We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Highwaymans Haunt

Old Exeter Rd, Chudleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 0DE, England
01626 853250
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 9 restaurants in Chudleigh
Cuisines: English, British, Pub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Gordon and Jacqui are pleased to welcome you to their traditional 13th Century Country Inn.Since acquiring the Inn with their family back in August 2012 they have worked hard to return the hostelry back to it's traditional country inn ways.Nestled in 4 acres of pasture land and paddocks, just on the outskirts of the town of Chudleigh, the Inn has beautiful views looking out over the Devon hills. A real countryside location for a traditional country inn.Sit back and enjoy your drink, and a meal maybe, whilst the children can play on our purpose built play tower situated on the lawns.With a warm welcome for all - including your dogs, even your horse!Families and 'mucky boot' friendly...we look forward to welcoming you soon.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    84
    49
    23
    22
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 NEW

What a big disappointment this place was ! Lack lustre food in a luck lustre atmosphere , it's sad,we used to love this pub,the setting is glorious but that's where it ends. A starter of smoked Mackerel was just that, a fillet of Makerel cut in half on top of Watercress with a teaspoon of Beetroot on the side,it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GordonBeeson, Owner at Highwaymans Haunt, responded to this review

Thank you for your curious and somewhat damning review. I cannot understand your comment about the smoked mackerel starter when you state 'it was just that'. What were you expecting, a cold turkey sandwich? In my seventy years on this planet I've never had a 'tasteless' smoked mackerel ! Our fresh fish is delivered daily and our fish pie, one... More

Torquay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Having read previous reviews I was unsure about going. However was pleasantly surprised by good service and good food

Was this review helpful? Yes
GordonBeeson, Owner at Highwaymans Haunt, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind comments. It just goes to show, you can't always believe everything you read. When I was younger I used to try pubs out myself (there was nothing like Tripadvisor then !!). If I liked the pub, I went back, if I didn't like it, I didn't go back, but I didn't tell the world. We all... More

Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stopped here on the off chance whilst returning from a visit,it was a Sunday afternoon and a table was available, the main course roast was very nice. However whilst we were presented with the dessert menu(only a few available choices as most appeared to have been sold out), the waitress failed to return to take our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GordonBeeson, Owner at Highwaymans Haunt, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for the positive comments you made. However regarding the sweets being sold out, I would add that this was due to having had one of the busiest weekends since being here (nearly two years). Your arrival was late Sunday afternoon and we were unable to replace what you asked for. Regarding your comments about the staff, I'm... More

Launceston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Popped in for a quick lunch & were pleasantly surprised. Attractive building that is nicely done inside with a mixture of old & new. Prompt friendly service & nice food at a reasonable price. Not been before but will almost certainly return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GordonBeeson, Owner at Highwaymans Haunt, responded to this review

We are always delighted to hear such comments. I will pass this review to our staff who are always appreciative that you take the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you soon. More

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful setting, friendly staff and the most delicious veggie option on the Roast I've ever had! thoroughly enjoyed it

Was this review helpful? Yes
GordonBeeson, Owner at Highwaymans Haunt, responded to this review

It's comments like yours that makes it all worth while, thank you More

Carlisle
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We had previously called a couple of times for coffee in the morning and met both Gordon and Jaquie who are very pleasant hosts. As we had not had a meal here since the previous owners left we decided to give it a try on last Saturday before England's first game against Italy. The staff of young girls are brilliant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GordonBeeson, Owner at Highwaymans Haunt, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your kind comments, but judging by our previous report, our belly pork seems to be a problem. I have asked our Chef if he is cooking it differently, he said 'No', but as he pointed out to me, this is has been our favourite 'Special', and over 200 have been served over the previous fortnight without complaint.... More

Monmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The evening started well with myself , my Wife, my Son and my daughter-in-law visiting a restaurant we had enjoyed previously. We ordered 3 portions of the crispy Pork Belly on the specials board, when it arrived the crispy crackling was neither crispy or crackling. On complaining my son was told it was crispy when it left the kitchen and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GordonBeeson, Owner at Highwaymans Haunt, responded to this review

Hi, I am disappointed too, having spent time with you in the bar discussing the England performances in the World Cup. I don't think you realised that when you were dining Jacqui, my partner, and I were also eating,sitting behind you in the restaurant. We observed, along with others, what happened on your table. Your son was not happy with... More

Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My boyfriend and I popped in for late lunch today. Loads of parking, beautiful building, great service... even a lovely acoustic solo artist playing live. Food was prompt and delicious. My boyfriend had a burger and a side of garlic ciabatta, and I had the mushroom, spinach and hazelnut wellington. My only criticism is that there is only one vegetarian... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GordonBeeson, Owner at Highwaymans Haunt, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your kind comments and yes, the music was good, wasn't it. You were right about more dishes for vegetarians. Normally there is a better choice, but being a very busy Sunday, with the Sunday Roasts (which includes a vegetarian option), plus the normal daily lunch time menu, not to mention the specials board, there was quite a... More

Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We happened to pass this little beauty by chance on out journey down to Plymouth. It was around lunchtime and we were looking for a place to stop. When we passed their big signpost on the main road. Plenty of car parking available and a very friendly welcome on our arrival. There was a lovely menu with lots of choice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GordonBeeson, Owner at Highwaymans Haunt, responded to this review

It seems our crab baguette is very popular. Somebody, who appears as totally unrelated, wrote a similar report yesterday (please read my response to that). Hope you enjoyed your '50th.Birthday'. More

Teignmouth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Bar and food service excellent Very tasty food served by friendly attentive staff. Lovely location, will be back with our grandchildren later in the summer Ann P

Was this review helpful? Yes
GordonBeeson, Owner at Highwaymans Haunt, responded to this review

We look forward to meeting the grandchildren, who can enjoy, not only the food, but also our extensive play area and towers. Thank you for your kind comments More

Travelers who viewed Highwaymans Haunt also viewed

Chudleigh, Dartmoor National Park
Chudleigh, Dartmoor National Park
 
Trusham, Newton Abbot
Chudleigh Knighton, Devon
 

Been to Highwaymans Haunt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highwaymans Haunt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing