We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 318 Hilton Head Restaurants

Black Marlin Bayside Grill

86 Helmsman Way, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3206
843-785-4950
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 318 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hours:
Mon - Fri 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Sat - Sun 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    229
    92
    28
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A group of us girls were recently there for dinner and I had the chef's special of the day- Horseradish encrusted Mahi Mahi over dirty rice with asparagus and a tomato-chili sauce. I ate every single thing on that plate it was so good! I came home and immediately started searching recipes to find that so that I could make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackmarlinhhi, General Manager at Black Marlin Bayside Grill, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed the Chef Chris's feature Mahi Mahi! He would be happy to share the recipe with you. We can't wait to see you on your next visit to Hilton Head-Spring is the perfect time to plan that next getaway! More 

NJ
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Causal friendly waterfront seafood restaurant in Palmetto Bay Marina. Can eat inside or out. Great selection of fresh seafood cooked however you would like it. Full selection of crabs - Alaskan, Snow, Dungeness. Reasonable prices. Quick service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackmarlinhhi, General Manager at Black Marlin Bayside Grill, responded to this review

Happy to hear you enjoyed the service and selection of shellfish on the menu! We think you will also enjoy our Daily Fresh Catch Selections. Thank you and we hope to see you soon! More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely must try a cappuccino paired with their house-made honey gelato. Seafood medley great filling meal for the steal price. Our server, Amy, gave us delightful suggestions and flawless service. Our mini pin and Italian greyhound give the sweet potato fires 5 stars!

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackmarlinhhi, General Manager at Black Marlin Bayside Grill, responded to this review

So glad you and the pups enjoyed your evening! We were proud to share your compliments of Amy to the entire company! Look forward to seeing you soon-perfect weather on the horizon for you and the pups to enjoy patio dining and Sweet Potato Fries! More 

Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

early dining 4-530p, $15 include soup or salad, entree & a beverage; $2.75 for house wine. Nice warm bread w/meals. Spacious dining area. Great service. Parking across the street.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Warner Robins, GA
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We recently visited the Black Marlin twice. First time because we had a coupon for 50% off the second early bird special and it had some good reviews on Trip Advisor. One of our guests was not feeling well and stayed in, so we ordered a take out meal afterward. Two entrees were fried - one seafood platter and one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Banner Elk, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

A few friends and I were on vacation when the Black Marlin was recommended to us. I had an awful trip, but this restaurant made up for the entire thing! I had the Seafood Alfredo and I still make the statement that I would go back to Hilton Head Island just to eat there again. I was blown away at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackmarlinhhi, General Manager at Black Marlin Bayside Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for the compliments and we are happy to hear that we were a highlight on your visit to Hilton Head. We will work on our speed factor as well! More 

Setauket, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This wonderful and beautiful restaurant serves an early dining option for $15...no lie! I went with a party of 6 and each of us enjoyed our selections tremendously. The winner, a melt in your mouth filet mignon, went for an extra $2. The sides were very good as well. House wine was $2.75 and it was drinkable. The decor and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackmarlinhhi, General Manager at Black Marlin Bayside Grill, responded to this review

So happy you enjoyed our Early Dining Menu. We look forward to your next visit next time try the Stuffed Flounder! More 

BANNER ELK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Food was good. Waitress very lackadaisical, and thus service very poor. She also "lost" my credit card, insisting it was given me, and finally admitted she "had" the card and "lost" it. Scary for security reason. She should be questioned for proprietor's sake.

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackmarlinhhi, General Manager at Black Marlin Bayside Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and we are checking all aspects of security and service with your help. More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great food and drink selection! Fish tacos were wonderful! Would be fantastic to visit in the spring/summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackmarlinhhi, General Manager at Black Marlin Bayside Grill, responded to this review

Thank You! Spring is right around the corner and hope to see you enjoying pato dining at it's finest! More 

Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Black Marlin is somewhat out of the mainstream in Palmetto Bay but many folks find their way to the Black Marlin for always great food and a wonderful environment especially when it is warm enough to sit outside. I had the stuffed flounder with succotash and everything was delicious, service was great and prices reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackmarlinhhi, General Manager at Black Marlin Bayside Grill, responded to this review

Thank you and can't wait to see you on your next visit-Try the Stuffed Shrimp -just a good as the Stuffed Flounder! More 

Travelers who viewed Black Marlin Bayside Grill also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Black Marlin Bayside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Marlin Bayside Grill

Address: 86 Helmsman Way, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3206
Phone Number: 843-785-4950
Location: United States  >  South Carolina (SC)  >  Coastal South Carolina  >  Hilton Head
Open Hours:
Sunday 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Cuisine: American, Seafood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Black Marlin Bayside Grill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?