We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

O-Sushi

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Japanese, Sushi, Fusion, Healthy
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
90-96 Jonson St | Woolworths Plaza, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
02 6685 7103
Website
Today
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: O-Sushi aims to provide a delicious range of healthy and fresh Japanese...
O-Sushi aims to provide a delicious range of healthy and fresh Japanese food in a relaxed and friendly environment in central Byron Bay.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 375 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 233
    Excellent
  • 100
    Very good
  • 31
    Average
  • 11
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Freshest restaurant in Byron Bay.

Since moving to Byron Bay a month ago my partner and I have visited O-Sushi about 6 times already. The food is incredibly fresh, whether you are ordering a chicken terriaki, generous salmon fillet salad, or a simple avocado sushi roll. The service and good expertise from the staff there are both... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 30, 2015
Juliamareee
via mobile
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

375 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015 NEW via mobile

Since moving to Byron Bay a month ago my partner and I have visited O-Sushi about 6 times already. The food is incredibly fresh, whether you are ordering a chicken terriaki, generous salmon fillet salad, or a simple avocado sushi roll. The service and good expertise from the staff there are both impeccable. Highly recommended dinner or lunch destination for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015 NEW via mobile

it is an award winning restaurant we went there with high expectations. The food was really good, especially the teriyaki eye fillet, tender and juicy. We also ordered their signature rolls , tempuras, silken tofu, and a few plates from the sushi train. Those dishes, I'd say I've had better ones. Overall it was a very enjoyable meal. It costs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Byron Bay, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015 NEW

I have been to O-Sushi a number of times. I prefer going for lunch as there was a lot more variety going through around the train. In saying that the food was just as great as the lunch time course. I will defiantly be back as its a great place to get great food quick.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015 NEW

Always shy away from sushi train restaurants as it's not my thing. However O'sushi also has an extensive a la carte menu with some great sushi, soft shell crab and the warm trout salad is excellent. All 4 of us thoroughly enjoyed our meals.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Byron Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015 NEW

We visit O-Sushi quite regularly and really love the food. The renovations are amazing and I just love the way the have gone to a lot of trouble to bring the Japanese influence into the whole building. Looks stunning at night. Prices are probably mid-range and that is understandable, taking into account the type of food served. It is not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015 NEW

I used to think of this place as an exceptionally special little gem. First visit in a while - and the first since the renovation/expansion - was an unexceptional ordinary experience; irritating music, haphazard service, overpriced and instantly forgettable food. Did something else change along the way?

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julian S, Manager at O-Sushi, responded to this review

Dear alasdair_stark, We're very sorry to hear about your last experience at O-Sushi Byron Bay. Our main aim is to serve quality food, sourcing the best possible ingredients and providing very friendly and responsive service. It seems we didn't meet your expectations during your visit. We will use your feedback to improve our service routines. We're not sure about the... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015 NEW

As much as I wanted to enjoy this place I was greatly disappointed by the overpriced food and poor service. No haloumi was available despite several dishes listed and yards from a supermarket.... Wrong orders arriving at our table and surrounding tables. Won't be back anytime soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julian S, Manager at O-Sushi, responded to this review

Dear celticabby, We were very sorry to read your review. Our aim is to provide the best quality ingredients in a delicious variety with friendly service. We work with a few suppliers whom we believe offer the best products available in the area. If we cannot source ingredients of adequate quality, we unfortunately cannot offer them at the time. Whether... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015 via mobile

I eat here as local and like the food. problem is they always understaffed so not clean benches, empty wasabi and tamari sauce pots sometimes you can wait 15 mins before a waitress acknowledges your presence as she busy you got the food right now get the staffing ratio right it's not a patch on the other sushi place in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julian S, Manager at O-Sushi, responded to this review

Dear byronlocals, We thank you for taking the time to let us know your observations. We take your points very seriously and will discuss each of these issues with our staff in an effort to ensure an improvement in the future. We do hope to see you again, and appreciate all the feedback we receive, especially from locals like yourself,... More 

Skennars Head, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We have now been going to O-Sushi for just over 10 years, ever since our son was 4 months old. We still enjoy our weekly visit as the food has been consistent and the staff has always been friendly and accommodating. As we have been long time customers our son has even a dish named after him. Its these small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lennox Head, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Fabulous sushi with top quality ingredients including marvellous seafood. We have found the staff always friendly and welcoming even when we have dined with our four children. Sushi train high quality and fresh and complemented by extensive menu of exquisite dishes.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed O-Sushi also viewed

Byron Bay, New South Wales
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 
Byron Bay, New South Wales
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 

Been to O-Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 90-96 Jonson St | Woolworths Plaza, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Byron Bay
  • Phone Number: 02 6685 7103

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 3 - 37
  • Cuisine: Japanese, Sushi, Fusion, Healthy

Description

O-Sushi aims to provide a delicious range of healthy and fresh Japanese food in a relaxed and friendly environment in central Byron Bay.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from O-Sushi staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?