We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chedd's Gourmet Grilled Cheese

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
323 South Phillips Avenue, Suite B, Sioux Falls, SD 57104
605-274-7676
Website
Today
11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Mon - Sat 11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 36 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 15
    Excellent
  • 14
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Grilled Cheese Specialty

We ate here for lunch on our way out of town. A variety of specialty grilled cheese sandwiches. The wait was a bit longer than expected, and would have liked a few more choices on sides.

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 17, 2015
maadta
,
Toledo
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toledo
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015 NEW

We ate here for lunch on our way out of town. A variety of specialty grilled cheese sandwiches. The wait was a bit longer than expected, and would have liked a few more choices on sides.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

My husband had the Oinkey and it was burnt. I had the French Kiss. I wasn't too impressed. I expected cheese, but it seemed like a little too much. The boys had the Mac and cheese and didn't finish it. The side salads were VERY fresh. Maybe we just visited on an off day or didn't pick well. The place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lakeville, Minnesota
Top Contributor
396 reviews 396 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

It was Fri in lent and only had time for sorta fast food so went to Chedd's for a late lunch we had a much better than average grilled cheese with our choice of cheese, my wife had tomato soup that she thought was tasty I however didn't care for the clam chowder kinda like potato soup without much clam

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott H, Owner at Chedd's Gourmet Grilled Cheese, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate you taking the time as well as for stopping into Chedd's to have lunch. However, we don't even serve clam chowder, so I'm not sure what you were talking about when you mentioned our clam chowder. Thanks again! More 

Louisburg, Kansas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch on a cold, windy Sunday. The staff was super helpful in deciding what we should have, interacted great with my 5 yr old and the food was absolutely delicious. It hit the spot! Perfect 10 on everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

My family loves grilled cheese sandwiches and these were pretty awesome. You can select from stylish sandwiches called "Oinker" or the "BCT", plus many more, or you can select your type of bread and choose from a wide variety of cheese to make your own unique sandwich. The staff was very nice and restaurant was clean. Definitely would go back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Branson, Missouri
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

We love grilled cheese so the signage caught our attention. We decided to give it a try. We enjoyed our sandwiches and they had a ton of different combinations you could create for sandwiches. It's something different from your Subways and Jimmy Johns and much better too. The staff was super friendly and helpful. If you are hungry for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Antioch, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014 via mobile

Very nice selections of grilled sandwiches. Staff was great, very friendly. Good value for prices. You will not be disappointed!!! On the walk downtown.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pierre
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

I was surprised that the place wasn't more busy at noon on a Saturday. The first thing I noticed was a Help Wanted sign when I walked in, which put me a little on edge. What really ticked me off was the staff. They seemed very unprofessional and not willing to give their customers their best service. They were constantly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Naples, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Neat little place downtown that seems to be busy for weekday lunches. Food is good, but nothing outstanding when is comes to the procedure. The selection is great, but unfortunately, I must have just started rush hour since only two workers got a bit behind on their orders. Overall, the street views are awesome (hustle and bustle, or what I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SeasPlaces
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

If you are fixated on a cheese sandwich, they make a pretty good one. The sides are quite ordinary and, for the quality and quantity, a disappointment. I would guess their potato salad and cole slaw come out of a five gallon food service bucket. I sure hope I'm right about that, or I probably insulted the chef. I ordered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Scott H, Owner at Chedd's Gourmet Grilled Cheese, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your experience at Chedd's. I apologize that we were out of pumpernickel on the day that you came in. We can only have so much bread on hand at one time, and sometimes you go through it faster than expected. It's not that we were out by 12:30, it's just that we didn't... More 

Travelers who viewed Chedd's Gourmet Grilled Cheese also viewed

 

Been to Chedd's Gourmet Grilled Cheese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 323 South Phillips Avenue, Suite B, Sioux Falls, SD 57104
  • Location: United States  >  South Dakota (SD)  >  Sioux Falls
  • Phone Number: 605-274-7676

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 12
  • Cuisine: American, Barbecue, Delicatessen, Soups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chedd's Gourmet Grilled Cheese staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?