We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ballymaloe House

Shanagarry, Shanagarry, Ireland
+353 (0)21 4652531
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Shanagarry
Price range: $32 - $129
Cuisines: Irish
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    38
    15
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
champaign, il
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 NEW via mobile

First of all the staff has quite the aires for not being so great. The food is mediocre at best with extremely premium pricing for Ireland. With so many good options why would you eat here where they are living on their reputation. You are treated like a second class citizen that should be thankful that they acknowledge you! And... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014 via mobile

We were very excited to go to Ballymaloe for Sunday lunch but what a disappointment. The menu is extremely limited, I don't eat fish or curry which I don't think is too fussy so my options were chicken or lamb- boring. I had the pate for starters which was accompanied by a few leaves of lettuce without dressing, the chicken... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

A group of friends and I visited for dinner recently. We are all longtime admirers of the ethos . Starters were ok but nothing spectacular...beet root !! Main courses were goose, beef, pork and a fish . Poor choices.Goose was great but those who had beef and pork were particularly disappointed. Deserts were nice but nothing stood out as being... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back , we appreciate the feed back Hazel More

County Tipperary, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

My partner and I attended the Jimmy MacCarthy concert in the Grain Store, Ballymaloe last evening. We had booked a pre-dinner package which we were told had fish, prawns etc on the menu. The concert alone was 50euro for both of us but we added a further 90euro for our dinner. We were seated in Ballymaloe House, given half a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back , we now understand that we need to clearly state in our publicity that our pre concert dinner on Sundays is a Buffet , Soup , followed by a selection of salads and meats & the Ballymaloe Desert Trolley . We are delight you enjoyed Jimmy McCarthy, he gave a great show . Hazel More

Tipperary, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

The drive in is lovely and the house dominates the view.The area around the shop and cafe is very quaint and was busy when we arrived.We wanted to eat in the restaurant there but there were only 7-8 tables and there were 4 groups ahead of us waiting to be seated.I thought it was a little small for the amount... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We still remember our visit to Ballymaloe Hotel and look forward to returning very soon. We always enjoy our visits and although we live far away our thoughts often return to the fantastic hospitality

Was this review helpful? Yes
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments , we are delighted you enjoy your visits . Hazel More

Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night and had Dinner, Bed and Breakfast. The whole experience was wonderful from start to finish. From checking in at reception everyone was so relaxed and unfussy and that atmosphere was there for the whole stay. The room we had was old fashioned but warm and cosy and led out on to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back, the waitresses loved your comments - after 50 years , they would love a new look ! Hazel More

Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We enjoyed the Lazy Sunday evening buffet. This started with soup which we declined and moved onto locally caught/produced selection of fish ( smoked salmon, periwinkles,oysters,smoked hake,shrimps to name but a few), homemade pates,bread,chutneys and sauces. Utterly impressive. This was followed by a choice of roast meats along with vegetables and salads and finished with the dessert trolley. The ambience,service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review

Thank you , we are delighted you enjoyed our special Sunday Night Buffet - its our favourite meal Hazel More

Loughton
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I dined here whilst a short break student at the nearby Ballymaloe Cookery School in Shanagarry. The weather was with us, so the estate looked very beautiful. The house itself reflects a bygone elegance, and the menu presents with local fish, shellfish, meat and vegetables. I was dining alone, something I am not used to, but the staff were very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back we are delighted you enjoyed your visit Hazel More

ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Mrs Allen was sitting outside in a chair in the sunshine - reminded me of my mother. The grounds are beautifully kept - lovely shrubs and flowers. Shop is quite expensive.We went to cookery school and I walked the gardens - flower and veg. lovely-must cost a fortune to keep so well. I was very impressed. Bought some sauces and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments , Hazel More

Travelers who viewed Ballymaloe House also viewed

Ballycotton, County Cork
 

Been to Ballymaloe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballymaloe House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing