We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Waterfront Restaurant

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
136 Jungle Rd, Edisto Beach, Edisto Island, SC 29438-3005
843-869-1400
Website
Add hours for The Waterfront Restaurant and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 327 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 98
    Excellent
  • 130
    Very good
  • 56
    Average
  • 21
    Poor
  • 22
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Monday Dinner

It's summer.... So there was a wait. No biggie- they have a bar and a gift shop for the kids to look around in.... The staff was kinda frazzled.... And on Mondays you get free pie with an adult meal... I had the seafood platter (flowers platter)... It's a lot of food... Good... But a lot. We all... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 29, 2015
ClemsonTiger1996
,
Ellijay, Georgia
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Local cuisine
Add Photo Write a Review

327 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellijay, Georgia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 NEW

It's summer.... So there was a wait. No biggie- they have a bar and a gift shop for the kids to look around in.... The staff was kinda frazzled.... And on Mondays you get free pie with an adult meal... I had the seafood platter (flowers platter)... It's a lot of food... Good... But a lot. We all had seafood... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Easley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 NEW

Great seafood, I had the combination with fried flounder, grilled shrimp, and crab cake, my wife had the marinated mahi-mahi. wonderful flavor, i did sneak a bite of the mahi and wished I had some more of that. The grilled shrimp and flounder were fabulous I was not as impressed with the crab cake. I do like mine cooked a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Athens, Georgia
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

I don't know what some of these people here are complaining about because our experience here was great! Got there about 5:15 and was starting to fill up so definitely heed others advice and get here as early as you can. Kathy was our server and she was excellent. She helped guide us thru some of her favorites on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

We like the food (crab soup and crab cakes are best), but this year restaurant offer only bottled water again per $1.5 per bottle. Waitress explain reason simply: RO water from city is not good and drinking a lot of this water will resume to stomach and intestine problems (!?!). So bottled water is just care of visitors' health. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

I would not eat here again. It was just ok. Should have known better when other places were packed and no waiting at the waterfront Also note it is not on the waterfront

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scot F, Owner at The Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello wandering_historian 1, We are disappointed to hear that your recent experience with us could just be considered “ok.” We strive to serve meals that will excite our customers and entice them to return so we do apologize that we did not attain this goal in your eyes. If you are able to inform us as to what dishes you... More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

Restaurant is not open between lunch and dinner. You will not be seated before 5. Just an FYI if you are coming back from anything and want something. Food was good, service was good. Pie was free on Monday from 5-8:30. Strawberry cream pie is delicious. Not many choices on the island, but nothing memorable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

We have been several times and it has always been great food and service! A little slow with a larger party, but great food and not a disappointment!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

The Waterfront was an OK restaurant. We had a 10% coupon since we were staying at Wyndham Ocean Ridge. So we decided to go for Lunch. Overall it wasn't bad. The service was extremely slow. It took us over 1 1/2 hours to to finish lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scot F, Owner at The Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Trei L, It is wonderful to hear that you were offered the exceptional customer service we are known for offering! However, we are disappointed to hear that you had felt that the food tasted like “plastic.” Would you be able to provide us with the names of the dishes you had ordered? We would like to get to the... More 

Ballwin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

My family and I were here on a Monday evening. Overall the food was good but nothing anyone will remember. My husband had the grilled flounder and said it was good and not fishy. I had the special, parmesan grouper, good but once I chewed on the bone that was missed I was done. The kids shrimp was a huge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scot F, Owner at The Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello msssoccer7, While we are happy to hear that you enjoyed components of your experience, we are dismayed to hear that there were certain portions of the experience that were not quite up to par. We sincerely apologize that you had found a bone in your fish as this is highly unacceptable and not a typical occurrence in our restaurant.... More 

Solon, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

Get here early for dinner during the summer. Opens at 5 and we got a table fine. By the time we left at 6 they were waiting outside! Very good waitress Kathy. Great food at reasonable price. My husband and sister had the grouper special and they said it was outstanding. Very popular spot on Edisto. A guy was playing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed The Waterfront Restaurant also viewed

Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Waterfront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Restaurant

Address: 136 Jungle Rd, Edisto Beach, Edisto Island, SC 29438-3005
Phone Number: 843-869-1400
Location: United States  >  South Carolina (SC)  >  Coastal South Carolina  >  Edisto Island
Cuisine: Seafood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 136 Jungle Rd, Edisto Beach, Edisto Island, SC 29438-3005
  • Location: United States  >  South Carolina (SC)  >  Coastal South Carolina  >  Edisto Island
  • Phone Number: 843-869-1400

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Seafood

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Waterfront Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?