We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Spike Restaurant

Highway 16, Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, Hill City, SD 57745
(605) 574-2577
Website
Improve this listing
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ranked #15 of 22 restaurants in Hill City
Most recent review
- Jul 22, 2014
Restaurant details
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

58% Recommend
    3
    4
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My family has been going to the Black Hills since I was a little girl. One place we always ate at was the Golden Spike Restaurant. When I recently visited with my fiancé, I told him, they have the best Hot Beef Sandwich EVER! Now, let me say this. Our waiter was fabulous. The problem was they were severely understaffed.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
springfield mo
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Tired from a day of traveling it was easy to walk to the restaurant for a dinner of sandwiches and salads. Service was pleasant and food was good......Nice to have a place for a nice dinner where you are staying!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My wife and I ate here one night. I had a Reuben could have used one more slice of meat, but was good. My wife had ribs which she enjoyed. Our server was Victor he was very nice and proficient.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just another bad dining experience in Hill City. Our waitress seemed amiable and she gave us more time to decide on our meals. The food was good, a California turkey BLT, and a French dip, and that's where it ends. She never came back again to check on our meals or drinks. We waited forever for her to finally show... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Mankato, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Had waffles, ham or sausages, cinnamon bread, biscuits and gravy, etc for breakfast!!! Clean and comfortable rooms, nice pool, pleasant staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe W, General Manager at Golden Spike Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Golden Spike. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel as well as the amenities provided. Hill City is a wonderful location and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your vacation here. We hope that you will choose to stay with us... More

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were staying at the Golden Spike, and decided to eat here one night and order pizza on another night. The first night, we ordered hamburgers, pancakes & a taco salad. All were very good, but there was no whipped cream on the pancakes (like the menu said) and service was very slow. Our waitress was very good and friendly,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grand Island, Nebraska, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We ate at this restaurant several times and the food was always very delicious and very reasonably priced!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We ate breakfast here three days and it was good. We decided to try it one night for dinner and it was awful. I had a steak sandwich which was served as a very tough steak on some Texas toast. It was supposed to have sauteed onions and peppers with it, which the server brought out when I pointed out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe W, General Manager at Golden Spike Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about the restaurant. We are sorry that you had a bad experience. We value your thoughts and comments and will use them to improve. We hope that you will consider coming back in the future. More

Somerset, England
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We were staying here for 4 nights and on the night we arrived we were rather late so opted to eat in the restaurant rather than venturing into the town. The "specials" had finished but we had an okay meal and the service was reasonable although we had to keep reminding the waiter what we wanted. The free breakfasts were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Clinton, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed 2 Nights at the Best Western and went to the in house restaurant for breakfast both days. The first day had good service and the food was good and served hot with excellent coffee. The second day was like being in an altered universe, the service was slow and when the food was finally served it was cold.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Golden Spike Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Golden Spike Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Spike Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing