We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Goose & Gridiron

317 St Lawrence St, Merrickville, Ontario K0G 1N0, Canada
613.269.2094
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Diner, Canadian, Pub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are a full service restaurant located in beautiful historic Merrickville. We also have a great pub for get togethers with friends or casual meetings with clients all in an 1856 historic building. During beatiful summer weather sit on our patio and have a great meal in the sunshine! Book your next party in our separate party room that can accommodate up to 50. If it's a group, a family outing or a romantic night out give us a call or just drop in and we can accommodate all your needs. Cheers from The Goose!!
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    34
    34
    14
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 NEW

My son was playing ball in Ottawa and on our way back home to Napanee we stopped to have a bite to eat. Great atmosphere, people and food!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philadelphia area
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 NEW

The burger and fries were fine, but not outstanding so it is doubtful whether that meal was worth the $12.99 price. We each had a different on-tap beer, neither memorable and one of the quite flat. Also, it would have been helpful to see a list of beers available rather than rely on the server reciting some dozen possibilities. My... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Had my first experience of a smoked meat sandwich today. It came with a choice of fries, salad and various dressings or soup. The salad was great and the garlic dressing lovely. Servers were friendly, attentive and polite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We couldn't believe our luck when we drove up, a parking spot became vacant as we arrived. Then we went inside, not really expecting room on the patio, but there was. Cold beer, good food, wonderful service and in beautiful Merrickville to boot! This is our second time, the hardest part Is to pick something from the menu. We had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We decided to try this pub Pleasant pub atmosphere Promptly seated and ordered our selection of salmon basted with a ginger orange It arrived at our table swiftly We we disappointed that it was not cooked through and asked that it be returned The second plate arrived. The salmon was coked through but cold We did not send it back.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The gravy was bland, instead of cheese curds they used shreaded mozzarella. The fries themselves were good, the wife had those. The atmosphere was nice, we ate in the patio outside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thegooseandgrid... M, Owner at Goose & Gridiron, responded to this review

We are glad you approve of our fries. Our poutine is a little different with the shredded mozzarella and cheddar cheese mix than curd I agree. It is however very stringy and gooey when it melts and creates a good blend of cheese and gravy. I will say this is a first about our poutine! Our gravy is a mix... More

Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is the second time our group have been here, and it was by error that we ended up here the second time. If we had remembered it from the first visit we would not have gone back. I didn't want to give a 1 star, but didn't because the service was nice. The first time the food was average,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thegooseandgrid... M, Owner at Goose & Gridiron, responded to this review

We are happy your service was acceptable however we are truly sorry your meal was not to your liking. We never have food for any duration at our establishment. We spend thousands a week on food and assure it is circulated very frequently. Bread is made every day so as far as it being mouldy that's a big stretch! We... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Good menu; great food; good atmosphere; prompt and friendly service. There wasn't anything I disliked.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thegooseandgrid... M, Owner at Goose & Gridiron, responded to this review

Thank you on all accounts! We appreciate the great feedback. We look forward to seeing you again, cheers from all of us at The Goose!! More

Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Our server was so friendly and helpful, we really felt welcome. We enjoyed the patio until we had to move inside due to a mosquito swarm at dusk. The menu is extensive and the food is above-average.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thegooseandgrid... M, Owner at Goose & Gridiron, responded to this review

We are so happy you felt at home with us. We work hard at keeping that homey feel. Sorry about the mosquitoes, unfortunately we are in the country by The Rideau so when the sun goes down the mosquitoes come out! Little pests!! We have tried different mosquito magnets but none of them worked. We look forward to seeing you... More

Kemptville, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I had ordwered fajitas which was the special of the evening. What came was tasty but there was a miniscule piece of chicken already cut up, four small thin fajita breads and no guacamole sauce. Thin is one of my favourite meals and the owner should tour around other restaurants and see what they do. I was recently at a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thegooseandgrid... M, Owner at Goose & Gridiron, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and also glad that the food was tasty. As far as portion size it is a one person order and it's 13.99 not that expensive. We do cater to our locals as we have many that visit our establishment. If there is every any problems that anyone would like to talk about as... More

Travelers who viewed Goose & Gridiron also viewed

 
Merrickville, Ontario
Merrickville, Ontario
 

Been to Goose & Gridiron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goose & Gridiron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing