We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nordic Lodge

178 E Passquisett Trail, Charlestown, RI 02813
401-783-4515
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
29 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    22
    7
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014 via mobile

Excellent!!! So much food.This was the first time I ever experience eating a whole lobster. My favorite was the crab legs. I was so stuff with the lobster I didn't get a chance to taste the other meat. I really enjoyed the desserts. My favorite was the chocolate covered cherries. The hospitality was awesome from the time we came in.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We had seen Nordic Lodge on the Travel Channel quite a while back, and my husband and I both being lobster lovers vowed we would someday go. So, as summer was waning in the Adirondacks, we decided to just take off. We were not at all disappointed! What a wonderful, friendly place. It is no lie, no waiting for lobster... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa B, Manager at Nordic Lodge, responded to this review

So glad you were able to include us in your recent travel plans! Great to hear also that you had such a great time and that you were able to enjoy the extra special offering of the free live lobster to go on that day as well. We encourage all our visitors to keep there eyes on our website, our... More

New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I am sorry to say that after traveling 3hrs. By bus to get there for the buffet because I love lobster the lobster was terrible. It had no taste. It was very very tough and very hard ti chew. A place like the Nordic could do so much better they should be ashamed to serve lobster that I wouldn't even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lisa B, Manager at Nordic Lodge, responded to this review

Very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our offerings Condee. We have cooked thousands of pounds of lobster each week and have satisfied the palates of hundreds of thousands of guests during the time we have offered our buffet which is 34 years. Very, very sorry to hear you were not one of them. More

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We planned a Bus trip and it was worth the ride. The portions are endless and ever thing was fresh. Take the time to eat, tour the grounds, and sit by the firepit. There is plenty to eat even for the non seafood lovers. Try it once, you will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa B, Manager at Nordic Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for sharing Dee. So glad to hear your bus trip to come and see us was everything you hoped for. Looking forward to another opportunity to host you and please keep in mind we are open to walk in guests also. You do not have to come on a bus trip to visit. More

North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Visited with colleagues from work. I love sea food very much. For the price they charge and for what is served, it is worth a visit. I would rate this the best sea food buffet restaurant in New England.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa B, Manager at Nordic Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for sharing. Grateful you feel that way and that you took the time to share. Hope we have the pleasure of your company again soon. More

Destin, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We arrived 6:30 p.m. on the dot on Sunday, 8/3 and was afraid we were going to miss the last seating because they only allow you to dine for 2 hours. Trust me, that's a long time because after eating 2 of their large lobsters, I was full and there were still many more items I had to try like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lisa B, Manager at Nordic Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the awesome review Mary ! One thing I'd like to clarify is that we seat up until the closing time each night. The buffets remain open later so there's is no need to arrive 2 hours before closing to enjoy the full dining time. I love how you mention that it's not possible to enjoy all... More

Bayville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

So we were headed back from Maine after we did lobster fest there. My brother and I were frustrated by the portion sizes we received during our visit there .So he was googling all you can eat lobster and up popped the Nordic Lounge. We fasted for about 18 hours before hitting this place. It took about one hour of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa B, Manager at Nordic Lodge, responded to this review

Wow ! Kevin is sure sounds like you enjoyed your self ! Your reference to portions size is awesome. Clearly that is not an issue with us. You can enjoy as much as you like of whatever you like and it sounds like you sure did ! Thanks for sharing and we look forward to seeing you again whenever your... More

Windsor, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We try to go at least once a year! The price tends to scare people away, but I think it's worth every penny. Gratuity is included. Where in the world could you eat all this QUALITY food for one price. Figured our bill at a so-so restaurant would have been over $400 easy (not to mention the tip). Besides the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa B, Manager at Nordic Lodge, responded to this review

Incredibly well said! Thank you. A review like this is humbling and we are so grateful for that. We work very hard to ensure this kind of experience for all our guests and are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to hosting you again soon and please keep sharing the Nordic love all over Windsor,... More

Dutchess
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Don't even know where to start on this. Restaurant opened at 5 and we got there about fifteen minutes before and they were already taking names down for seating. We were seated pretty quickly (while we were waiting, the family explored the grounds outside which are really beautiful and I charged my phone inside on the charging station that they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa B, Manager at Nordic Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for sharing Toni. You covered a lot of bases by mentioning the short wait and things you enjoyed while doing so, the selection, the attention to detail (charging station), the service and more. Sounds like you and your family will likely be back and we are grateful for that. We look forward to providing you with another... More

West Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The grounds are beautiful. Sometimes you have to wait a little while to get in but there is plenty to see, a lake, animals, etc There is also a portable bar that will serve you while you wait. The staff is friendly and helpful. I always leave my largest tips to their staff. The food is excellent and worth the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lisa B, Manager at Nordic Lodge, responded to this review

WOW! Such a complete and positive review ! Thank you so much for sharing. Very grateful that you covered so many bases regarding the service, the grounds and overall experience. Our location is tricky so thanks for mentioning that also. One of the most special things about us is our location but it does come at a price. We are... More

Travelers who viewed Nordic Lodge also viewed

Charlestown, South County
Charlestown, South County
 
Charlestown, South County
Charlestown, South County
 

Been to Nordic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nordic Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing