We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
3797 Hwy. 17, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576
843-651-7222
Improve this listing
Today
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 398 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 176
    Excellent
  • 109
    Very good
  • 53
    Average
  • 26
    Poor
  • 34
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Great Grilled Plater

My wife and I picked a friend up from the airport and headed to Flo's for dinner. It was a nice day but we decided to sit inside. We started with Boiled shrimp along with fried tomatoes and pickles.the boiled shrimp were delicious but the tomatoes had too much breading and the pickles were very... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 24, 2015
Russell R
,
Wilmington, North Carolina
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Local cuisine
  • Large groups
Add Photo Write a Review

398 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015 NEW

The restaurant was mentioned in a book when we were visiting Myrtle Beach so we looked for it on the way home. The appetizer was Shrimp Diablo over Asian Slaw and it was delicious and beautifully prepared. The Hush Puppies provided were mediocre, and mushy in the center. My Shrimp Gumbo was virtually tasteless even though the shrimp were plump... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
138 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015 NEW

My wife and I picked a friend up from the airport and headed to Flo's for dinner. It was a nice day but we decided to sit inside. We started with Boiled shrimp along with fried tomatoes and pickles.the boiled shrimp were delicious but the tomatoes had too much breading and the pickles were very salty. Our guest and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
grossedout25
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015 NEW

My original review on Yelp I gave 2 stars but have decided to down grade it because a ton of people made the same comments. Over priced, inedible food and by now the owner has to be aware of the problems. My husband and I decided to try Flo's since every other restaurant in the area had a long wait.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015 NEW

Terrible food. Hush puppies were like rubber, crab soup lacked flavor & crab meat. Fish tacos over cooked. Our first & last visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
FlosPlace, General Manager at Flo's Place, responded to this review

I am sorry you thought everything was terrible, EVEN THE FREE HUSH PUPPIES! The she crab soup is loaded with crab meat, I hate the flavor was lacking for you. I will be bringing this review to my daytime kitchen manager, serving over cooked fish tacos is unacceptable. More 

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

Great dining outside. Delicious garlic bread. Generous portions. Friendly and fast service. Ask for Janice! She was great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
FlosPlace, General Manager at Flo's Place, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time out to write such a wonderful review. More 

Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

We just took a chance by what we saw on the outside. The menu is not too large but certainly adequate. The seafood gumbo was great and a generous serving. I also had a side order of beans and rice which was well seasoned and very tasty. It is a quiet place with friendly service and a good view of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FlosPlace, Owner at Flo's Place, responded to this review

You made my day today. TripAdvisor is such a mixed bag. Some people say we are priced right, some people say we are too expensive. I've had the same dish called "world class" and "inedible". How can that be? All I can say is that we try hard everyday to do it right. I thank you from the bottom of... More 

Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

We have been visiting Murrells Inlet for 15 years now. We have eaten at Flo's Place several times. Unfortunately, over the last few years the entire experience has declined. This last time was definitely the final visit for us. We were seated on the deck and enjoyed a beautiful view, but that couldn't compensate for the meal. My grilled fish... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FlosPlace, Owner at Flo's Place, responded to this review

We aim to please every customer who comes to Flo's Place. I am sorry that your fish was undercooked and I can assure you if you had brought this to someone's attention, your meal would have been recooked and a complimentary dessert would have been offered to you. We always want our guests to leave happy and we do everything... More 

Lexington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

I took the family to Flo's while on vacation in MB. I had eaten there the year before and it was decent. This trip was not even to that level. I should have realized that there was a reason most of the other restaurants in Murrells Inlet had an hour wait and Flo's parking lot was almost empty. The service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FlosPlace, Owner at Flo's Place, responded to this review

It is one thing to offer constructive criticism about a restaurant. It is quiet another to misrepresent what we serve. There is no platter on our menu that is served with a big "slab of fish and 2 oysters and 2 shrimp" . Perhaps these are the portions at your preferred Captain D's. If you CRAVE that kind of seafood,... More 

Bristol, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

Went here for a late lunch and ate on the patio. Was very pretty view. Got the captain Ken's seafood platter which was $30 and it was more than enough for me and my husband to share. All of the sea food was very good and the server Janice was excellent, she was very attentive and had no problems even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guilford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015

We have been coming to Flo's for years. The past two visits, were very disappointing. From small shrimp that weren't deveined, wet stuffing with a small sole fillet, greasy fries, etc. expensive for two adults and one child. $75.00 and we walked out hungry as the food was just awful we won't be back. Don't know if they changed chefs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FlosPlace, Owner at Flo's Place, responded to this review

I am disappointed that you didn’t like your meal at Flo’s Place and I only wish you had brought your complaint to my attention when you were here. We ALWAYS make things right with our guests and have been doing so for 36 years. Our menu does not change from year to year. We do bring on new dishes; but,... More 

Travelers who viewed Flo's Place also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Flo's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 3797 Hwy. 17, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576
  • Location: United States  >  South Carolina (SC)  >  Coastal South Carolina  >  Murrells Inlet
  • Phone Number: 843-651-7222

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: American, Cajun & Creole, Seafood

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Flo's Place and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Flo's Place staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?