We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riverfront Seafood Company

1777 Netherland Inn Rd, Kingsport, TN 37660-3000
423-245-3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 202 restaurants in Kingsport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Northeast Tennessee's only Fresh Seafood Restaurant. Locacted on the South Fork of the Holston River overlooking Bays Mountain
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    41
    33
    16
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gate City, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 NEW

Coming from the north over 20 years ago, I thought I would never have seafood like it again. But at Riverfront Seafood Company, I thought I was home. I just had their 'Shrimp & grits' recommended by their waitress Jessica and it was absolutely great. Ask for her. Fine family as well. It would be worth the entire trip. Rev.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingsport, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I have given this more than a few times to pull itself up. the main problem I have is the management and wait staff and apparent owner are all rude. the food is good but not the best and the wait staff seams to be more than nothing to go out of there way to help you. the food was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Meadowview, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

My daughter and I were just there and were very happy with the service, and the food was wonderful and fresh . The waiter Bill was very nice, and the refills kept coming. It was a great place to eat and me and my family will be back. The restaurants at Myrtle Beach were not as fresh as this restaurant.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

went here for 40th anniversary meal I spent around a hundred dollars and got a meal that was a total disappointment as bad as i dislike red lobster i would have had a better meal don't waste you time going to this overrated restaurant it was also dirty which indicates the management does not care about quality just your money... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
kptfishman, Owner at Riverfront Seafood Company, responded to this review

Sorry for what ever sent you off on this rant, but our restaurant is anything but dirty. Last health department inspection scores were 95 in the restaurant and 100 in the bar. Compare this to any other full service restaurants and we are one of the cleanest in the area. With our prices in the average dinner range of $15.00... More

Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

There aren't many great restaurants in this area, but avoid this one and opt for a chain restaurant, instead. I've been here twice, as I thought I'd give it a second chance after an unimpressive first visit. Two strikes, and I'm out. We ordered chips and queso as an appetizer (overpriced at $8, but good-tasting.) When I asked if we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
johnson city
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Currently sitting at the restaurant and they will not seat me because my total part of 3, meaning 2 more are on the way, are not here yet. Very rude to not seat a customer. Hopefully the food will be good tonight.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kptfishman, Owner at Riverfront Seafood Company, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time for your review and we are very sorry that you have a issue with our seating policy. Because of our unique location and the demand for the seating that overlooks the river we found that people would send incomplete parties down to save the best tables. This caused us and all our guest great... More

Ocala, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently moved to NE TN from Florida. We tried the Riverfront Seafood Company because it was close to where we live and were so glad we did. We have been back several times since. Their seafood is as good as any we ever had in Florida. The restaurant is located right on a river making for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
kptfishman, Owner at Riverfront Seafood Company, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and recognizing the quality and value we offer at Riverfront Seafood Company. It is always nice to have people that are from the coastal areas that are visiting or as yourself relocated to our area and understand the quality we offer. But we hope you noticed we are more than just seafood. We offer steaks,... More

Roswell, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I just hate to write a bad review. I have been to this restaurant maybe 5 to 6 times over past five years. They have a terrible seating policy where they won't seat you till your entire party is there. I told them in a visit several months ago that we would order a substantial number of appetizers as well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
kptfishman, Owner at Riverfront Seafood Company, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time for your review and we are very sorry that you have a issue with our seating policy. Because of our unique location and the demand for the seating that overlooks the river we found that people would send incomplete parties down to save the best tables. This caused us and all our guest great... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Overall food was amazing floors and tables were clean! Staff and especially our waitress was just a little bit rude seemed to have an attitude!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I try to visit this restaurant weekly. The Alaskan whitefish is very tasty. Lunch prices are reasonable at $9 per lunch which includes a salad, drink, and the main course. Great view of the River and the servers are very attentive and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers who viewed Riverfront Seafood Company also viewed

 

Been to Riverfront Seafood Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverfront Seafood Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing