We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Mollymook Restaurants

Bannisters

191 Mitchell Pde | Bannisters, Mollymook, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2539, Australia
61 2 4455 3044
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Mollymook
Price range: $43 - $130
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Our restaurant is a reflection of Rick's passion for seafood and the coastal lifestyle which he has enjoyed for most of his life. As he says: "nothing is so exhilarating as fresh fish, simply cooked". He believes that fresh seafood should speak for itself. While he enjoys occasional fine dining, his food is much more about what he really likes to eat: a plate of Clyde River oysters, a pot of Illawarra prawns with mayonnaise, a mound of spanner crab, a slice of blue eye or a perfectly grilled sand whiting.We like our service to be informal but observant and enjoy employing local people who may lack the total polish of fine dining restaurants, but who more than make up for it with a genuine welcome.Peter Bacon, General Manager
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    92
    49
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014 NEW

We went for three courses with wine, port and coffee. Every dish was amazing. We shared each dish we ordered. It is rare that we can say nine dishes were consistently wonderful. The service was great and the wine selection nicely balanced with the food. A few quirks that you should not let you off. The text with a link... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters, responded to this review

Hello Richard, I am so pleased you had an enjoyable time with us and got to sample quite few dishes on the menu! Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Peter Bacon General manager More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

If you like seafood this is the place to visit. Unpretentious, fresh and well cooked seafood and very attentive service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters, responded to this review

Hello Sarah, I am thrilled to hear you had a wonderful time at our restaurant. As I said in my reply to your hotel review, please feel free to touchbase directly for your next stay. Best regards, Peter Bacon General Manager More

Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014 via mobile

We celebrated my wife's birthday with a lovely lunch. I requested a window table, explaining the occasion in my request. The table provided a lovely view of the sea through the trees, and what a Cham Nagging scene it was from bright sunshine to stormy showers. My wife was greeted with congratulations and best wishes and the celebratory theme continued... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters, responded to this review

Hello muzblue, Thank you very much for your recommendation. I am so pleased your wife was well looked after for her birthday, we do love a special occasion! I hope to welcome you both back to Bannisters. Best regards, Peter Bacon General manager More

Devonport, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

We had lunch on a Sunday and had to pay a surcharge. My husband had the fish curry and loved it. I had the battered barramundi and chips and was disappointed. It was still a nice meal but I expected better. The fish and chips I had at the Eden Pub was just as good and a fraction of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters, responded to this review

Dear Juss83, It is disappointing to hear your lunch did not live up to expectations. If you have any further feedback for me I would very much like to speak to you personally and to follow up on your online booking. If you have a moment, my details are below. Best regards, Peter Bacon General Manager Peterbacon@bannisters.com.au More

Cootamundra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

I ordered Indonesian seafood curry & it was so delicious I wanted to lick the plate. The matching Riesling which was suggested by waiter was excellent. My husband ordered fish & chips with pea mash. Even thou it tasted great he thought the meal was on the tiny side for a man. Cocktail mojito was one of the best ever.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters, responded to this review

Hello Annette, Thank you very much for the lovely review! Great to hear you enjoyed your curry that Phil paired with a delightful Riesling. I do hope get a chance to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Peter Bacon General Manager More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

I'm local, been twice , atrocious twice! I have never heard a good word from anyone who has been there, unfortunately.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters, responded to this review

Hello Krooza11, That is very disappointing to hear. We have quite a few regulars who are local and do our best make sure everyone leaves satisfied. I’d appreciate it if you could touch base with me by email, or pop down and we can have a coffee and discuss. Best regards, Peter Bacon General Manager Peterbacon@bannisters.com.au More

Riffa, Bahrain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Wonderful setting and very attentive service. Enjoyed the menu as you could hear Rick Stein's voice in it. Enjoyed the warm seafood for entree-it was a great collection of molluscs, prawns, and crab. The fish mains were cooked to perfection, but needed the sides to substantiate the dish. The rolled pavlova was a delicious dessert. For a special event the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters, responded to this review

Hello Trishb2302, Thank you for your lovely review, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's great that Rick’s personality came though in the menu, he is very passionate about the dishes! We look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards, Peter Bacon General Manager More

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

My parter and I recently dined here. It was a pleasant evening and while the food was good, it wasn't amazing. After we finished our entrees, it was a long time to main (and other diners who arrived after us were leaving) and I was about to chase it when staff apologied for the delay - there was a backlog... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters, responded to this review

Hello Intrepidtraveller35, It’s good to hear your had a pleasant evening, and thank you for your suggestions for improvement. We have a few newer staff members and evidently some intensive training needed in the build up to the busy period! Let me know when you're back and i'll shout you both a drink. Best regards, Peter Bacon General Manager More

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

It's no fun writing a bad review. It's easy to criticise and I'd much prefer to be positive. But a group of 10 of us made our way to Mollymook (stunning by the way) from Sydney on Saturday. We were in the 845 seating, which is pretty late. We came in good spirits and ready for a great meal but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters, responded to this review

Dear Greg, It is disappointing to hear that your experience did not live up to expectations, particularly as your group travelled quite a distance to Mollymook. As discussed with you directly, our restaurant manager Lola will be facilitating some training with our staff and I will be sure to raise some of your suggestions and points with Rick when he... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

My wife and I had lunch here in October. The setting is wonderful with its views over the ocean, the staff are nicely attentive without being overbearing but the food left us with mixed feeling. We had scallops and mussels for entrée which were great but the main meals lacked the same “X” factor of the entrees. My wife had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters, responded to this review

Hi Alastair, Thank you for your review. I can appreciate your feedback in the spirit it was intended and will be following up with Paul, our Head Chef. Feel free to touch base directly on your next trip and Paul will personally ensure your whole meal features the X factor! Best regards, Peter Bacon General Manager More

Travelers who viewed Bannisters also viewed

 
Milton, Shoalhaven
 

Been to Bannisters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannisters

Address: 191 Mitchell Pde | Bannisters, Mollymook, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2539, Australia
Phone Number: 61 2 4455 3044
Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Shoalhaven  >  Mollymook
Average Prices: USD 43 - 130
Cuisine: Seafood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing