We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Salt Water Creek

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
4660 highway 17 bypass, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576
+1 843-357-2433
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Sat - Sun 10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 285 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 140
    Excellent
  • 82
    Very good
  • 33
    Average
  • 17
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Enjoyable Lunch

We went on a Sunday. I think the person who seated us forgot about us! Never brought any menus then someone brought water that was meant for another table and the brunch menu was an after thought. Things like this happen. The food was good. I had the fish tacos and my partner had a burger... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 29, 2015
Baefer
,
North Charleston, South Carolina
Good for:
  • Romantic
  • Large groups
  • Special occasions
  • Doing business
  • Local cuisine
  • Bar scene
  • Families with children
Add Photo Write a Review

285 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2015 NEW

Service was excellent. Ashley was our server. The FRIED GREEN TOMATO appetizer was extremely disappointing. The SHE CRAB SOUP was delicious. FRIED CHICKEN BLT SALAD HAD A little too much BLEU cheese, but my husband still rated it delicious. FRIED SEAFOOD WAS JUST OKAY. FISH TACOS were just good. We are locals so we will be back. Hope you have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David S, General Manager at Salt Water Creek, responded to this review

Very sorry to hear that the food was not to your liking. We always strive for perfection with every dish that goes out. So knowing that you didn't enjoy the meal, I know we didn't do our part that time. No excuses. Please accept my apologizes and invitation back. Ask for me when you arrive and I will personally guarantee... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
267 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

My family and I had dinner here tonight. It was a birthday dinner so we wanted everything to be just right. I was a little nervous after reading some of the reviews. After our evening here, however, I can tell you that those few reviews are not indicative of the food and service. We were greeted warmly and seated immediately.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David S, General Manager at Salt Water Creek, responded to this review

It is greatly appreciated that you read past the last few reviews to see that's not at all what it's like here at SWC! We pride ourselves on great service and delicious food. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to having you again :) More 

Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

As I was with a large party we made a reservation, took well over 30 min, closer to an hour to be seated after our reserved time, The appetizers were greasy and lacked flavor. The food was either over seasoned or lacked seasoning and either uncooked as in the rice or so over cooked as the fish was inedible. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
David S, General Manager at Salt Water Creek, responded to this review

I'm sorry if you feel that our items are over-priced, however, in comparison to almost every other restaurant around, per item, per portion, we are definitely one of the least expensive seafood restaurants here. As to the quality of the food, if it was not up to standard, I apologize for that as we strive to make every single dish... More 

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

We are locals who have gone to this restaurant many times. Something has changed for the worse. Visited on Monday August 10th, 2015 for dinner. First, they lost our reservation.This was sushi night but we found out it has been discontinued. Ordered food from the menu and the kitchen mixed up our order. Fried platter was disgusting and tasteless. Jordan... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
David S, General Manager at Salt Water Creek, responded to this review

For anyone who reads this, please note all my other responses to ALL reviews, good or bad. I'm a very kindhearted person and genuinely care about everyone's' experience here. That being said, I don't appreciate your response as your significant other already made a review about this experience and this is just malicious. Especially seeing as how you lie to... More 

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

This has been our favorite restaurant for a long time. But this night was very bad. Food was horrible and what's worse the kitchen knew it. I spoke to General Manager who seemed upset but knew our order was mixed up. General Manager was apologetic but something definitely has changed at this restaurant. I wasn't looking for a price reduction... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
David S, General Manager at Salt Water Creek, responded to this review

My sincere apologizes as the 10th was a very off day for us here. We were incredibly understaffed and we felt it. I ALWAYS invite anyone that has had a bad experience here to come back and be personally waited on by me. I must have been in a huge rush for that not to happen. For that as well,... More 

Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015

We were a party of 9 and they seated us within 5 minutes. Jenni our server was great. She handled our orders like a pro. The Shecrab soup was one of the best we have had. Everyone was happy and full when we left. Portions are hugh. This will be one of our go to places.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David S, General Manager at Salt Water Creek, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! Glad we were able to accommodate your party so quickly :) It's been a bit more tough this summer since we have had the pleasure of being inundated with great patrons that enjoy dinning at our establishment. Also, thank you for pointing out our staff and how the service went. Always helps as a... More 

North Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

We went on a Sunday. I think the person who seated us forgot about us! Never brought any menus then someone brought water that was meant for another table and the brunch menu was an after thought. Things like this happen. The food was good. I had the fish tacos and my partner had a burger, perfectly done! That is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David S, General Manager at Salt Water Creek, responded to this review

My apologizes for the delay in service and appreciation for your understanding about the matter. On the other hand, I'm very happy to hear you enjoy your meals! Upon your next visit, ask for me when you arrive. I would like to personally show you a proper SWC experience :) Hope to see you again soon :) More 

Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

We like to try a new restaurant with each stay. We have been vacationing in Murrells Inlet for 8 years and I don't know why we never tried SWC, but we're sorry we hadn't found it sooner. The location (it sets back off Ocean Hwy just a bit) might is a little different and from the outside it looks a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David S, General Manager at Salt Water Creek, responded to this review

Very glad to hear you enjoyed your time at SWC! I have to admit, during my first interview here, the moment I walked in I knew there was something different about this place. The ambiance pleasantly took me by surprise too :) I've enjoyed everyday I've been here since then :) Also, I'd like to thank you for your very... More 

Scottdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

We had such a pleasant experience here today! It was off the beaten path of Murrel's Inlet and totally worth it. The food offering were so good and unique- wraps, fantastic pizzas, soft shell crab sandwiches, paninis absolutely fantastic. We had the potato skins which had pimento cheese and bacon on top- yummy! But just as importantly the service was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David S, General Manager at Salt Water Creek, responded to this review

Thank you for the colorful and kind review! I love it when people mention specific dishes :) I too am glad that this establishment is removed from the craziness of being right off the water. It allows us to take better care of our locals and visitors! We try to treat each and every person that walks through our door... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

I enjoy going to SWC for lunch and to meet friends in the area. It is out of most of the hustle and bustle of the beach on the south end. The owners are very friendly and the good is outstanding. I have never been disappointed in my food there. Their seafood is outstanding as is their selection of creative... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David S, General Manager at Salt Water Creek, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the wonderful review! The owner, Keith Wolff, created each dish on our menu from scratch. And yes, he's one of the nicest people that are out there :) He genuinely cares about each and every customer that walks through our doors. His energy and kindness is contagious, of which the entire staff has picked up... More 

Travelers who viewed Salt Water Creek also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Salt Water Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 4660 highway 17 bypass, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576
  • Location: United States  >  South Carolina (SC)  >  Coastal South Carolina  >  Murrells Inlet
  • Phone Number: +1 843-357-2433

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 10 - 20
  • Cuisine: American, Pizza, Seafood

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 9:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Salt Water Creek staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?