We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nance's Creekfront Restaurant

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
4883 Hwy 17 Business, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576-5645
843-651-2696
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Nance's Creekfront Restaurant and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 346 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 79
    Excellent
  • 91
    Very good
  • 61
    Average
  • 55
    Poor
  • 60
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Inlet Staple

We were disappointed with our last visit. Nances has been around since I was a child and unfortunately some of the food may have been as well. Beautiful view of the inlet and maybe they just had an off night.

3 of 5 starsReviewed August 26, 2015
Chuck N
Good for:
  • Large groups
Add Photo Write a Review

346 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015 NEW

Greasy fried everything. It's just another tourist trap with high prices and poor food. It is a good place to to enjoy the evening view with a cold beverage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Webster Groves
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015 NEW

Beautiful view of the water from anywhere in the restaurant, excellent waiter (shoutout to Ryan, ask for him) amazing food. Would go there again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Flash63, Manager at Nance's Creekfront Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for dining with us and for such a great review. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015 NEW

We were disappointed with our last visit. Nances has been around since I was a child and unfortunately some of the food may have been as well. Beautiful view of the inlet and maybe they just had an off night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Flash63, Manager at Nance's Creekfront Restaurant, responded to this review

So sorry to hear you had a bad experience. Our seafood is some of the freshest seafood you can get. The owner has his own shrimp boats which supply fresh shrimp with no preservatives as well as an oyster shucking plant that supplies oysters to us as well as to many other restaurants in the area. Not sure what you... More 

Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

Dirty bar...old and does not smell good ... Owner was rude to customers. Bar tender did not know how to make simple drinks... avoid if you can, many better restaurants on the Inlet..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Flash63, Manager at Nance's Creekfront Restaurant, responded to this review

Sorry to read your negative review. I'm not sure if the review was written for the correct establishment, though. Yes, The Nance's building is an older building as we are one of the oldest restaurants in Murrells Inlet and it does smell like seafood inside (our specialty) but the owner lives in a different state and does not personally operate... More 

Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015

We have been to a few restaurants in the Murrells Inlet area in the past years. We knew better than to go late. We originally went this particular evening to go to another restaurant on the marsh. When we arrived we were told it would be 2 hour wait. So we drove further down to find another place. Again, over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Flash63, Manager at Nance's Creekfront Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for dining with us. We typically don't have a very long wait because of the size of our restaurant unless it's a holiday but I'm sorry that your server was not up to par. I wish you had said something to management while you were there or at least do you remember their name? Poor service can sometimes... More 

Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2015

Great location with inlet view. My husband had the NE clam chowder and he said that it was good. I had the fried shrimp with fries and it was good. The hush puppies were delish! Had a bit of a sweet taste to them, I could eat them for dessert! The menu had the basics that you would expect to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Flash63, Manager at Nance's Creekfront Restaurant, responded to this review

I am very glad you had a wonderful dinner with us and we appreciate your business so very much. In response to the building being a little worn, I have to respond with two statements. First, the place was designed to have an old fish camp look to it when families and friends would sit outside and roast oysters over... More 

Winston Salem
Level Contributor
99 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2015

We were eating late on Sunday night and Fish Club was packed. Thought we would try this place. The menu really surprised me. I was expecting just fried and broiled seafood. I had the stuffed flounder. Probably the best I've ever had. Crab meat stuffing was the real deal. Although it was late, we got the same great service as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orrum
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

Drove almost 2 hrs. to visit Murrells Inlet and was ready for some delicious seafood. We wanted to go to Dead Dog Saloon as we had heard they had great food. It was packed with an hr. wait so we chose Nance's as it was supposed to have seafood platters with more of a family atmosphere. The food was pricey... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Flash63, Manager at Nance's Creekfront Restaurant, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear of your bad experience. First question would be, did you ask to speak to the manager to resolve your issue? I'm not sure why other tables around you were being served faster than you unless possibly your table might have taken a little longer to order or if you got any broiled or grilled items which... More 

Roan Mountain, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

It's a good sea food place....getting there early pays off if you get there between 4:00pm-5:00pm its buy one get one half.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

I used to come here as a kid so had many fond memories. Took my daughter here tonight. She enjoyed it but I found it all a little old school. Food was good but a bit bland and uninteresting. She loved hush puppies but I found them too sweet. She had adult sized crab cakes and liked them. I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Flash63, Manager at Nance's Creekfront Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for dining with us. I'm sorry you feel we are a little outdated which is true to a point. Nance's has focused on keeping the old traditional fish camp style look as well as maintaining our original method of cooking and recipes that made Nance's a household name. We want the fresh taste of our seafood to be... More 

Travelers who viewed Nance's Creekfront Restaurant also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Nance's Creekfront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 4883 Hwy 17 Business, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576-5645
  • Location: United States  >  South Carolina (SC)  >  Coastal South Carolina  >  Murrells Inlet
  • Phone Number: 843-651-2696

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: American

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Large groups

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Nance's Creekfront Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?