We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shop 1/4 Bay Lane, Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
02 66808787
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 137 Restaurants in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $21
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian, Malaysian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: A favourite with locals Asia Joe's offers colourful & fresh modern Asian food- at budget prices. Healthy, friendly & unique. A very Byron experience!
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    62
    17
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

This place was busy but we managed to squeeze in on one of the bigger tables and shared with a fun couple from Dublin. We shared the squid and then scoffed our way through a big nasi goreng and a yellow curry with crispy snapper - both really enjoyable. This isn't fine dining but it's fun, casual and well priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Heard so much about this place, so we were excited to try the 'best Thai in Byron'...we love our Thai food, and this was such a let down!!! We had the chicken Pad Thai (cluggy, overcomplicated and unauthentic) and the coconut/lemongrass curry (bland and uninspiring-even with added chilli) SO sorry to leave such a review, but if you're claiming 'inspired... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emma T, Owner at Asia Joe's, responded to this review

Hi - really sorry you did not enjoy our food. It is a shame we get labelled as a Thai restaurant because we aren't! Our food is based around Asian recipes with a Byron twist so much more emphasis on fresh veggies and clean flavours. The Coconut lime & lemongrass is not a curry and has no spice at all.... More

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014 via mobile

The food here was very tasty. I had a curry which was excellent and the mixed starter was very good too. The restaurant is BYO which is always a good thing and the bottle shop is very close by. We had a long day driving around so we didn't get here until late, unfortunately I found that we were very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emma T, Owner at Asia Joe's, responded to this review

Hi - really happy you enjoyed our food! Really sorry you felt rushed at the end of the night - I will talk to the girls on shift that night and explain how they made your feel. We would LOVE to put our bottles in the recycling bin!! Unfortunately the council only collect the yellow bins twice a week whereas... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014 via mobile

i had the seafood pad thai .it was terrible ,dry and without much seafood and without taste my wife had the curry and it was like a stew . Overall very disappointing . !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emma T, Owner at Asia Joe's, responded to this review

Obviously we are very disappointed to read this. It is my understanding that we did everything we could on the night to rectify your complaint - lots of apologies, a refund or a freshly cooked meal but you did not want this. Our Pad Thai is extremely popular and full flavoured but if the chef does not time it to... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Tight seating but if you are willing to squash in it is worth it. Food came out promptly without delay. Fresh, fragrant, well presented simple food that not only has oodles of flavour but is super well priced. Consistently good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We went here with local friends and tried at least 8 different dishes among the group. Every dish was really flavorsome and interesting. The staff are also lovely. It is small and busy but they did an incredible job and were always checking back to see if we were okay. Definitely worth checking this place out for cheap eats. BYO... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014 via mobile

A very busy little place in the middle of the Byron food and tourist zone! It provided food with great authentic gentle flavours. We ordered from the specials board and we were very pleased. Thin strips of chilli beef served with snow peas - very tasty and not overwhelming. We also ordered Lemongrass and coconut chicken, lip smacking!!! The service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014 via mobile

Went to Asia Joe's because of the great reviews it gets on TripAdvisor. Ordered the New Goreng and Laksa. I have to say that I was extraordinarily disappointed with what I got. The chief complaint is the lack authenticity. A Malaysian laksa does not have broccoli and zuchinni (or courgette for those who come from overseas), it was also really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emma T, Owner at Asia Joe's, responded to this review

Really sad to get this review. It is always a shame when customers don't enjoy our style of Asian INFLUENCED food. We are not a Malaysian or Thai restaurant and dont pretend to be (Mee Goreng is actually an Indonesian dish!). We take traditional recipes and give them a Byron twist which means lots of colourful, fresh veggies and a... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

Its basically Thai food. Very cramped place. And food took like 45 minutes to be served from time of order..... which is partly why I'm only giving it three points.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emma T, Owner at Asia Joe's, responded to this review

Hi there - really sorry you waited so long for your food. We have been super busy lately and have a new chef so we might have been a bit slower than usual. Our goal is to get food out within 20 mins. I agree 45 mins is too long. Hope to see you again soon. More

Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

A nice little restaurant tucked away in a laneway. It has alternate-style decor. Food was ok - nothing extraordinary though. It was very busy when we were there for dinner. It did not seem like a very clean restaurant. I don't recommend this restaurant for families with small kids. It is too cramped to bring in a pram and park... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Asia Joe's also viewed

Byron Bay, New South Wales
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 
Byron Bay, New South Wales
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 

Been to Asia Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asia Joe's

Address: Shop 1/4 Bay Lane, Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Phone Number: 02 66808787
Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Byron Bay
Average Prices: USD 8 - 21
Cuisine: Asian, Indonesian, Malaysian, Thai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing