We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Charlestown Restaurants

Nordic Lodge

178 E Passquisett Trail, Charlestown, RI 02813
+1 401-783-4515
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $90 - $100
Hours:
Sun 3:00 pm - 6:30 pm
Fri 5:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Sat 4:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Cuisines: Dessert, Seafood, Steakhouse, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet
Description: Unlimited high end buffet featuring lobster, prime rib, filet mignon, scallops, shrimp, oysters, clams, fresh fruits, seafood and many other salads, gourmet dessert bar including chocolate covered strawberries and cherries, carrot cake, cheesecake, strawberry shortcake, apple blossoms and even Haagan Dazs ice cream bar.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    24
    6
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

I can't believe we've never tried this place, since it's only a few minutes away. People drive and even fly for hours just to come here. The reason they make the journey is simple: top quality food, as much as you can eat in two hours. At $91 per adult, it's not cheap, but the New England lobsters, Alaskan crabs,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa B, Manager at Nordic Lodge, responded to this review

What's to say Geneva ? You addressed a lot of different topics in your review that I know concern some folks- like the crowds and the value etc. Thank you for that. I also appreciate the mention that we are right in your back yard and this was your first time coming to see us. Funny how that is. You... More

Township of Washington, NJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I don't know how to describe this place. I will say I hurt when I left as did the rest of our party. Family owned and operated, and they ARE there. Food, loads of it, service, excellent, choices, you are in for an adventure. ALL you can EAT for Prime Ribs to Lobsters (whole lobster), fresh clams on the half... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lisa B, Manager at Nordic Lodge, responded to this review

Well we sure don't want our guests is pain LOL. Yes- our family is on site- in numbers, every day. We have roughly 12 of us in the mix on any given weekend. There definitely is a wide variety of foods to choose from as noted- and it's all of only the best quality. Hope we get another opportunity to... More

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

We traveled 2 hours tonight to have dinner at Nordic. Food and staff was top shelf. Lobster, shrimp and prime rib was awsome. Oysters and muscles were fair. Vegetables and deserts looked good but I'm too full to try. House merlot was just okay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lisa B, Manager at Nordic Lodge, responded to this review

Glad to here you enjoyed your time with us! I sure hope that next time you save at least a little room for dessert as that section really has some things you won't want to pass by again, lol. More

Long Island, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Expensive...food is first rate. Staff is friendly and very helpful. Property is gorgeous. I don't think I ate $91.00 worth of food...well maybe. I ate 8 lobsters, the prime rib and steaks are heaven and dessert...WOW. If its in your budget, you love seafood, and you have two hours to kill, this is your place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Lisa B, Manager at Nordic Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for sharing. Glad you found so much to your liking ! Looking forward to providing more memorable experiences for you in the future. More

South Weymouth, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

We had a wonderful experience as first time guests at the Nordic yesterday. It was a great time. We were heartily welcomed, checked in and got a drink. We got our table, settled in and went through the buffet. Top shelf all the way! The employees are all great ambassadors and the place was spotless, including the rest rooms. Spent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Lisa B, Manager at Nordic Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a great review. We surely do pride ourselves on attention to detail and grateful you noted and enjoyed our efforts. Hope we have the pleasure of your company again soon. More

Henrietta, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

My husband and I visited the Nordic Lodge this past spring and we still rave about it to friends and family. Everyone we spoke to wants to join us on the next visit so we'll probably have a bus load of folks following us to the Lodge next year. Our waitress was great she even showed us and easy way... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lisa B, Manager at Nordic Lodge, responded to this review

We are very grateful for your awesome review ! We'd love to have you back with a small group and also with a busload of close family and friends. Reservations are accepted for groups of 20 or more, so feel free to submit a reservation request form via our website whenever you're ready and we'll get that space secured for... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014 via mobile

Excellent!!! So much food.This was the first time I ever experience eating a whole lobster. My favorite was the crab legs. I was so stuff with the lobster I didn't get a chance to taste the other meat. I really enjoyed the desserts. My favorite was the chocolate covered cherries. The hospitality was awesome from the time we came in.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lisa B, Manager at Nordic Lodge, responded to this review

So glad to hear the Nordic provided your very first lobster experience! The crab really is awesome too. I sure hope you get to try some of the items you couldn't fit when you come and see us again. I'm with you about the chocolate covered cherries too. They are fantastic! Hope we have the pleasure of your company again... More

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We had seen Nordic Lodge on the Travel Channel quite a while back, and my husband and I both being lobster lovers vowed we would someday go. So, as summer was waning in the Adirondacks, we decided to just take off. We were not at all disappointed! What a wonderful, friendly place. It is no lie, no waiting for lobster... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lisa B, Manager at Nordic Lodge, responded to this review

So glad you were able to include us in your recent travel plans! Great to hear also that you had such a great time and that you were able to enjoy the extra special offering of the free live lobster to go on that day as well. We encourage all our visitors to keep there eyes on our website, our... More

New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I am sorry to say that after traveling 3hrs. By bus to get there for the buffet because I love lobster the lobster was terrible. It had no taste. It was very very tough and very hard ti chew. A place like the Nordic could do so much better they should be ashamed to serve lobster that I wouldn't even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Lisa B, Manager at Nordic Lodge, responded to this review

Very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our offerings Condee. We have cooked thousands of pounds of lobster each week and have satisfied the palates of hundreds of thousands of guests during the time we have offered our buffet which is 34 years. Very, very sorry to hear you were not one of them. More

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We planned a Bus trip and it was worth the ride. The portions are endless and ever thing was fresh. Take the time to eat, tour the grounds, and sit by the firepit. There is plenty to eat even for the non seafood lovers. Try it once, you will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lisa B, Manager at Nordic Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for sharing Dee. So glad to hear your bus trip to come and see us was everything you hoped for. Looking forward to another opportunity to host you and please keep in mind we are open to walk in guests also. You do not have to come on a bus trip to visit. More

Travelers who viewed Nordic Lodge also viewed

Charlestown, South County
Charlestown, South County
 
Charlestown, South County
Charlestown, South County
 

Been to Nordic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing