We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riverside Restaurant

West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EZ, England
+44 (0)1308 422011
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #9 of 97 restaurants in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Price range: $1 - $100
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    144
    53
    18
    15
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nuneaton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 NEW

We were lucky to get a last minute reservation here on a Sat for 6.45pm because by 7.30pm it was packed. We each opted for a large seafood platter and they certainly were huge with hunks of lobster, crab, large prawns and a variety of other shellfish. We were surprised when it was accompanied by just two bread rolls "to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

A birthday treat from my father in law. I will need to stay in his good books by continuing to treat his daughter well. This restaurant know how to serve quality seafood. Ok a bit above what we would normally spend but well worth it. I am not going to give our selection as I am confident all the seafood... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bridport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Hadn't been to the Riverside for a couple of years - returning this March I was disappointed. The food was good quality and well cooked but the portions were small and the dishes were expensive. I find it difficult to understand how two lemon sole fillets can cost over £40! The service was fine but inexperienced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
redchilly123, Owner at Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

For complete accuracy we feel it is important to point out that it was two full lemon sole meals and not just two lemon sole fillets as suggested in the review. More

Buckingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We had a great meal here on Valentines Day amid a pretty dreadful storm. The water was flooded up over the walkway across to the restaurant, so it was a pretty hectic evening, but even so, we had a lovely evening, and excellent food. Service was a little patchy but that was understandable on the night! Really good menu, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
oxford
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I had not visited the Riverside for about fifteen years. It was always my favourite and continually gave the wow factor. How disappointed I was when I visited last week with my Mother. The set menu was certainly not the cheapest but we were more than happy to pay as we were expecting the best. The starter was simple, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bridport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Lunch at the Riverside is actually no more expensive than prices at many 'gastro pubs' these days, where food can be all show but not great quality. The food at the Riverside is always fresh and beautifully cooked. You leave feeling it was worth every penny. It's a charming setting for an evening meal on a special occasion.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bridport, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Having heard so many glowing reports for this place we must have caught the chef on a bad day. We found the fish bland and very expensive. Wont be going back

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bridport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The food here is delicious and the last time I was here was for our Ruby Anniversary. We had a wonderful evening. Unfortunately I can no longer afford it on my pension.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Just had another super lunch at the Riverside. My family and I have been coming here for many years and we always leave feeling happy and pleased. Although they have an extensive menu I just cant stop ordering the sea food salad! The salad is basically a platter but without oysters and when ordered with sauteed potatoes its a stunning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Just here for the weekend, it's the first place we book, great location, happy staff . And a working boss who's got time for a friendly chat...... Can't wait to go back!! George

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Riverside Restaurant also viewed

West Bay, Bridport
Bridport, Dorset
 

Been to Riverside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing