We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rafters Cafe

Laois Shopping Centre | James Fintan Lalor Avenue, Portlaoise, Ireland
0578666675
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 35 restaurants in Portlaoise
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: 124 seater day time restaurant, with outdoor seating and scenic view. Rafters has a modern, chic, and cosmopolitan feel to it and serves everything from Breakfast, sandiches, panini's, wraps, ciabatta's, wide selection of carvery items, kids menu, coffee's, tea's, lattee's etc...
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: 124 seater day time restaurant, with outdoor seating and scenic view. Rafters has a modern, chic, and cosmopolitan feel to it and serves everything from Breakfast, sandiches, panini's, wraps, ciabatta's, wide selection of carvery items, kids menu, coffee's, tea's, lattee's etc...
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    29
    5
    12
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
County Laois, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Myself and two friends visited for lunch to try this place out. While there was a wide selection of food on offer, as a vegetarian I found the selection that I could have very limited. I had a toasted ciabatta with cheese and a few other veggi things from the sandwich bar, while my friends had had chicken ciabatta and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I live 15 minutes away from portlaoise and I would do my weekly shopping there and I do like to get lunch in town also, I met my friends in rafters and we had soup and coffee and a scone afterwards. It was absolutely gorgeous!!no complaints top class👌. So I brought my family in too.and they loved it also.and I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
trish c, Owner at Rafters Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Aoibhinn, thanks for taking the time to write a review about our Cafe. I am pleased to note that generally you are very happy with the food and service but equally dissapointed to note your experience on your last visit. I have no way of knowing when this was so it is difficult for me to investigate what went... More

laois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Have eaten here on a few occasions. Food is always very nice. Have always found the restaurant to be clean and staff appear to clear and clean tables very quickly. Had lunch here on saurday. Had my 6 month old baby girl with me. From the time I ordered my lunch the staff couldnt do enough to help me. From... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My second time here and it's still ahead if the rest, I tried something from the wok station this time and the stir fry was really good, I didn't have dessert this time but as before it looked so well and plenty to choose from, keep up the good work Rafters

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monasterevin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

There is most certainly nicer places to eat in Portlaoise. The food pretty average but is way overpriced

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Trish C, Owner at Rafters Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Amy thanks for your recent review. I am surprised that you found our restaurant expensive and only average, I would love to hear more about your visit as, mistakes unfortunately, do happen and perhaps you were overcharged. Again, I would love to know what you had as perhaps there is something on our menu that is only average, if... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Firstly the girls working there are soo nice seem fairly under staffed. The food was lovely. But the place needs a clean, the walls are dirty beside the soft chairs. The coffee is definitely the worst I have ever tasted. I really not so keen on the interior decor, it's not very inviting. It's a shame because it has so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portlaoise, Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This place had the potential to be nice but I've never had a nice experience there. The chicken wrap from the menu didn't taste freshly prepared possibly because of the way it was reheated. The ordering process is confusingly laid out and the person taking coffee orders was also taking payment so there was a wait despite what seemed like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
trish c, Owner at Rafters Cafe, responded to this review

Dear Mark G, Thank you for your recent review on Rafters. I was very dissappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us. Before I continue I must clear up an inaccuracy in your review. You purchased a chicken wrap on the day of your visit, which for some reason- you did not enjoy. You state it... More

Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Right beside Tesco and within walking distance of Portlaoise Town Centre. Ample free parking in the shopping centre car park. Staff have always been very friendly, polite and helpful any time we've been in. Coffee is delicious and served with a little malted biscuit which is a lovely extra. We had the all day breakfast on our last visit. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
trish c, Owner at Rafters Cafe, responded to this review

Dear Happyholidays, I hope you don't mind me using your trip advisor name. Thank you so much for your recent review- it means a lot to us. Thank you for your comments regarding our staff and indeed your lovely comments regarding your visit. We do endeavour to provide a high quality of food and service. Please feel free at any... More

Abbeyleix, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Not a bad spot for a quick meal. Thee seemed to be lots of staff around but service was very slow and the place looked grubby. The food was okay but nothing to write home about...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portlaoise, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I've had some lovely meals here and some not so lovely ones, there's a bit of variation in the quality. The service while never rude can be a bit oblivious, I've seen a couple of customers on different occasions struggle with buggy,tray and young child and the staff stood around chatting and not offering help as they would in other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
trish c, Owner at Rafters Cafe, responded to this review

Dear Evie, I have already replied by email to you directly concerning your experience, and again I thank you very much for taking the time to write the review. We are very cafeful with whom we reply to on trip advisor, as I am concerned with the amount of incorrect information that is being sent in to this site recently.... More

Travelers who viewed Rafters Cafe also viewed

Portlaoise, County Laois
Portlaoise, County Laois
 
Portlaoise, County Laois
Portlaoise, County Laois
 

Been to Rafters Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rafters Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing