We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Highwaymans Haunt

British, English, Pub, Family Fare
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Old Exeter Rd, Chudleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 0DE, England
01626 853250
Website
Today
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Gordon and Jacqui are pleased to welcome you to their traditional 13th...
Gordon and Jacqui are pleased to welcome you to their traditional 13th Century Country Inn.Since acquiring the Inn with their family back in August 2012 they have worked hard to return the hostelry back to it's traditional country inn ways.Nestled in 4 acres of pasture land and paddocks, just on the outskirts of the town of Chudleigh, the Inn has beautiful views looking out over the Devon hills. A real countryside location for a traditional country inn.Sit back and enjoy your drink, and a meal maybe, whilst the children can play on our purpose built play tower situated on the lawns.With a warm welcome for all - including your dogs, even your horse!Families and 'mucky boot' friendly...we look forward to welcoming you soon.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 271 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 109
    Excellent
  • 70
    Very good
  • 32
    Average
  • 27
    Poor
  • 33
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Pleasant pub

Lovely building,good parking spaces, plenty of space at rear of pub for children to play. Internal decor clean and tidy. Drinks on the pricey side.Fish pie piping hot, not sure if it was freshly made or microwaved.

3 of 5 starsReviewed May 11, 2015
Brian H
Good for:
  • Local cuisine
Add Photo Write a Review

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
weston-super-mare
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 NEW

very old establishment and very friendly owners , good food and wines beers ect beautiful surroundings

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015 via mobile

probably a very nice Resturant, but on this occasion the food was not great and the staff would not accept any criticism. The only good thing about our visit was they forgot to charge us for 1 bottle of over priced white wine, so making the inflated price of the bill a little better on the wallet than first thought.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GordonBeeson, Owner at Highwaymans Haunt, responded to this review

Mr. T. Connor, our young waiter didn't take criticism, he took abuse, from a very aggressive couple. It shows what you are like by admitting not paying for the 'overpriced' wine at £14.75 for the bottle. Sorry, but don't bother coming back to pay for it. More 

Shaldon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

11 of us had pre-booked a table to celebrate my 70th birthday at 12.30 on 1st May. Orders were taken for both starters and mains at 1.10pm after finding that half the items on the menu were not available and numerous trips back and forward to the kitchen to find alternatives. (apparently a delivery was late). The pub was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GordonBeeson, Owner at Highwaymans Haunt, responded to this review

It's strange how one person can influence all the others. The facts as I was told were as follows . Ten were booked in for 12.30 and eleven turned up, no problem to us. However three didn't arrive until 1.10 when the order was taken. You are correct that, being a Bank Holiday, our main food supplier didn't arrive until... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Lovely building,good parking spaces, plenty of space at rear of pub for children to play. Internal decor clean and tidy. Drinks on the pricey side.Fish pie piping hot, not sure if it was freshly made or microwaved.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GordonBeeson, Owner at Highwaymans Haunt, responded to this review

This is a strange one !! Full or praise then... we don't have Witherspoon prices, for sure, and our fish pies are made on the premises daily and cooked in the oven (not microwaved, as suggested). After all this commendation ... and only three stars ??? More 

Sittingbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

Nice old Pub/Restaurant with local history. Not the most comfortably but good for an evening meal or lunch. Staff were very friendly and welcoming but table service was a little on the slow side - felt forgotten at times. Food was good but not outstanding and may have been better if service was quicker!

Was this review helpful? Yes
GordonBeeson, Owner at Highwaymans Haunt, responded to this review

Not quite sure about 'not comfortable', but thanks for your effort anyway. More 

Cullompton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Excellent meal only yards off A38, anyone looking to stop on the way to Plymouth/ Cornwall should consider here. Good garden with an excellent play area for children.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GordonBeeson, Owner at Highwaymans Haunt, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive and welcome comments. More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

We had a family celebration lunch on Easter Sunday when it was very busy. We were all very impressed by the care and attention we received. The Sunday roast was gorgeous and served very quickly considering there were 10 of us on a busy Sunday. there were 5 children in our group who were made to feel very welcome. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GordonBeeson, Owner at Highwaymans Haunt, responded to this review

We're all glad you had a great time. Hope to see you all again soon, More 

Southport, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Great, friendly place, kids love running around outside. This is our 4th visit- family of 6-we love it

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GordonBeeson, Owner at Highwaymans Haunt, responded to this review

Glad the kids enjoyed it. You're all most welcome. More 

Chudleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

This place could be fantastic. The staff are welcoming and the scampi is ok. We never seem to find anything out of the ordinary on the menu. Nice place for a drink with friends, but hardly a knock out when it comes to food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GordonBeeson, Owner at Highwaymans Haunt, responded to this review

This place IS fantastic. Our menu is varied and changes regularly with our 'Specials Board'. Thanks for your observations, though. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015 via mobile

I'd heard really good things about the highwayman, but have to say we were very disappointed. Poor customer service, a long wait on food, dirty and unprepared tables.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GordonBeeson, Owner at Highwaymans Haunt, responded to this review

This is your first Tripadvisor Review. "I don't believe it". You come on 15/03/15, Mother's Day, we had 340 covers and when everyone else told us it was brilliant and were full of praise, I too, am disappointed......about your comments. Is there a hidden agenda here? More 

Travelers who viewed Highwaymans Haunt also viewed

Chudleigh Knighton, Devon
Chudleigh, Dartmoor National Park
 
Chudleigh, Dartmoor National Park
Newton Abbot, Devon
 

Been to Highwaymans Haunt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Old Exeter Rd, Chudleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 0DE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Dartmoor National Park  >  Chudleigh
  • Phone Number: 01626 853250

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, English, Pub, Family Fare

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine

Description

Gordon and Jacqui are pleased to welcome you to their traditional 13th Century Country Inn.Since acquiring the Inn with their family back in August 2012 they have worked hard to return the hostelry back to it's traditional country inn ways.Nestled in 4 acres of pasture land and paddocks, just on the outskirts of the town of Chudleigh, the Inn has beautiful views looking out over the Devon hills. A real countryside location for a traditional country inn.Sit back and enjoy your drink, and a meal maybe, whilst the children can play on our purpose built play tower situated on the lawns.With a warm welcome for all - including your dogs, even your horse!Families and 'mucky boot' friendly...we look forward to welcoming you soon.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Highwaymans Haunt and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Highwaymans Haunt staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?