We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boat House

1 North Quay, St. Aubin JE3 8BS
+44 1534 744226
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 16 Restaurants in St. Aubin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $41
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, British, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: There is a regular bus service to the town St Helier. The bus stop is approx 30 metres from The Boat House.
Description: A stunning bar and restaurant offering an unforgettable experience on the North Quay, St Aubin, Jersey.The Boat House offers restaurant dining upstairs on the Upper Deck, and delicious tapas and light bites downstairs on the Main Deck. Located at the Western end of the spectacular crescent shaped St Aubin's Bay, The Boat House is a modern, two storey, glass and timber building with large terraced areas enjoying terrific views of St. Aubin’s Bay. It is an amazing place to spend time with friends and enjoy a relaxed meal. Local award winning chef David Cameron is the resident chef and his menus are infused with delicious local produce combined with world-class culinary flair.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    131
    55
    30
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 NEW via mobile

Pre-booked for family to celebrate a special birthday, beautiful location and fish dishes are always very good. Unfortunately it was let down by staff member pouring drink over my mother-in-law. Accidents happen but this was a basic error that should have been avoidable. Some staff members saved the day but others were clumsy and clearly out of their depth. Although... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BHG_Admin, Manager at The Boat House, responded to this review

Hi hels333, Thank you for your review of The Boat House. On behalf of our staff, we would lim to extend our sincere apologies for such a mistake being made. We can assure you this is not a frequent occurrence with our staff. We do hope this will not affect your desire to visit in the future. The Boat House... More

patrington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014 NEW

very disappointed, we came here May 2013, loved it so couldn't wait to return with my brother and wife who are regular Jersey visitors, they have been 6 or 7 times... food very bland, not like last year, disappointing for what we paid, enjoyed the sitting outside pre meal, lovely setting.. but to be honest far better places to go... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BHG_Admin, Manager at The Boat House, responded to this review

Hi Yorksgal2, Thanks for your review. We're sorry to hear that you were dissapointed upon this visit to The Boat House. We do hope we will be able to encourage you to visit again, The Boat House Group management. More

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

The reason we went to the 'Lower Deck' was that they had paella on the menu which my wife likes and that was OK. I decided to have fish and chips and with this restaurant being in a fishing village and costing £13, I thought this must be good. How wrong I was, it was awful - the battered fish... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BHG_Admin, Manager at The Boat House, responded to this review

Hi WLN69 Thank you for your review of The Boat House. We're sorry to hear that you were not totally satisfied with your meal. However, we would like to assure that all of our food is prepared freshly. For our fish, we use fillets of Haddock and the batter is home made. We do however apologise that the meal was... More

Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Jumped on the little train from St Helier last week whilst on holiday. Stopped off at this little slice of awesome after half an hour as I needed a quick eye opener. Super surprised to see they stocked Brewdog U-boat. Stunning beer which I'd only seen once before. My wife and Mum both got cocktails which they were more than... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BHG_Admin, Manager at The Boat House, responded to this review

Hi RJ L, Thank you for your review of The Boat House. We're glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. It's also a bonus that you could find the beer you enjoy so much. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks, The Boat House Group management. More

St. Helier, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

having visited this restaurant over the years - this weeks visit was sadly very disappointing. Yes, the location is lovely but thats where it ends. The service was poor, the standard of food mediocre and most certainly overpriced. Sad to say, a favourite in the past but now no more. Believe the reviews that tell you that this once lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BHG_Admin, Manager at The Boat House, responded to this review

Hi janey123456, Thank you for your review of The Boat House. We're sorry to hear that you have preferred The Boat House in previous years. Many of our customers have been with us for years and leave positive reports commending our consistency. However we do appreciate your opinion. We only hope that you will be able to visit again, alloying... More

Guernsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

This venue has an enviable location overlooking St Aubin's harbour. Food is average and our order was incorrectly filled. The alternative delivered (chicken wings) was very enjoyable and the staff extremely apologetic for their mistake. Despite the experience, we love St Aubin's so would go back here and indeed the many other restaurant and bar choices in the area as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BHG_Admin, Manager at The Boat House, responded to this review

Hi 1957Steve, Thank you for your review of The Boat House. We're sorry to hear that there had been a mixup with your order. We are however glad that our staff were able to rectify the situation. We hope to see you again soon, The Boat House Group management. More

Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I have often been disappointed if I choose something that isn't the burger (which is always delicious) - however this meal was great - a starter from the specials, followed by the pork with black pudding - Good table - friendly staff, puts it back on the list of restaurants to visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BHG_Admin, Manager at The Boat House, responded to this review

Hi Kate T, Thank you for your review of The Boat House. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal once again. We look forward to seeing you soon. The Boat House Group management. More

Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The Boat House is in a great location on the pier in St Aubins Bay. When we arrived the inside and downstairs outside were open but not the top deck which was a shame because the seating outside downstairs looks inland rather than over the bay. We found the staff to be attentive and service for us was quick, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BHG_Admin, Manager at The Boat House, responded to this review

Hi andygurd, Thank you for your review of The Boat House. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal with your wife. This is currently our busiest season at The Boat House, however our staff work hard to maintain our usual high standard of attentiveness. We do appreciate your feedback though, as this encourages us to work even harder.... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We found this place and had dinner last night. It's a lovely venue, and up stairs there are some great views. The service began well, however once the restaurant become more busy the attentiveness lacked, a little. We ordered the Lobster and Stake, both meals were presented beautifully, the lobster was delicious, however the stake was a little on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BHG_Admin, Manager at The Boat House, responded to this review

Hi rachel b, Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal. In regards to our seating, at The Boat House, we provide a variety of seating from sofas on the main deck to high seats. Each seat has a different level of comfort and so may appeal to different people. We do hope that... More

Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We stumbled across this restaurant and enjoyed a very good value light bite lunch of moules and a side order of fries. Only downside, the 2 glasses of wine were rather pricey! Despite this we enjoyed it so much we enjoyed another lunch later on in a our holiday week....sat outside in beautiful sunshine with fab view .... light bite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BHG_Admin, Manager at The Boat House, responded to this review

Hi Judepops, We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal at The Boat House. Our wines are varied in price and so we hope upon return, you can be completely satisfied with the pricing of your drink. We hope to see you again. The Boat House Group management. More

Travelers who viewed The Boat House also viewed

 
St. Aubin, Jersey
St. Brelade, Jersey
 

Been to The Boat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boat House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing