We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Husky Beach Bites

Coffee Shop, Pub, Brasserie
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
64 Owen Street, Huskisson, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
+61 2 4441 5245
Add hours for Husky Beach Bites and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Hearty pub meals in relaxed bistro style, overlooking the picturesque...
Hearty pub meals in relaxed bistro style, overlooking the picturesque waterfront of Huskisson, on the NSW South Coast. Steaks, seafood, pizzas, salads, kids meals.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 138 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 27
    Excellent
  • 55
    Very good
  • 22
    Average
  • 15
    Poor
  • 19
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Bun fight at the counter

Have been here several times mainly because our friends live nearby and it is where we go for an evening swim in the summer. The food s OK can't really fault it but it is a pub and the food is expensive especially when you have to queue up to order, then fight your way through the crowd to pick... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed September 17, 2014
eaglereach184
,
Nowra, Australia
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015 via mobile

I have been to the husky pub four times as i have usually met friends there and the area surrounding is beautiful. However I will never eat there again. The food is way over priced for a pub. I would understand if the food was good but it was terrible. I order a seafood plate for one that cost $40.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MissLucyJane, Manager at Husky Beach Bites, responded to this review

We're very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your meals... we will take your feedback on board with kitchen and wait staff. We can assure guests, however, that our seafood is definitely fresh and local. Unfortunately, at busy times such as the December-February holiday period, wait times are longer than usual and we have extra staff on to cope... More 

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Two of the worst steaks ever tried to eat. One over cooked with cold chewy fat. The other stone cold in the middle. Scallops one chewy like rubber. The other so cold you gag and can't eat it. With such poor food preparation it's only a matter of time someone gets truly sick eating here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Steve B, Owner at Husky Beach Bites, responded to this review

Garth, we take your accusations about our food preparation and safety very seriously and suspect your defamatory review may contravene review guidelines. Nevertheless, we are sorry you were disappointed in your meal and wish you'd made your feelings known to our service manager at the time so we had an opportunity to rectify the situation. If you had, we would... More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

My family dined here today at lunch with friends who recommended this pub. The meal cost $160 for such ordinary fare. There were two major flaws with this place. Firstly we had to queue for 20 minutes simply to order. Secondly I ordered a salad that sounded good on the menu but should have cost $10 not $22. It promised... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Steve B, Manager at Husky Beach Bites, responded to this review

We're sorry you were disappointed with your salad and the amount of feta therein. We wish you'd made your concerns known to our service manager at the time, as we have little opportunity to make it up to you now — we sincerely hope you have found better feta elsewhere, nevertheless. We have updated our ordering process since your review,... More 

Nowra, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Have been here several times mainly because our friends live nearby and it is where we go for an evening swim in the summer. The food s OK can't really fault it but it is a pub and the food is expensive especially when you have to queue up to order, then fight your way through the crowd to pick... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve B, Owner at Husky Beach Bites, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and sorry you were disappointed with your meal this time. we have reviewed our food and drinks ordering processes in response to your review and now use dedicated ordering areas, which we feel addresses your concerns. Please make yourself known to our manager next time you're at the hotel, as we'd love to give you a... More 

Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Came here for lunch, and have to say this is a very nice establishment. They have a great seating inside, outside (open), as well as covered outside area. The serving sizes are very large, so bring your appetite!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve B, General Manager at Husky Beach Bites, responded to this review

Great to hear you loved your lunch. Come back again soon! More 

Sydney
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Chilled out, nice water views, reasonably priced drinks and a relaxed vibe. Perfect spot to have an afternoon drink. We even saw some dolphins swimming along very close to the shoreline. Great place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Had dinner on a Tuesday night. $12:50 for a T bone steak, chips and gravy including a beer. Good value and nice location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Visited with family for lunch in the sun. Sat on the large deck enjoying the water views and across the table had the seafood platter for one, steak sandwich and flathead tails. The platter was fresh, tasty and enough for one's lunch; reviews of the steak sambo was that it was tender and tasty; and the flathead coated in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, Manager at Husky Beach Bites, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words and we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Come back again soon! More 

Canberra, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

My husband and I ate here recently and found the food excellent value for money. The servings were large and tasty. My husband had Duck Risotto and I had Flathead in beer batter. Both great and the beer batter on the fish was so light it almost melted in your mouth. Service was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Weather you have an afternoon drink overlooking the beach and bay, or stay for a meal, this lovely refurbished pub is just the place to be in Huskisson. We did both. Was nice and cosy inside on a cold winter's night, and we thoroughly enjoyed fresh local oysters and the biggest yummiest chicken parmagiana ever.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Husky Beach Bites also viewed

Huskisson, Shoalhaven
Huskisson, Shoalhaven
 
Huskisson, Shoalhaven
Huskisson, Shoalhaven
 

Been to Husky Beach Bites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 64 Owen Street, Huskisson, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Shoalhaven  >  Huskisson
  • Phone Number: +61 2 4441 5245

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Coffee Shop, Pub, Brasserie

Description

Hearty pub meals in relaxed bistro style, overlooking the picturesque waterfront of Huskisson, on the NSW South Coast. Steaks, seafood, pizzas, salads, kids meals.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Husky Beach Bites staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?