We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Huskisson (Husky Pub)

$$
Gastropub, Coffee Shop, Pub, Brasserie
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
73 Owen Street, Huskisson, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
+61 2 4441 5001
Website
Add hours for The Huskisson (Husky Pub) and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Hearty pub meals in relaxed bistro style, overlooking the picturesque...
Hearty pub meals in relaxed bistro style, overlooking the picturesque waterfront of Huskisson, on the NSW South Coast. Steaks, seafood, pizzas, salads, kids meals.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 144 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 29
    Excellent
  • 56
    Very good
  • 24
    Average
  • 15
    Poor
  • 20
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Great location but service was terrible

Great location to sit on the back deck and enjoy the sun in the afternoon. Unfortunately it wasn't overly busy when we went but we still queued for some time and then waited an eternity for the food to be ready. Bar service was also average and I was left standing there with staff looking at me but... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed May 17, 2015
Mjs181
,
Sydney, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vincentia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

A great atmosphere and view make dining here for lunch and dinner a must during your stay in the area. A great food and wine selection too, catering for all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

Great location to sit on the back deck and enjoy the sun in the afternoon. Unfortunately it wasn't overly busy when we went but we still queued for some time and then waited an eternity for the food to be ready. Bar service was also average and I was left standing there with staff looking at me but not offering... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, Guest Relations Manager at The Huskisson (Husky Pub), responded to this review

We are sorry you were disappointed with the service and wait times during your visit, and wish you'd made them known to us at the time. However, you're right that the afternoon sun and views from the back deck are pretty spectacular! We are continually finding ways to improve our great customer service so your feedback has been taken on... More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

The food here can be a bit hit and miss, depending who is working on the day. The location and view is worth going just for a drink. It is pricey for pub style food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, Guest Relations Manager at The Huskisson (Husky Pub), responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback and we're glad you enjoyed our magnificent location... and those views. We think you'll find our pricing is competitive considering our range of fresh, local produce and seasonal menus. Most of our guests appreciate that this is modern Australian-style food rather than traditional pub 'grub' you may have been expecting. Nevertheless, your thoughts have been taken... More 

wollongong
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

A beautiful location for dinner with well priced meals. Being a coeliac they catered well and made all the meals gluten free so that i may be able to try what my paterner was eating. I had the gluten free smoked chicken salad with avaocado bacon and slivered almonds.... OMG.... if only i could have their recipe for it... I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Warrnambool, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

'The Huskisson' is clearly the place to be on a Saturday night, but not for us. We walked into the pub and stood in the foyer for 10 minutes wondering where to go or what to do, I stood in a line 20 people long that was for ordering before I flagged down a waitress who was running around with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MissLucyJane, Manager at The Huskisson (Husky Pub), responded to this review

Thanks for your review Phoebe, and we're sorry you felt as though our wait staff weren't attentive when you first arrived during your visit. If you had stayed, you would certainly see why it was so busy: fresh local seafood, delicious pizzas, burgers, salads and grass-fed Shoalhaven premium beef and lamb. Unfortunately, during the bustling easter holiday period (when you... More 

Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Popped in for a quick lunch.. not too hungry so ordered Pizza and salad to share.Total cost $29 including Sunday surcharge What a great surprise! Best pizza i have had for a long time.Full of ingredients and a crisp base.Side salad was fresh, flavoursome and just enough dressing. Great views with spacious seating so we did not have someone sitting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015 via mobile

I have been to the husky pub four times as i have usually met friends there and the area surrounding is beautiful. However I will never eat there again. The food is way over priced for a pub. I would understand if the food was good but it was terrible. I order a seafood plate for one that cost $40.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MissLucyJane, Manager at The Huskisson (Husky Pub), responded to this review

We're very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your meals... we will take your feedback on board with kitchen and wait staff. We can assure guests, however, that our seafood is definitely fresh and local. Unfortunately, at busy times such as the December-February holiday period, wait times are longer than usual and we have extra staff on to cope... More 

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Two of the worst steaks ever tried to eat. One over cooked with cold chewy fat. The other stone cold in the middle. Scallops one chewy like rubber. The other so cold you gag and can't eat it. With such poor food preparation it's only a matter of time someone gets truly sick eating here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Steve B, Owner at The Huskisson (Husky Pub), responded to this review

Garth, we take your accusations about our food preparation and safety very seriously and suspect your defamatory review may contravene review guidelines. Nevertheless, we are sorry you were disappointed in your meal and wish you'd made your feelings known to our service manager at the time so we had an opportunity to rectify the situation. If you had, we would... More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

My family dined here today at lunch with friends who recommended this pub. The meal cost $160 for such ordinary fare. There were two major flaws with this place. Firstly we had to queue for 20 minutes simply to order. Secondly I ordered a salad that sounded good on the menu but should have cost $10 not $22. It promised... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Steve B, Manager at The Huskisson (Husky Pub), responded to this review

We're sorry you were disappointed with your salad and the amount of feta therein. We wish you'd made your concerns known to our service manager at the time, as we have little opportunity to make it up to you now — we sincerely hope you have found better feta elsewhere, nevertheless. We have updated our ordering process since your review,... More 

Nowra, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Have been here several times mainly because our friends live nearby and it is where we go for an evening swim in the summer. The food s OK can't really fault it but it is a pub and the food is expensive especially when you have to queue up to order, then fight your way through the crowd to pick... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve B, Owner at The Huskisson (Husky Pub), responded to this review

Thanks for your review and sorry you were disappointed with your meal this time. we have reviewed our food and drinks ordering processes in response to your review and now use dedicated ordering areas, which we feel addresses your concerns. Please make yourself known to our manager next time you're at the hotel, as we'd love to give you a... More 

Travelers who viewed The Huskisson (Husky Pub) also viewed

Huskisson, Shoalhaven
Huskisson, Shoalhaven
 
Huskisson, Shoalhaven
Huskisson, Shoalhaven
 

Been to The Huskisson (Husky Pub)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 73 Owen Street, Huskisson, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Shoalhaven  >  Huskisson
  • Phone Number: +61 2 4441 5001

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 15 - 30
  • Cuisine: Gastropub, Coffee Shop, Pub, Brasserie

Description

Hearty pub meals in relaxed bistro style, overlooking the picturesque waterfront of Huskisson, on the NSW South Coast. Steaks, seafood, pizzas, salads, kids meals.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Huskisson (Husky Pub) staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?