We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Mill

Vegetarian, English, Pub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Ossaborough Lane, Woolacombe EX34 7HJ, England
+44 1271 870237
Website
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Quick Bites, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 142 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 49
    Excellent
  • 40
    Very good
  • 30
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Good food

Nice and friendly, good selection of food and drinks. Fast service. Family friendly with nice puddings :-D

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 22, 2015
tizzie25
,
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015 NEW

Nice and friendly, good selection of food and drinks. Fast service. Family friendly with nice puddings :-D

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Old M, General Manager at The Old Mill, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback which is always greatly appreciated Neil and The Old Mill team More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

This pub is situated on the road between the 2 halves of the Woolacombe Bay caravan Park. That being said it is open to members of the public also.. Very reasonably priced and as the title read it serves good honest Pub Grub and it serves it well. They do a carver on a sunday and will have other themed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Old M, Manager at The Old Mill, responded to this review

We're pleased that you keep on returning to The Old Mill and also glad that you enjoy our live entertainment events which we hold throughout the summer. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to try out our new daily menu specials Many thanks, Neil and The Old Mill team More 

Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

We stayed at Europa Park, so only a 5 minute walk for us. Great service, great food. Dog friendly too. The staff here actually engage in conversation, a skill sadly lacking these days. Refreshing to see. We had 2 meals here during our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trevor D, General Manager at The Old Mill, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable experience with us all and thank you for your lovely comments and feedback. We are proud of our team and prefer for our customers to become our friends, we’re pleased this was the case for your family Many thanks, Neil and The Old Mill team More 

devon
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015 via mobile

Loved this place!! Very relaxing enjoying the sunshine... Kids loved play area!! Real ales were great!! Could imagine this place gets packed out in the summer!! Will defiantly be heading here again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The Old M, General Manager at The Old Mill, responded to this review

We look forward to you joining us again to enjoy our range of real ales, great food and for the kids to have hours of fun on the play area. Thanks for your comments, it is much appreciated Many thanks, Neil and The Old Mill team More 

Braunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

What a lovely pub under excellent new management. Kids and dogs are welcome and there's an amazing play area which kept the children (of a variety of ages) entertained for hours. The food arrived quickly and was yummy (especially the chips!) and my son loved his vegetarian burger. There was a great relaxed atmosphere and all the staff were helpful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The Old M, General Manager at The Old Mill, responded to this review

We look forward to you joining us again to enjoy our range of real ales, great food and for the kids to have hours of fun on the play area. Thanks for your comments, it is much appreciated Many thanks, Neil and The Old Mill team More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

Great play area for kids, excellent location, massively overpriced though and food well below average, everything microwaved just about so. Had a pack of bacon fries, usually about 60 to 70p in the local pub, £1.15 here, just sums up the rip off nature of this place. If they actually hired a chef, and stopped buying in the microwaved ready... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Old M, General Manager at The Old Mill, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we take our customers comments seriously indeed We are sorry if you feel that your meals were microwaved, our meals are cooked to order by our team of chef’s using various cooking methods, including Sous Vide (water bath) and delivered to table as swiftly as we can to ensure you have a great experience with... More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Looks lovely outside, standard inside, nice staff, poor food. The food is way overpriced for the quality of it. I would expect this to be a two for £10 kind of place seeing as all four dishes we had were microwaved (even my chicken) and the only fresh thing was a side salad! To be fair to the 2 for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Old M, Manager at The Old Mill, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit. We are sorry you feel our food is overpriced, however our prices are in line with the local area and our food is all cooked to order by our team of chef’s, as such we apologise if you feel that your meals were microwaved meals, happily though this is not the... More 

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

your typical rubbish chain style pub, self service, no atmosphere, food poorly cooked and more like a fast food site

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Old M, General Manager at The Old Mill, responded to this review

We are saddened that you felt the service and food weren’t up to your expectations during your recent visit, we take our customers feedback seriously indeed and act upon it to ensure we improve on any shortcomings Our food offering is freshly prepared to order and we are disappointed you felt it was poorly cooked. This is not the level... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Visited the Old Mill for a carvery at Sunday lunchtime and were blown away at the quantity and quality of the food available - will definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The Old M, General Manager at The Old Mill, responded to this review

Wow! It’s fantastic to read such lovely comments and we are more than happy to make sure you always have a great time with us Many thanks, Neil and The Old Mill team More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

nicely presented, olde world style from the outside, with good selection of beers and food, nice play area for the children, with climbing frames and such, pleasant outside drinking/eating area, and with live music on certain nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The Old M, General Manager at The Old Mill, responded to this review

Thanks for the great feedback and we are pleased your family had a good time with us. Our outdoor play area and seating areas are a real winner for families and we are glad you could make use of these Our live music programme runs throughout the summer with a great variety of live acts playing, please check our Facebook... More 

Travelers who viewed The Old Mill also viewed

Woolacombe, Devon
 

Been to The Old Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Ossaborough Lane, Woolacombe EX34 7HJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Woolacombe
  • Phone Number: +44 1271 870237

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Vegetarian, English, Pub
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Mill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?