We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

River Rock Inn American Bistro

210 2nd Street, Milford, PA 18337
570-296-7177
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 40 restaurants in Milford
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Country Inn
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Country Inn
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    29
    15
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Everything went great and I do recommend the restaurant. Will be going back again whenever is possible.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hawley, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Some members of our car club thought we'd support this struggling restaurant because we'd like to see the Ken, the owner/chef succeed. So 17 of us went for what is best described as "Gourmet Burger Night". The regular menu was also available. We made a reservation, so there should have been no surprise at the large group. Some of us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Union, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Found this inn because no other inns had any availability for a last minute weekend getaway and boy was I lucky! It had such a feel of home to it, so quiet and comfortable. It's located just walking distance away from downtown in a quiet area. The staff was very pleasant and sweet. Check in was super easy. We had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Boylston, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Good cocktail, a great meal and excellent service -- felt like I was treated as a special guest. Our table was cozy and the noise level was plenty low for conversation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shohola, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Came here with friends and we were all disappointed. Nothing was terrible, just not very interesting and the food was bland. The décor seems worn and dated. Appears to be a lack interest by the staff to take things a step further from mediocre to good. Ok place to grab a bite I guess but wouldn't be my first choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Milford, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Even after a revamping of this restaurant-inn on Hotel Hell by Gordon Ramsay, the food is mediocre, the wines sometimes bad, and if you sit in the larger dining room the lighting and atmosphere is atrocious. And it's expensive. It's a shame because the chef/owner has in the past done some wonderful food. But the last two times we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
rivrock, Owner at River Rock Inn American Bistro, responded to this review

Hi, sorry that dinner has been so bad lately. We have taken a hit with many people moving out of the county along this downward economy so you might of noticed that many restaurants have been struggling or just closed up. I make no excuses but the money isnt there to redo the place and many cutbacks have been made.... More

Baldwin, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I would have to wholeheartedly agree with a previous review that I read on this place: "Restaurants That Try to Pass Off White Rice as Risotto: #2 River Rock Inn in Milford, PA" This was my first trip to Milford with my fiance, and we were hoping for a nice dinner on our first night. Unfortunately, we did not have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Baldwin, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was my first trip to Milford with my fiance, and we were hoping for a nice dinner on our first night. Unfortunately, we did not have a very good experience. If I had to sum it up in one word, I would say mediocre. Coming in to the restuarant, a folded up piece of paper kept the door closed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
rivrock, Owner at River Rock Inn American Bistro, responded to this review

My appologies, I never knew of your mediocre dinner and horrible night that you had at my restaurant. please give me a call direct and I will refund your money immediatly. I am a hard working man trying to make a living by making people happy when they come out to dinner and if I did not do that then... More

Wyckoff, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had a repass at the River Rock in this October. Chef Ken made this event warm and wonderful for all of our guests. The food was amazing, especially the desserts. He and his staff were so accomodating. The are very special folks. We could not have been more pleased.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Milford, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Great food! Facility run down. Ceiling over dining room falling down over our heads and floors filthy. Bathrooms grungy on the second floor. The owners should invest some $ on maintenance. Waitstaff friendly and spot on with service. Dinner and drinks for four $125.00. Get the mushroom bisque!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
rivrock, Owner at River Rock Inn American Bistro, responded to this review

Hi, I thank you for you reply and so very happy that you enjoyed the meal and service you had when you dined with us. A plumbing repair was made and the tiles were just screwed back up and it is not a well done repair, but, I assure you that it is not falling down atop of you and... More

Travelers who viewed River Rock Inn American Bistro also viewed

Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to River Rock Inn American Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Rock Inn American Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing