We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Chudleigh Restaurants

Highwaymans Haunt

Old Exeter Rd, Chudleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 0DE, England
01626 853250
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 9 Restaurants in Chudleigh
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Cuisines: English, British, Pub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Gordon and Jacqui are pleased to welcome you to their traditional 13th Century Country Inn.Since acquiring the Inn with their family back in August 2012 they have worked hard to return the hostelry back to it's traditional country inn ways.Nestled in 4 acres of pasture land and paddocks, just on the outskirts of the town of Chudleigh, the Inn has beautiful views looking out over the Devon hills. A real countryside location for a traditional country inn.Sit back and enjoy your drink, and a meal maybe, whilst the children can play on our purpose built play tower situated on the lawns.With a warm welcome for all - including your dogs, even your horse!Families and 'mucky boot' friendly...we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Hotels travelers are raving about...

Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    65
    30
    24
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015 NEW

Was like stepping back into the bad old 1970's or 80's catering experience in England....Ordered the Sunday Roast which arrived in short order.... The Pork Roast taste and presentation reminded me of School Dinners from the 1960's...A long wait for the desserts. Only given Average as opposed to Poor has had been prewarned the whole experience would be like eating... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Honiton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

Called in here with my son in law for a meal while we were in the area and had a first class meal each in lovely settings. Staff were very cheerful and friendly and the service was good,nice log fires on a cold day and good choice of beers.Would definitely go back if I was in the area again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GordonBeeson, Owner at Highwaymans Haunt, responded to this review

Your kind comments make it all worth while, thank you More 

Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

Have visited many times, mainly in the summer months. The location is exceptional and the place itself is very pretty. The staff are always friendly and willing to go the extra mile. Went there just after christmas and had lunch. I hate to say this, but the christmas menu left a little to be desired. However the ambience, the tasteful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GordonBeeson, Owner at Highwaymans Haunt, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I'm nor quite sure what you meant about your Christmas Menu, needing 'a little to be desired', as this proved a great success according to our other customers. Next time you're in ask for me, Gordon, to discuss 'the problem'. I will enjoy a good chat. More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

Had the Thai Green Curry. It was the worst curry I have ever had. hardly any taste to it & it was so watery have had thicker consommé!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GordonBeeson, Owner at Highwaymans Haunt, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't like the curry. Thank goodness we all have different taste buds, I don't like liver, but with onion gravy and mash , it's one of our best sellers, but I don't slag the place off because I don't like liver. With reference to your comments, I personally enjoyed the flavour of the Thai green curry, and one... More 

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Myself, partner & son came here to eat on the 30th December 2014 & we loved it so much we brought my dad back with us to eat again here on the 2nd Jan 2015! Lovely friendly staff with a wonderful black resident cat called jack, what a beauty. The pub/restaurant is a very old building with a lot of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GordonBeeson, Owner at Highwaymans Haunt, responded to this review

Wow! That's about all I can say to your fantastic and very full report. Jack and all the crew would like to thank you, and we look forward to seeing you soon. More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

Both myself and my family have visited the Highwayman's Haunt on many occasions over the last twenty or so years as it is in a glorious location and the food is reasonably priced and the staff polite and professional. However I was very disappointed to find that having booked a lunch there on 21 December 2014 for thirteen folk, including... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GordonBeeson, Owner at Highwaymans Haunt, responded to this review

I'm sorry about your disappointment at your party last Saturday, of which two of your 'thirteen folk' were in high chairs. I take on board your comments, but throughout December we offer a specific four choice main course Christmas Dinner, with another choice of a 2 or 3 course,(starter/sweet, including Christmas Pudding) or our normal daily menu. The Christmas offer... More 

Widecombe in the Moor, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

Food poor quality though pricey, took ages to arrive although the place wasn't busy, staff disinterested and unhelpful. Won't be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GordonBeeson, Owner at Highwaymans Haunt, responded to this review

I cannot understand this one!! Your review is dated 16/12/14 but your visit was in September. If you look at all the twenty reviews since then you're grossly outnumbered with your critical comments. The food is NOT pricey (check out our website www.thehighwaymanshaunt.com for menu prices) everyone thinks the atmosphere is great, which it is, and the staff are known... More 

Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

Glad we decided to go to the Highwaymans, its had a bit of a poor rep lately, however we were very pleased with our choice, its a great setting and the restaurant is nicely laid out with the tables not too close together, although not very busy the service and food were excellent. I would definitely recommend and will be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GordonBeeson, Owner at Highwaymans Haunt, responded to this review

I'm not sure what you mean by 'a bit of a poor rep lately'. If you are going by the Tripadvisor scale for the last three months, we have receive 18 reviews, one of these were given three stars, which should have been five stars (due to a Tripadvisor error in counting, see my response 22/11/14), six were four stars... More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

first time for us in this delightful old pub, we had the traditional Sunday lunch, the staff made us very welcome, fast service yet never felt rushe,along with a good pint what more could you ask from a Sunday in the West Country. Don't miss this one its a winner!

Was this review helpful? Yes
GordonBeeson, Owner at Highwaymans Haunt, responded to this review

Praise indeed, thank you. I'll show this to all the staff who welcomed you for your Sunday Lunch. Look forward to seeing you again soon, Taunton is not that far. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014 via mobile

I stopped near the Highwaymans Haunt on a recent visit from France.Lovely welcome, very attentive staff and a meal to die for.Made coming back to france a tough choice.Will definatly be going back next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GordonBeeson, Owner at Highwaymans Haunt, responded to this review

Bon appetite for next year, hope to see you. More 

Travelers who viewed Highwaymans Haunt also viewed

Chudleigh Knighton, Devon
Chudleigh, Dartmoor National Park
 
Newton Abbot, Devon
Chudleigh, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Highwaymans Haunt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highwaymans Haunt

Address: Old Exeter Rd, Chudleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 0DE, England
Phone Number: 01626 853250
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Dartmoor National Park  >  Chudleigh
Open Hours:
Sunday 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Cuisine: English, British, Pub, Family Fare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Highwaymans Haunt and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Highwaymans Haunt staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?