We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Scott Arms

West Street, Kingston, Corfe Castle, England
Update restaurant details
Ranked #6 of 10 restaurants in Corfe Castle
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: A great pub in an amazing location. Food and drink delicious with a Caribbean BBQ all summer.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    47
    67
    19
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We were driving around after a long walk and passed by The Scott Arms. We decided to pop in for a drink and were astounded by the beautiful view from the (huge) pub garden! Such a lovely pub and we liked it so much that we returned that evening for dinner! We had the burger and steak and were not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Met up for lunch after making a reservation, glad we did! Good choice on the menu for full meals or lighter bites, and some specials. Three of us chose local smoked trout with new potatoes and salad, one local smoked mackerel ditto. Our servings came quite quickly. Plenty of trout, but a rather small amount of mackerel. Slight disappointment that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Perfect day, dog walk followed by lunch at the scott arms, always guaranteed locally sourced, well cooked food. Parents had smoked chesil trout salad which they loved. I enjoyed a delicious pork tenderloin wrapped in parma ham with a cider cream sauce, beautifully cooked. Only comment would be that the chef left the baking parchment on the botttom of my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tadley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed a t a local cottage and pub was just across the road. Food was generally very good, and their Sunday roast is one of the best. When things do go wrong they put it right, very attentive (my steak was overdone - I didn't say anything but waitress noticed and insisted on replacing straight away). We ate there various... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camberley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Ended up here because we could not get into the Castle Inn. Have eaten here 3 times before and have never been disappointed. Only thing to spoil it was the attitude if one member of staff who was waiting in tables. Two others, youngsters, were very good. Shame as that is the memory we o away with. Will give it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here this week and was delighted to find a proper pub that served a great selection of beers and had some fantastic wines. The welcome from the land lord was warm and from the first moment you knew you were going to be looked after. The food was delicious and you are not rushed. They sadly only have two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dorset
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Went with a friend who was paying, this makes complaining difficult. Had trout salad, had to ask for more. The potato was icy cold and black. My conclusion about this pub, if they think your a tourist food is prepared carelessly. If local good. I am local and think they thought I wAs a tourist. This has happened on 4occasions.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DorsetFoodandWine, Owner at The Scott Arms, responded to this review

Dear Violetta Thank you for taking the time to comment on the Scott Arms. We have just changed our smoked trout supplier to Chesil Smokery who produce a fantastic product, it is a bit more expensive than before so I have asked the kitchen to adjust the portions but have noted your thoughts. The potatoes are cold as it is... More

Dorset
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

The place was cold and when we asked for the fire to be lit we were told it was too much effort. The table and floor weren't clean and the service was extremely poor. My vegetables looked as if I'd been give the peelings rather than the good stuff. Found this really sad as we've been going to this pub... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ian C, Owner at The Scott Arms, responded to this review

I am very sorry you had a poor experience on your recent visit. Unfortunately, the boiler failed to start on that morning resulting in the pub not warming up as it should. To make matters worse our cleaner was off ill so we were chasing our tails a bit that morning. We train our staff to be polite and helpful,... More

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We visited in the summer and were disappointed but the visit this time was much better - possibly because it was quieter Good service and the food was very nice although my chicken main course was not as described on the menu

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We ate at the Scott Arms for the 4th time on Saturday, and as usual, we really enjoyed it. our waitress, Cathy, was friendly and attentive, and the food was good. some good local ales on tap as well which always helps. All topped off by stunning views to Corfe Castle.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Scott Arms also viewed

Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to The Scott Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Scott Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing