We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Shanagarry Restaurants

Ballymaloe House

Shanagarry, Shanagarry, Ireland
+353 (0)21 4652531
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 5 Restaurants in Shanagarry
Price range: $32 - $128
Cuisines: Irish
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    38
    16
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Was very very disappointed with dinner in this over priced restaurant in mid-August. Had booked this meal well in advance for a family of four, and yet it took over one hour to get our main course served, which was "smothered in sauce" when it should have been in a separate container as I would have liked to have Seen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback , al feedback is helpful Hazel More

Sarasota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

Had excellent meal last week with my Wife. Raw Veg.with dip + Soup for Starter. Buttered Lobster + Hake for Entree. Goose + Monkfish for Main. Cheeseboard of Irish Cheese . Selection of Deserts. Excellent Food served with Style by well trained Staff. We were located in an alcove with 4 Tables for 2. One felt they were missing out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and so sorry you felt you were missing out on the atmosphere . Hazel More

Waterford, Ireland
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

I am quite horrified that so many recent reviewers have given such negative comments. As a lover of all things food I have wanted to go to Ballymaloe for quite some time, so I was worried that I might be disappointed. I have to say it was one of the best dining experiences I've ever had! What some other reviewers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind remarks and explaining that we continue to serve & grow, what we consider to be traditional country house food in a traditional style. Hazel More

champaign, il
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 via mobile

First of all the staff has quite the aires for not being so great. The food is mediocre at best with extremely premium pricing for Ireland. With so many good options why would you eat here where they are living on their reputation. You are treated like a second class citizen that should be thankful that they acknowledge you! And... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review

We are so sorry you were disappointed with your visit to Ballymaloe but delighted you enjoyed your visit to our friends, Kevin & Catherine at Dunbrody. Hazel More

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014 via mobile

We were very excited to go to Ballymaloe for Sunday lunch but what a disappointment. The menu is extremely limited, I don't eat fish or curry which I don't think is too fussy so my options were chicken or lamb- boring. I had the pate for starters which was accompanied by a few leaves of lettuce without dressing, the chicken... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review

Thank for the feedback Hazel. More

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

A group of friends and I visited for dinner recently. We are all longtime admirers of the ethos . Starters were ok but nothing spectacular...beet root !! Main courses were goose, beef, pork and a fish . Poor choices.Goose was great but those who had beef and pork were particularly disappointed. Deserts were nice but nothing stood out as being... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back , we appreciate the feed back Hazel More

County Tipperary, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

My partner and I attended the Jimmy MacCarthy concert in the Grain Store, Ballymaloe last evening. We had booked a pre-dinner package which we were told had fish, prawns etc on the menu. The concert alone was 50euro for both of us but we added a further 90euro for our dinner. We were seated in Ballymaloe House, given half a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back , we now understand that we need to clearly state in our publicity that our pre concert dinner on Sundays is a Buffet , Soup , followed by a selection of salads and meats & the Ballymaloe Desert Trolley . We are delight you enjoyed Jimmy McCarthy, he gave a great show . Hazel More

Tipperary, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

The drive in is lovely and the house dominates the view.The area around the shop and cafe is very quaint and was busy when we arrived.We wanted to eat in the restaurant there but there were only 7-8 tables and there were 4 groups ahead of us waiting to be seated.I thought it was a little small for the amount... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hazel071, Public Relations Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review

So sorry you did not manage to eat at our cafe. It is small and very popular and does get busy during the summer season. I do hope you return sometime again and sample our food in the cafe or the main house which takes bookings for lunch and dinner. More

Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We still remember our visit to Ballymaloe Hotel and look forward to returning very soon. We always enjoy our visits and although we live far away our thoughts often return to the fantastic hospitality

Was this review helpful? Yes
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments , we are delighted you enjoy your visits . Hazel More

Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night and had Dinner, Bed and Breakfast. The whole experience was wonderful from start to finish. From checking in at reception everyone was so relaxed and unfussy and that atmosphere was there for the whole stay. The room we had was old fashioned but warm and cosy and led out on to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back, the waitresses loved your comments - after 50 years , they would love a new look ! Hazel More

Travelers who viewed Ballymaloe House also viewed

 
Cork, County Cork
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Ballymaloe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballymaloe House

Address: Shanagarry, Shanagarry, Ireland
Phone Number: +353 (0)21 4652531
Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Munster  >  County Cork  >  Shanagarry
Average Prices: USD 32 - 128
Cuisine: Irish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing