We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
8510 Rivers Ave Ste I, North Charleston, SC 29406-9266
843-572-1631
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $20
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Mon - Thu 10:00 am - 9:30 pm
Fri - Sat 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Description: Since 1961 Breck's Steakhouse has been serving families the biggest and best steaks in the Lowcountry. Come on in and see why locals rave about us and have been coming to us for generations! Try our enormous steaks, burgers, sandwiches, wings or other home-made specialties and desserts. In a rush? No worries! We'll fix all of your favorites to go!
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

been going to Brecks for over 30 years...no matter who owns it they keep the same recipes, great food and awesome service. One of the cooks has been there thru all the owners! Good lunch specials...AWESOME steaks....good southern home cooked sides.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Troy D, Owner at Breck's Steakhouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your visit and your support! I sincerely appreciate our guests taking the time to give us their feedback, even when it's to tell us about things we can improve upon but we also really enjoy folks letting us, and everyone else, know how much they enjoy Brecks! Thanks again for your kind comments and look... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

I love Breck's however last night was a horrible experience. We arrived and placed our order for some wings on 'wing night.' 15 minutes later our server came to advise that they were out of wings. She offered chicken strips to replace the wings. How hard is it to have a supply of wings! They keep well in the freezer.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Troy D, Owner at Breck's Steakhouse, responded to this review

First, I really do want to apologize for the experience on Wing Night. First, as to how hard it is to keep wings on hand....well, let me start with, that last Wednesday we served over 400lbs of wings....that's right 'at 3,000 wings in the span of 3 hours. 1,000 wings an hour from a small kitchen in a small restaurant...that's... More 

Saint George, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

We have been customers of Breck's for many years....back in the days when they had a restaurant in Summerville also and have been gravely disappointed the past couple times we have eaten at the Rivers Avenue site. The steaks are not up to the standards that the old stores use to cook...too tough and grisley! I agree with a previous... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Troy D, Owner at Breck's Steakhouse, responded to this review

Peggy, Thanks for your visit and for your feedback. Let me preface by saying that not only am I the owner (so the buck stops here) but I, too, am a 20+ year customer and the previous owners are dear friends....so, I am very familiar with the old Brecks and I assure you when we say that we are keenly... More 

charleston, sc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Their Tuesday fried chicken special is the best as well as their chicken wings. Our go to place in N. Charleston.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

I am an old school Brecks ,,,old ashley phosphate and rivers old school....I have not been there in years.....and will not go back in years,,,,2 and out,,,,if you cut your own meat ,,find some one who knows what they are doing!! grisle is BAD....20 oz ribeye was full of it....and do not bake your potatoes at noon for diner....I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Troy D, Owner at Breck's Steakhouse, responded to this review

Dennis, As another old school Brecks customer (23 years prior to becoming the owner) I'm disappointed that we didn't measure up to your expectations. A couple of comments though, we serve over 1,000 lbs of steak a week, all under Ms Betty's watchful eye just like she has been doing here at Breck's since 1976 (although, the Brecks bought their... More 

Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

Normally you can quite trust on tripadvisor ratings, but this time not: I got a steak which was not tasting at all - a lot of sinews all over, cooked just raw instead of medium, and also a lot of fat all over. Salad dressing was awful as well. Nice waitress, but this is not worth anything in case the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Troy D, Owner at Breck's Steakhouse, responded to this review

I'd like to thank you for your visit and am, obviously, disappointed that you think we serve the worst steak ever. The only thing that I can possibly add is that if your experience was that poor, if you brought this to your server's attention that we would have done anything we can to rectify it on the spot. Having... More 

charleston, sc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Great food for a good price. The Tuesday chicken special is outstanding. The wings are worth the trip and the blue cheese dip should be jarred and sold.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lexington, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

In town due to a family member being hospitalized, went here thanks to TripAdvisor review. Salad dressing was great, baked potato overcooked and the 9 Oz river was a very poor selection of meat dressed with seasoning. Great service, but won't be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
Troy D, Owner at Breck's Steakhouse, responded to this review

First and most important, we sincerely hope that your family member is ok! Obviously, I'm disappointed that we missed the mark on your steak and potato. I assure you that we do not use anything but fresh, hand cut, high quality beef with the USDA Good Housekeeping seal of approval. However, like people, sometimes you run into one that just... More 

Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

We went to Breck's last night. They have always had good food but in the last couple of years some prices of dinners have doubled and now the salad does not come with the meal. The small salad with 2 cherry tomatoes, 2 slices of cucumbers, a little shredded cheese, a dab of onions and iceberg lettuce now cost $2.50... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Troy D, Owner at Breck's Steakhouse, responded to this review

First, thank you for your continued support and for your feedback as it gives me another chance to explain what we are doing and, just as important, why. Food prices are going up, that's a fact of life that we can't escape and as a small independent operation, it's compounded by the fact that I don't have the leverage to... More 

Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

i have been told by locals for years to try it,just not that appealing from the outside.once inside overwhelmed by the great food and value.the staff and owners alike make you feel at home.outstanding troy. in short dont miss the stuffed peppers this friday just like moms and who heard of $5.75 lunch you cant eat a chick fillet for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Troy D, Owner at Breck's Steakhouse, responded to this review

Jim, Thank you so much for your visit and for your feedback...it means a lot to me that people take the time to let us know what they think (both the good and the things that we can improve on!). I'm delighted that we proved to be worth the wait and we certainly look forward to seeing you again! Thanks,... More 

Travelers who viewed Breck's Steakhouse also viewed

North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Breck's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breck's Steakhouse

Address: 8510 Rivers Ave Ste I, North Charleston, SC 29406-9266
Phone Number: 843-572-1631
Location: United States  >  South Carolina (SC)  >  Coastal South Carolina  >  North Charleston
Open Hours:
Sunday 11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Monday 10:00 am - 9:30 pm
Tuesday 10:00 am - 9:30 pm
Wednesday 10:00 am - 9:30 pm
Thursday 10:00 am - 9:30 pm
Friday 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 1 - 20
Cuisine: American, Hamburgers, Steakhouse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Breck's Steakhouse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?