We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Banana Cabana

$$
American, Southwestern, Seafood
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
1130 Ocean Blvd, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2281
+1 843-886-4360
Website
Today
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night
Description: Welcome to Banana Cabana! We invite you to bring the entire family in to...
Welcome to Banana Cabana! We invite you to bring the entire family in to dine with us, relax and enjoy the food & the view. Located right on the beach of Isle of Palms, we're a family friendly establishment offering great American classics and seafood favorites.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 216 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 78
    Excellent
  • 66
    Very good
  • 46
    Average
  • 11
    Poor
  • 15
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Tasty drinks and appetizers!

We stopped here for lunch while waiting for our rooms. We ordered 3 different types of appetizers which were all super tasty. I also recommend their Rum Punch pitchers and Pina Colodas. Delicious! Great atmosphere as well.

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 15, 2015
OlsenkdNY
,
North Wales, Pennsylvania
via mobile
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Bar scene
  • Local cuisine
Add Photo Write a Review

216 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 NEW via mobile

Stopped in for lunch.Outside was fun and looked out at the water. Drank a pitcher of the r concoction,it was cold and delicious. Had the fresh catch the Mahi. The rub on the fish and the grill was done great!! The sauce for the fish was very flavorful. Nicely seasoned fries. Conch fritters were good too. We would come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Summerville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

I am so glad we happened to walk up to this place. Immediately upon walking in, the place smelled and looked clean. The hostess was smiling and seemed genuinely happy to be at work, as well as the other staff. The outdoor patio was the perfect spot for a relaxing lunch and cocktails oceanside and the food was great. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

We enjoyed the music and the atmosphere but the food was very average. Don't get the crab cakes. Mine were all filler and I ate very little of them.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary H, Owner at Banana Cabana, responded to this review

It's great that you liked our fun atmosphere, but it sounds like we could make our food a little better. We'll work on those crab cakes -- thanks for mentioning it! Take care, Gary and Michael More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

They had live music and sitting outside on a beautiful evening was very nice. We enjoyed that. The food was really basic and okay, nothing to go back for. It seems like most people around were having appetizers and drinks listening to the music. Some looked as though they had been there for quite a while. I can see it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary H, Owner at Banana Cabana, responded to this review

Sounds like you all had a great time sitting outside enjoying the sea breeze and the music. We definitely want our food to be a highlight of our guests' visits, though, so we'll work on that. Thanks so much for the feedback! Best, Gary and Michael More 

Champaign
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

I had a Cheeseburger and my husband had grilled chicken and we didn't walk away disappointed. My husband loved it so much he went back the next day and had the exact same thing. The drinks were very yummy as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary H, Owner at Banana Cabana, responded to this review

So glad you and your husband loved your food and drinks, Ashley! Thanks so much for letting us know -- we hope you all enjoyed your beach trip! Best, Gary and Michael More 

North Wales, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch while waiting for our rooms. We ordered 3 different types of appetizers which were all super tasty. I also recommend their Rum Punch pitchers and Pina Colodas. Delicious! Great atmosphere as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary H, Owner at Banana Cabana, responded to this review

Glad you loved our apps and our tropical cocktails! Sounds like a perfect little beach-day treat. Hope you enjoy your vacation -- we'd love to have you back for dinner! All the best, Gary and Michael More 

North Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

Best place at the beach to get seafood!! Food is fresh good quanity very nice close community feel!! In the evening they even have live music!! Love this place!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary H, Owner at Banana Cabana, responded to this review

We love this review, Tracy! It's such a joy to read about how much you love our fresh seafood and friendly vibe. Hope to see you soon for a show on the patio! All the best, Gary and Michael More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

My family and I went in there on a friday night now I understand it gets busy but I ordered a cuban sandwich that was terrible it was ice cold and had a sour taste like the meat had been around a little too long my wife got the fried shrimp platter. I don't know how you fry something and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary H, Owner at Banana Cabana, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear your meal wasn't the fresh and delicious dinner you were hoping for, Chris. We're as disappointed as you were that your Cuban sandwich was sour and your wife's shrimp was soggy. We hate that you felt you had to warn other beach goers to stay away, but we're glad to have the feedback. We'll definitely do... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

Took my family to eat brunch, was super amazed by the great service not mention the delicious food! the calamari and scallops are to die for!! next time im in Charleston, I will definitely be coming back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary H, Owner at Banana Cabana, responded to this review

We're so happy the scallops and calamari were so impressive, Dean! Thanks for bringing your family in and for leaving us this wonderful review. Oh, and thanks for mentioning the service -- we'll pass it along. Hope to see you soon! Best, Gary and Michael More 

Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

Takeout lunch and dinner, for the beach. Good food, nothing excellent, nothing bad. Burgers, sandwiches, chicken tenders, sides, drinks. Bar had multiple options for beach drinks and all others. Bartender is good, knows how to make a good drink.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary H, Owner at Banana Cabana, responded to this review

We're glad you stopped in to grab a lunch for your beach picnic! Sounds like it was pretty good but, but we wish it had been better. We'll definitely see what we can do to make the food excellent instead of just good. Thanks for the compliments on our drinks! We'll pass them along. All the best, Gary and Michael More 

Travelers who viewed Banana Cabana also viewed

Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Banana Cabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 1130 Ocean Blvd, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2281
  • Location: United States  >  South Carolina (SC)  >  Coastal South Carolina  >  Isle of Palms
  • Phone Number: +1 843-886-4360

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 20
  • Cuisine: American, Southwestern, Seafood

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine

Description

Welcome to Banana Cabana! We invite you to bring the entire family in to dine with us, relax and enjoy the food & the view. Located right on the beach of Isle of Palms, we're a family friendly establishment offering great American classics and seafood favorites.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Banana Cabana staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?