We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

O-Sushi

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Sushi, Japanese, Healthy, Fusion
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
90-96 Jonson St | Woolworths Plaza, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
02 6685 7103
Website
Today
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Good for:
Breakfast/Brunch
Reservations
Delivery
Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 358 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 226
    Excellent
  • 95
    Very good
  • 28
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Best teriyaki chicken ever !!

After an unsuccessful attempt to dine at Success Thai (see my review), we came back to old faithful. O'Sushi, what can I say ? Always good service. Good variety on the sushi train. I ordered from the menu - chicken teriyaki with brown rice. Gluten free ? No problem ! Chicken so tasty and tender it... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed February 21, 2015
Lara G
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

358 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015 NEW

After an unsuccessful attempt to dine at Success Thai (see my review), we came back to old faithful. O'Sushi, what can I say ? Always good service. Good variety on the sushi train. I ordered from the menu - chicken teriyaki with brown rice. Gluten free ? No problem ! Chicken so tasty and tender it melts in your mouth.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Byron Bay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

This is one of the oldest Sushi restuarants in Byron. The food is always fresh and the service is good. Its a little more expensive than the cheap chain sushi stores but the presentation and quality warrants the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

Though the place looks nice and draws you in, once you sit down its a different story. Very very very over priced for the quality of food. Sushi was mostly tasteless and even with a liberal amount of soy and wasabi was a disappointment. The sashimi was not to bad but again the price was just way to much. Left... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julian S, Manager at O-Sushi, responded to this review

Dear Burgsybb, We were very sorry to hear that you found our sushi to be overpriced and of poor quality. We strive for quality and use organic brown rice and only fresh fish (no frozen tuna or other fish). We use MSG free products and source the best quality raw ingredients we can find. Our chefs are all Japanese chefs... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Always great service and great food. Can always order what is not on the train. If you get a regulars keyring (just ask) they always have great rewards. They also give you a Birthday voucher, very nice. Perfect if you need a quick lunch or dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Very good quality, fresh and very delicious. Excellent service. We had lunch there and was ver satisfied and the cost is the norm for this type of food within Australia.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lismore, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

I often go to this restaurant and I'm not sure if it's the new manager or??? The service was terrible, ordered as soon as we arrived and waited way to long for our food. The sushi is getting repetitive and boring. The manager did come and apologise but It wasn't sincere and I noticed he spent more time sitting down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julian S, General Manager at O-Sushi, responded to this review

Dear Beckriley0401, We were very sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience. As you may know, we have been open in Byron Bay for 11 years and have always aimed to give high quality food combined with good service. We believe that most of the time we achieve our goal, however when working with people we occasionally have days when... More 

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015 via mobile

I thought the variety on the train was a bit average, the quality was acceptable but nothing special. One thing a bit off putting for me was the portable type air con units with the big hoses blowing air around. Large space with indoor and outdoor seating. Friendly and upbeat ambience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julian S, General Manager at O-Sushi, responded to this review

Dear Steven Q, We would like to thank you for your valued feedback. We are truly sorry about the ugly AC units, however we were forced to use them to maintain a healthy environment for our award winning product. Our current AC unit (installed during our recent renovations) was unfortunately insufficient to maintain the required standards for sushi production and... More 

melbounre
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

Not a problem only grabbed a quick snack. If it stayed on the train and is made at the beginning of service then if you come in at say 2.30 and the plate you pick has been going around and around on the train unrefrigerated for 2.5 hours on a non air conditioned room...well them maybe there is a problem... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julian S, General Manager at O-Sushi, responded to this review

Dear MrsWorldly, Thank you for your feedback and for allowing us to address your concerns. Our restaurant operates well within the NSW government's standards for sushi service. Our monitoring procedures include systems for monitoring rice acidification, time left on train, cross contamination protocols and all other hygiene and critical control points associated with sushi production and sale. We even hired... More 

London, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

We went to go o'sushi on the recommendation someone we met in Byron and we're not disappointed. We eat sushi quite a bit and this place really does it well. The service at lunch was not great, but we survived. It turns out it is sushi started in byron before opening to other locations in the gold coast facts we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Mind-blowing food everytime! Great place to hang out, friendly staff. I can't find a fault! A must-do every trip to Byron, can never get enough! <3

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed O-Sushi also viewed

Byron Bay, New South Wales
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 
Byron Bay, New South Wales
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 

Been to O-Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 90-96 Jonson St | Woolworths Plaza, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Byron Bay
  • Phone Number: 02 6685 7103

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 3 - 37
  • Cuisine: Sushi, Japanese, Healthy, Fusion
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from O-Sushi staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?