We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ugly Mug

217 Main St, White Haven, PA 18661-1406
+1 570-443-7684
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 24 restaurants in White Haven
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Family Fare
Description: The Mug is under new management as of September 2013. The new owners are great, they put customer satisfaction first.The food is fantastic and the atmosphere is comfortable.
Restaurant details
Description: The Mug is under new management as of September 2013. The new owners are great, they put customer satisfaction first.The food is fantastic and the atmosphere is comfortable.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

51% Recommend
    9
    5
    3
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 NEW via mobile

Deep fried buffalo perogies thumbs up. Fresh food cooked perfect. Chicken on chicken pram was thick and juicy. Other guest I was with enjoyed their meals also. Driving to Knowles feom New Jersey. Definitely a great spot to stop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I've stopped into the Ugly Mug on two separate, recent occasions. The proprietor is incredibly friendly. The atmosphere is casual, and family-friendly, just perfect after a day of rafting, hiking, or other outdoor activities in the area. Definitely recommend folks stop by. Try the pierogies!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tafton, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My husband and I stopped in for a "cold one" and a bite to eat after a day spent biking on the nearby trail. The food was wonderful, the beers were cold and the atmosphere was friendly. We had a great time talking with the owner and the regular patrons. This place is worth a visit!! Cathy and Chris Becker

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Benton, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We were waiting for family to arrive. They were late. The owner tried to find out where they were and was very helpful. When they got there we had lunch. Food was VERY good and the service was great. I will go back again and highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Stopped on our way home to eat. Staff and owner really nice, sandwiches were great and so were the home cut fries. Check it out

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sewell, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

When I accidentally left a souvenir at the table the owner personally got in his truck and tracked me and my friends down in order to return it and only asked for us to have a nice day in return. Other than that the food took a while to come out, but was very good when it did. Everybody had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Palm Springs, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We were hoping for a good meal based on the reviews about the new management. Unfortunately we were very disappointed. Food took a long time to come out and when it did appear it was mediocre at best. Will not go back

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christina D, Owner at The Ugly Mug, responded to this review

im sorry your expiernce was un pleasant. however i need more info to check into what happened .as you can see all other reviews are complimentry and this is what i strive for. we always ask if the customers are satisifed and it was not brought to my attention about your discomfort. if you read this please email me at... More

Atco, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We went to the Ugly Mug while camping in White Haven for my birthday in April. It had a real local feel while remaining very welcoming to visitors. If you are looking for some good company, an authentic White Haven experience and excellent drinks, this is the place to go!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hockessin, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stopped in the Ugly Mug for lunch over the weekend and had a great meal. The restaurant has been renovated and is warm and inviting. We sat at the bar and talked to Charlie, the owner and his staff, Lauren and Christina. Everyone was friendly and welcoming and the food was fabulous. We had such a good experience that we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Went into the Ugly Mug this past weekend. Hadn't been there in a few years but used to go when I was a kid. The Ugly Mug has new ownership and is under new management. All I can say is WOW! The place has changed for the better. We ate at the bar and the owner Charley happened to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Ugly Mug also viewed

White Haven, Luzerne County
White Haven, Luzerne County
 
White Haven, Luzerne County
White Haven, Luzerne County
 

Been to The Ugly Mug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ugly Mug, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing