We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Lion Inn

English
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Babell, Holywell CH8 8PZ, Wales
01352720239
Add hours for The Black Lion Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 53 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 31
    Excellent
  • 12
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Beautiful food

First timer here and very impressed. Good was spot on and impressed at how hot it was when it came out, not often that food is very very hot but this isn't a criticism at all! I had mushrooms in filo basket for starter and pork roast for main. All of it was so tasty and would definitely return... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed February 17, 2015
JazzyMazzyMoo
,
North wales
via mobile
Good for:
  • Local cuisine
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015 NEW

Excellent Food Well Presented Staff Very Polite Recommend The Food To All Will Be Returning Again Compliments To Chef Thank You Mr And Mrs White

Was this review helpful? Yes
Flintshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

We go to The Black Lion on a fairly regular basis. The Ales are from local micro breweries and are mostly very good ( they are happy for you to try before you buy ), The food is all locally sourced and of very good quality. It is well cooked and well presented. The staff are friendly and helpful. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

We vist the Black Lion on a regular basis.Children are always made very welcome. Food is lovely, never had a bad meal and staff are very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BlackLionInn, Owner at The Black Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you! I've passed your review on to the team. More 

North wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015 via mobile

First timer here and very impressed. Good was spot on and impressed at how hot it was when it came out, not often that food is very very hot but this isn't a criticism at all! I had mushrooms in filo basket for starter and pork roast for main. All of it was so tasty and would definitely return and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlackLionInn, Owner at The Black Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, a great moral boost for the team! More 

Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

We have been here a few times now and the quality of the food has been consistently good. Only criticism being that this last time service was slower than one would expect, given that the restaurant was by no means full. But, there was a good menu with many choices. This is an 'out of the way' pub / restaurant,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlackLionInn, Owner at The Black Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and thank you for the comments made. It is always a great feeling to be able to pass a good review onto my staff, I have noted your comment on the slower than usual service, and we are adressing minor issues through continued staff training. Many thanks Jane Russell More 

flintshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

What a fantastic place . We had amazing food and the owners were brilliant would highly recommend this lovely restaurant .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Buckley, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

I went there with a friend - we booked for 6 pm on a Thursday and enjoyed a really good meal - it was fine dining - I can see why they won a local food award recently. Not a wide selection of vegetarian meals on offer but quality rather than quantity. My friend enjoyed a fish dish which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BlackLionInn, Owner at The Black Lion Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed our vegetarian offering. We do try and have a vergetarian dish on our specals board also now, which is available on a Friday and Saturday. I have passed your comment onto our team of chefs, they were very happy! Many thanks again Jane Forkings-Russell More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Have visited several times for pie night steak night and fish n chips Friday. All excellent value Great food and good service. Have also had Sunday lunch which again was really good Well worth a visit. Booking advisable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlackLionInn, Owner at The Black Lion Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, and for your lovely comments. its great to have feed back on your offers and know that you are getting it right. I have passed your comments onto my team, many thanks again, Jane Forkings Russell More 

Holywell, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Don't usually review restaurants but just had to tell the world what a fab meal I had. Welsh chicken absolutely fantastic, Elderflower cheesecake to die for x looking forward to the next time. Waiting on staff were attentive but not ott - just perfect!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BlackLionInn, Owner at The Black Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Black Lion, and for your lovely comments. I have passed your review on to my team, it's always great to know we're getting things right, thank you! More 

Holywell,Flintshire
Level Contributor
113 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Fish and chip supper, with a pint, £7.95, in "exclusive" restaurant, special offer on Friday evenings. Sounded good, but was a big disappointment. Friendly young female staff. This meal must be consumed in the bar area or adjoining room, but not in the restaurant. The white fish in batter had an unusually strange taste and after-taste. Not even sure what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BlackLionInn, Owner at The Black Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to us. Our fish and chip Friday deal is as you say, home cooked fish and hand cut chips and a drink to the value of £3.00, served in newspaper and available casually around the bar, as advertised in numerous posters in the... More 

Travelers who viewed The Black Lion Inn also viewed

 
Holywell, Flintshire
Holywell, Flintshire
 

Been to The Black Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Lion Inn

Address: Babell, Holywell CH8 8PZ, Wales
Phone Number: 01352720239
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Flintshire  >  Holywell  >  Babell
Cuisine: English

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Babell, Holywell CH8 8PZ, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Flintshire  >  Holywell  >  Babell
  • Phone Number: 01352720239

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: English

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Black Lion Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Black Lion Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?