We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wellington Boot Havelet Grill & Saddle Bar

Certificate of Excellence
International
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Havelet, Havelet, St Peter Port, St Peter Port GY1 1BA
01481 722199
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Wellington Boot Havelet Grill & Saddle Bar and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Dining in the Best Western Hotel in Havelet.

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 93 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 60
    Excellent
  • 20
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Excellent restaurant

The quality and variety of the food served at this restaurant and grill was top notch. It tends to be very busy so make an advance reservation earlier in the day. The service was excellent and very friendly. The ambience was quite casual and appropriate for a nice vacation spot.

5 of 5 starsReviewed September 1, 2015
Muffiemaya
,
Chicago, Illinois
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015 NEW

The quality and variety of the food served at this restaurant and grill was top notch. It tends to be very busy so make an advance reservation earlier in the day. The service was excellent and very friendly. The ambience was quite casual and appropriate for a nice vacation spot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guernsey
Level Contributor
329 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015

Great, inexpensive food served in the Saddle Bar. As always with the Havelet the service was impeccable and very friendly. It is a very traditional venue but there is absolutely nothing wrong with traditional when it is done to such a high standard. Please keep up the good work.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Wellington Boot Havelet Grill & Saddle Bar, responded to this review

Thank you very much for recommending our Saddle Bar to other TripAdvisor readers. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and it was a great satisfaction to know that you had a great dining experience, including the food quality and the service provided. We all find your kind compliments very rewarding and I can assure you we... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015

Absolutely brilliant night. From the champagne reception in the downstairs bar, to the meal in the upstairs restaurant, the service was excellent.and the staff very attentive. The food was faultless. The 3 course set menu was good value - - and when they brought out the cake they dimmed the lights in our part of the restaurant and put a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Wellington Boot Havelet Grill & Saddle Bar, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience with other TripAdvisor readers. As our Guest satisfaction is of utmost importance to us, I was delighted to read your feedback and know that you had a great evening in our restaurant, I am pleased that we managed to make your celebrations of 25th Wedding Anniversary special. We... More 

guernsey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

We went for a what we thought was going to be a nice meal unfortunately not to start when we ordered drink they came room temperature not even chilled, starters were ok as for the main well they were cold 2 of us had the mixed grill and the other had the steak which was tough and chewy waited ages... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BEST WESTERN D, Assistant Manager at Wellington Boot Havelet Grill & Saddle Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to share your recent dining experience in our Wellington Boot Restaurant with other TripAdvisor readers. We very much appreciate your business and value your feedback. As our Guest`s satisfaction is of utmost importance to us, I am sorry to read that on this occasion we fall short on our service standards and you felt... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

Had a wonderful meal with the family would highly reccomend to anyone as a great place to eat staff are great and very attentive

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Wellington Boot Havelet Grill & Saddle Bar, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your great comments about our Restaurant on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read that food was up to your complete satisfaction. As we take great pride in our customer service standards, we are particularly grateful for you kind compliments regarding our staff. It will be my pleasure to share your... More 

Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

We recently visited the Havelet Grill in a party of 16. Everybody enjoyed their meal & they were all extremely complimentary about the food & the service. The value for money of our meal was outstanding. I often visit this restaurant & I am never disappointed. The staff are always extremely friendly & efficient, & I never have any reason... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Wellington Boot Havelet Grill & Saddle Bar, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your perfect rating and recommending our restaurant to other TripAdvisor readers. It was a great satisfaction to read your wonderful feedback. We are pleased that the food and the service provided exceeded your expectations. I can assure you that your compliments are an incentive for us to keep working hard in order to maintain the... More 

Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015

So disappointed used to be a prestige place for meals but tonight it failed to live up to its rosette awards, 1st course was passable, but the main course was a disaster, Such as shame

Was this review helpful? Yes
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Wellington Boot Havelet Grill & Saddle Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to share your recent dining experience at the Wellington Boot Restaurant. As our Guests` comfort and satisfaction is of our utmost importance and we aim to provide friendly and efficient service that exceeds all expectations, therefore I am sorry to learn that on this occasion our standards did not live up to your satisfaction... More 

Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015

We had a few superb meals here.Interesting menu and cooked to perfection by a competent chef. Well done!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Wellington Boot Havelet Grill & Saddle Bar, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your great comments about our Restaurant on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read that you had a most enjoyable evening and the food was up to your complete satisfaction. I am also pleased that you have enjoyed the lovely view overlooking the Castle and Harbour. We appreciate you being our... More 

England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015

ate in the saddle bar several times during a weeks holiday and everytime the food was fantastic and served by a great team in the restaurant who are so friendly and attentive to your needs.Also a great selection of dishes on the menu so you are really spoilt for choice.I cannot wait to return

Was this review helpful? Yes
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Wellington Boot Havelet Grill & Saddle Bar, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your great comments about our Restaurant on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read that you had a most enjoyable evening and the food was up to your complete satisfaction. I am also pleased to learn that the staff has left a positive impression and made it a perfect experience for... More 

Castel, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

Delicious food, perfectly cooked and good value. Staff friendly and attentive, but not overbearing. Had a table with a very nice view of the harbour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Wellington Boot Havelet Grill & Saddle Bar, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your great comments about our Restaurant on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read that you had a most enjoyable evening and the food was up to your complete satisfaction. I am also delighted to learn that the staff has left a positive impression and made it a perfect experience for... More 

Travelers who viewed Wellington Boot Havelet Grill & Saddle Bar also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Wellington Boot Havelet Grill & Saddle Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Havelet, Havelet, St Peter Port, St Peter Port GY1 1BA
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Channel Islands  >  Guernsey  >  St Peter Port
  • Phone Number: 01481 722199

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: International

Description

Dining in the Best Western Hotel in Havelet.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Wellington Boot Havelet Grill & Saddle Bar and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Guernsey, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Wellington Boot Havelet Grill & Saddle Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?