We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bath House

The Esplanade, Exmouth, England
+44 1395 265030
Improve this listing
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ranked #74 of 112 restaurants in Exmouth
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    61
    43
    39
    29
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 NEW

The drinks and staff were fine, but £9.80 for a pack of cigarettes, £9.80 its that shocking I have not slept since, I walked maybe 50 steps to a londis shop and paid less than £7 for a full pack, not 19, 18 or even 16, but a full box of 20, they really should serve them to you wearing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath House E, Manager at The Bath House, responded to this review

Thank-you for sharing your experience, observations and views with us .I am disappointed to see that our cost of cigarettes is above your expectations. We are company owned and I will be passing your concerns onto our purchasing team. I am very grateful to you for raising these issues with us here at The Bath House. Kind regards, Roy Manager More

Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Been to the bath house a few times and always fails to get it right. Last time we had a chocolate brownie Sundae but there was no chocolate ice cream in it. Today I had a 5oz steak. Over cooked, chewy and bland. Tables dirty and only one till taking food orders. Not the best.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath House E, General Manager at The Bath House, responded to this review

First and foremost I wish to extend my sincere apologies for the poor experience that you feel you have experienced with us here at The Bath House. Your comments have been shared with my team of managers. I'm sorry to see that you feel our customer service and food does not meet your expectation's but here at The Bath House... More

Honiton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We went in on a busy lunch, I queued at the bar with a lot of other people. When the lady in front on me got to be served she was told to go to another till! Even tho the man infront had ordered his food at the bar! There was no sign above this till to mark it as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath House E, General Manager at The Bath House, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for raising your concerns with us. After reading about your experience with us here at The Bath House I have discussed your comments with my team and we are now looking into the possibility of removing the food till and using all the till points to place both a drink and food orders. We... More

Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Good old Hungry Horse.. apart from portion control on the chips .. and one poor server taking food orders on a busy Saturday night, they don't let you down. Good menu choices (new menu) great service times and well cooked food. Could maybe do with 'table clear downs & reset' being a bit quicker but the turnover of customers was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath House E, General Manager at The Bath House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide such valuable feedback.We were very pleased to know that you enjoyed your meal with us. A new summer team are now in full swing and aware of the other comments that you have made. We are working very hard on the points you have raised to ensure this doesn't happen again. We... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Wrote a great review recently, but what has gone wrong since then? Ate two meals inside, both occasions had poor quality food even taking account of the prices Then had food and drink outside, well it was horrible. The tables were dirty and some had old bird poo on them. The floor was filthy. Seagulls were attacking uncleared plates and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath House E, General Manager at The Bath House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review with regards to your most recent visit with us here at The Bath House Your feedback is sincerely appreciated and please be rest assured all of your comments have been duly noted and will be reviewed with my entire team at our next team meeting. I have taken all of... More

Walsall, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Had a great meal here and very cheap staff were very helpful and the drinks were also cheap ,would recommend for a evening meal out

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath House E, General Manager at The Bath House, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our staff, service and value for food. They will be passed onto all team members. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Many thanks, Roy Manager More

Exmouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I have to use 100 characters to describe the bathhouse, So as you can probahly tell I'm wasting a few here and probably my time because they won't change. I have to agree with all the bad reviews on the bathhouse just save the time of writing my own. I have noticed the management has responded to some of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath House E, General Manager at The Bath House, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your personal experience and observations with us here on Trip Advisor. I would like to apologise as I can see that you feel our service and standards are not up to your expectations. Be assured that we are always looking for new ways improve our standards and we are always striving for the best outcome for... More

Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Had been recommended by staff at holiday to try restaurant next door, but was shut and found tjislovely pub next door and we were starving, loads of choice, quick service, lots of offers, andfoodwas tasty and well cooked, nice outside view of the beach and espanade, warning if sitting out side look out for the seagulls lol ! They lisrened... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath House E, General Manager at The Bath House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your meals with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Roy Manager More

Neath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Excellent position on the sea front therefore I expect it get's a lot of passing trade from the holiday makers. You get exactly what you expect from a chain restaurant-large menu-ordinary food at competitive prices. For me I have a steak and I wish I had chosen something else, it was tasteless as if it had not been seasoned properly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath House E, General Manager at The Bath House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and to make us aware of what we can do to improve our standards and service. We appreciate your comments and we will take it on board. We would also like to apologise that you feel we never met your expectations with regards to your meal. We are continuing to... More

Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Excellent pub which catches the sun in the afternoon and evening and has a nice beer garden at the front. It also has a relaxed atmosphere. I can't comment on the food but it looked good from all the dishes I saw coming out and two people I spoke to said it was great..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath House E, General Manager at The Bath House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our page. We'll make the team aware. We look forward to welcoming you back soon Many thanks, Roy Manager More

Travelers who viewed The Bath House also viewed

 
Exmouth, Devon
Lympstone, Exmouth
 
Lympstone, Exmouth
Lympstone, Exmouth
 

Been to The Bath House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bath House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing