We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Castle Inn

63 East Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5EE, England
01929 480208
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Corfe Castle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: They don't have a website as far as I know. They are a pub with a restaurant in it.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    209
    88
    17
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cullercoats, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 NEW

Had family lunch here on a busy Thursday during school hols. Luckily we didn't arrive until around 2 so no problem getting a table. The interior is beautiful with lots of colours lights, kids loved it. Whilst we waited for food the kids had a quick play in the garden - no slides etc but still nice with chickens wandering... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 NEW via mobile

We went here for a Sunday roast after the heavens opened and all the other pubs were full. It was a little gem. The food was delicious and plentiful and the staff were very friendly. It was the best pub we went into all week.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
castlecorfe, Landlaord at The Castle Inn, responded to this review

Everyone elses loss was clearly our gain. Pleased you enjoyed your lunch. We look forward to seeing you again now you know where we are. More

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 NEW

We visited the Castle Inn on Tuesday 25/8/14 on an evening more like November than August. As we walked in our spirits rose as we saw a busy bustling Pub with happy people in it. The decor is not for the faint hearted with red checked table cloths and fairy lights in the ceiling - but don't let that put... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
castlecorfe, Landlord at The Castle Inn, responded to this review

What a lovely review, thank you. Sorry about the weather, late August has not been kind to those coming for a summer holiday! I'm sure that someone as positive as yourself however would have a goodtime whatever the weather. Be great to see you next year! More

Bourne End, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 NEW

Good home cooked food. More a restaurant and not a drinking pub, but great garden out the back with animals for the kids to look at - rabbits etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
castlecorfe, Landlord at The Castle Inn, responded to this review

Great review thanks. Yes, at peak periods we are more restaurant, but do our best to try and look after everyone. Thanks again for taking the time to post your review. More

Malvern Wells
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 NEW

This Inn is bursting with character and charm. All the staff were so hospitable and polite even when under pressure at a busy period, nothing was too much trouble. Good food and ales, the garden is excellent for the kids to run around, chickens and guinea pigs to see and loved the outside eating space under the canopy and vines.......a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
castlecorfe, Landlady at The Castle Inn, responded to this review

We are so pleased that we were able to be part of your great day. Reading reviews like yours make the hard work of the whole team so worthwhile. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the trip advisor community. More

Stoke on Trent
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Arrived early one evening and was lucky to get a table. By 6.30 the pub was heaving. Had venison sausages with mash - was good and reasonably priced. The pub is very old and the decor quirky. Not really a place to sit and relax as was full of young children as they have a magician who moves around the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
castlecorfe, Landlord at The Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review and pleased that you appear to have enjoyed your visit. Corfe Castle is a magical place and hence peolple of all ages come to see it. If you come back on a November evening you may sit and relax in front of an open fire, with hardly a child in sight.... More

Market Deeping, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Read some previous reviews on tripadvisor and was expecting something exceptional and special. Well it's not in my book, now don't get me wrong the food was very good and the young, obviously summer season staff were very friendly and actually very good at what they did but on our visit it was swarming with children as they have a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
castlecorfe, Landlord at The Castle Inn, responded to this review

Well I think you have answered most of your own points. You visited us in August and we are a family dining establishment, hence a lot of children. If you want to avoid the children, I suggest visiting outside of childrens holidays and a little later in the evening. As for the garlic bread, its a difficult one; crispy or... More

Essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Really nice old-fashioned little pub. Really nice lunch, with a huge platter of mixed appetisers. Thatchers gold on tap! Marvellous.

Was this review helpful? Yes
castlecorfe, Landlord at The Castle Inn, responded to this review

Sounds like you had a great time, as cider drinkers normally do of course. Thanks for taking the time to write your review, it's much appreciated. More

Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We hadn't been here for a few years and the decor inside is quite different. However, still the quaint stone walls and flagstone floors, thank goodness. We were surprised and lucky to get a parking space, as usually when we pass by, it is full. Not sure about the red & white checked table cloths but the staff are very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
castlecorfe, Landlord at The Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments. Especially the bit about the red and white tableclothes. My wifes not keen, she prefers white. I love their informal, rustic look. Perhaps anyone else reading this could give their opinion as the jury is obvio0usly out on this one. Thanks again, Mark the Landlord. More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We ordered the olives to start and they were pretty rank , however the main course was lovely nice ambience

Was this review helpful? Yes
castlecorfe, Landlord at The Castle Inn, responded to this review

Well, I'm not sure what went wrong with the olives, but we are investigating.( Would have helped if you had pointed it out at the time.) We try to stock only the best, so are bemused. We can only apologise. We only hope it didn't detract too much from your experience. Next time your passing, do call in for a... More

Travelers who viewed The Castle Inn also viewed

Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing