location - a great stop-off for a meal

I've visited The Smugglers Inn a number of times - right back to my childhood - but recent visits have been on family trips to Dorset and it's become a regular stop-off when returning to Swanage from days out further west. The food is fairly standard chain-pub stuff but Hall and Woodhouse seem to... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 16, 2015
MarkAWilson
,
Olney, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Bar scene
  • Romantic
Add Photo Write a Review

479 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melksham, Wilts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015 NEW

Visited this pub on 24th May as a group of 11. We had previously visited the pub for a drink and found it to be very nice in it's idyllic setting. We were seated for our meal and immediately told there was a 45 minute wait for food. After some time our drinks order was taken, and then took a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 NEW

Food is great, and setting and location is lovely too - the place was being refurbed outside, to rebuild the stream which had been ruined by flooding - completely necessary and mentioned on their website so was expected. When we arrived we had to wait for our table, although had already booked it, the people before didn't leave in time.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Community of Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 NEW

this pub does great food, but! do not go without a reservation you wont get in unless you are very lucky, large choice of food all freshly cooked and oh so good. 1 negative point next to no parking as the only car park is council owned and even at night is pretty full, and then the walk to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Olney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

I've visited The Smugglers Inn a number of times - right back to my childhood - but recent visits have been on family trips to Dorset and it's become a regular stop-off when returning to Swanage from days out further west. The food is fairly standard chain-pub stuff but Hall and Woodhouse seem to be a little better than many... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

We decided to take our new dog for a coastal walk from bowleze cove in Weymouth along to this pub at Osmington. Stunning location, parking is along the road, or there is the use of a pay and display, however we walked. Sadly the outer of the pub was subject to building works due to no fault but the land... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milton Keynes, England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

Loved the Gammon & Chips; the Jungle Curry (very hot!) and the cheesey pasta. Good range of wines and the desserts were good. Great view from the car park along the coast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

A fabulous meal and great service. We hadn't booked, but we still offered a small table which was more than sufficient for two of us. All staff were friendly and offered great knowledge regarding the food and even offered a few recommendations. The food itself was beautiful and came to the table piping hot. There are some serious renovations taking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
East Freedom, PA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

We had a really great dinner this past week. Service was top notch. Food quality was excellent and a really good value. Also enjoyed eating in a pub that dates back to the 13th century.

Was this review helpful? Yes
cambridge, england
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

WE only popped in for a quick drink and a portion of chips and it was fine. There was building work going on at the front of the pub to help with the river the runs outside and stop erosion but it hadn't stopped the pub being full when we arrived. Staff were lovely and attentive despite being busy. Menu... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

What a shame that what appears to be a lovely quaint traditional pub was totally ruined by the rude barmaid!! Building work aside, I think there's as much money needed on staff training - we were ignored initially at the bar and then when the barmaid (who was chatting at the other end of the bar) came over she was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hall W, General Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, I am really sorry that your experience with us was so disappointing, we do listen to all feedback as this can only help us to improve, I am very shocked that you have perceived our team here to have been rude because 9 times out of 10 they cannot be faulted for politeness and courtesy. I would also... More 

Travelers who viewed The Smuggler's Inn also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to The Smuggler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Weymouth, Osmington Mills DT3 6HF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Osmington Mills
  • Phone Number: 01305 833 125

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Smuggler's Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?