We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Russell's Seafood Grill

4906 Hwy 17 Business, South end of Business 17, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576
+1 843-651-0553
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $39
Hours:
Mon - Sat 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: We are located at the south end of Business 17 across the street from Hot Fish Club and Nance's. GPS's may or may not find us. Call for directions. We do not take reservations and we are NOT open for Lunch
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    96
    46
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tierra Verde, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014 NEW

The oysters Rockefeller had cheese whiz on them. The $12.00 hamburger was dry and well done. Who cares if it is hand patted, it is still a hamburger.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
localgal10, Owner at Russell's Seafood Grill, responded to this review

Maybe you were somewhere else because our Oysters Rockefeller has no cheese of any kind on it and while our burgers are hand pattied they do not cost $12. Maybe it was just a horrible day for you. Hope you have a better one today. Karen Vereen(owner) More

New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014 NEW

We were referred here and man were we surprised. GREAT food and staff. Busy but they made sure to take care of you. Can't wait to visit again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atlanta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014 NEW

Definitely an older crowd. We brought our 2 teenagers there and it was not their scene at all. Hush puppies were really good but fried foods and French fries shouldn't be served by candlelight. Wait staff was friendly. Not a family friendly restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
localgal10, Owner at Russell's Seafood Grill, responded to this review

This review makes absolutely no sense to me....We are friendly but not family friendly??? We serve more than just fried food and French fries and our tables have candles on them but it is not candlelit. We have plenty of lighting and plenty of other food options. Then the part about your teens and it not being "their scene", we... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 NEW

What a great restaurant! Smoked Fish Dip suggested by Sue Bob the awesome bartender was delicious, as was the she crab soup, grouper and peanut butter pie made by Karen the owner. Service was on point and everyone was so friendly we felt like family by the time we left. Going back again before we leave!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cortland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

What a delicious find. Enjoyed sitting outside on the patio. The calamari was the best we've ever had. Crab balls were just ok. Ordered the fried seafood platter: fish was huge and tasty, oysters - scallops - shrimp were all perfectly breaded and tasted wonderful. Stuffed crab was ok. The cheesy potatoes were very good. Here's our disappointment, we're being... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Nice place, good food. We had to wait to be seated then once seated we were waited onr right away. It took a long time to get our food but they were busy. I would recommend maybe new bathrooms? We would return next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

Nice place to eat, food was good, waiter did excellent job, would go there again, enjoy, great food, great people, don't miss

Was this review helpful? Yes
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

To me this is the absolute worst seafood ever, and a total waste of money. Russell & "Company" asks everyone to give them a good rating on TripAdvisor. The results are "skewed" and no way is this place #1, #2. or #3. I would probably rate it dead last. There is no view, the building is part of another seafood... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
localgal10, Owner at Russell's Seafood Grill, responded to this review

Wow, seems like someone got up on the wrong side of the bed. Sorry you were sooooooo unhappy with our restaurant. Let me clear up something right now, Russell and Company only ask those folks that say they found us on Tripadvisor and only when they tell us they really enjoyed our food and service. We get a lot of... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Probably one of the best meals I have ever eaten at Myrtle Beach. Husband agrees. Out exploring due to rain and ran upon this place after getting hungry. I got scallops and shrimp and he got ribeye. For appetizers we got calamari which were amazing and oysters equally as good. I have never wrote a review but felt I needed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cleveland, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Wow! This place is great. The service was amazing. Russell cruised around to make sure everything was in order. The food was terrific.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Russell's Seafood Grill also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Russell's Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Russell's Seafood Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing