We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Goose & Gridiron

317 St Lawrence St, Merrickville, Ontario K0G 1N0, Canada
613.269.2094
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Diner, Canadian, Pub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are a full service restaurant located in beautiful historic Merrickville. We also have a great pub for get togethers with friends or casual meetings with clients all in an 1856 historic building. During beatiful summer weather sit on our patio and have a great meal in the sunshine! Book your next party in our separate party room that can accommodate up to 50. If it's a group, a family outing or a romantic night out give us a call or just drop in and we can accommodate all your needs. Cheers from The Goose!!
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    33
    33
    11
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is the second time our group have been here, and it was by error that we ended up here the second time. If we had remembered it from the first visit we would not have gone back. I didn't want to give a 1 star, but didn't because the service was nice. The first time the food was average,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thegooseandgrid... M, Owner at Goose & Gridiron, responded to this review

We are happy your service was acceptable however we are truly sorry your meal was not to your liking. We never have food for any duration at our establishment. We spend thousands a week on food and assure it is circulated very frequently. Bread is made every day so as far as it being mouldy that's a big stretch! We... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Good menu; great food; good atmosphere; prompt and friendly service. There wasn't anything I disliked.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thegooseandgrid... M, Owner at Goose & Gridiron, responded to this review

Thank you on all accounts! We appreciate the great feedback. We look forward to seeing you again, cheers from all of us at The Goose!! More

Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Our server was so friendly and helpful, we really felt welcome. We enjoyed the patio until we had to move inside due to a mosquito swarm at dusk. The menu is extensive and the food is above-average.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thegooseandgrid... M, Owner at Goose & Gridiron, responded to this review

We are so happy you felt at home with us. We work hard at keeping that homey feel. Sorry about the mosquitoes, unfortunately we are in the country by The Rideau so when the sun goes down the mosquitoes come out! Little pests!! We have tried different mosquito magnets but none of them worked. We look forward to seeing you... More

Kemptville, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I had ordwered fajitas which was the special of the evening. What came was tasty but there was a miniscule piece of chicken already cut up, four small thin fajita breads and no guacamole sauce. Thin is one of my favourite meals and the owner should tour around other restaurants and see what they do. I was recently at a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thegooseandgrid... M, Owner at Goose & Gridiron, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and also glad that the food was tasty. As far as portion size it is a one person order and it's 13.99 not that expensive. We do cater to our locals as we have many that visit our establishment. If there is every any problems that anyone would like to talk about as... More

Ottawa
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stopped in with a group. Had the ploughman's lunch - not impressed. The rolls seemed shop bought not proper bread. The cheese wasn't a big hunk of cheddar or a slice of blue or Brie - no, it was a few slices of white & orange cheese - what you'd buy at YIG in a packet. The chutney wasn't bad.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thegooseandgrid... M, Owner at Goose & Gridiron, responded to this review

There are many renditions of a ploughman's lunch. It is just what it says. There are many different variations of this meal since it was a combination of different items brought to the field for a farmer's lunch. That being said our version of this meal is in the form of a salad that's why it has all the greens.... More

Ontario's Near North, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The atmosphere isn't anything special. The food is fine, but nothing different or special. The service was fine, nothing special. The prices are fine. Absolutely fine, but nothing special....

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thegooseandgrid... M, Owner at Goose & Gridiron, responded to this review

Our building was built in 1856 and we believe is quite special as do many others. Our menu is quite extensive and all food is home made, by us per order so we put our special touch to it. Our servers take pride in their work and offering great products for very good prices. They are a busy and efficient... More

Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My husband & I stopped here for lunch on a recent weekend visit, and as usual were not disappointed. The staff are friendly, lowkey & welcoming, and the menu has something for everyone. I had the cobb salad, which had fresh grilled chicken, crisp bacon & a variety of vegetables, blue cheese melted on top, with choice of dressings. Quite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thegooseandgrid... M, Owner at Goose & Gridiron, responded to this review

We are truly humbled when we receive great reviews like to one you submitted. From ownership to staff we work very hard at The Goose to make everyone's stay an enjoyable and memorable experience. To hear that you are a go to favourite, well for us it doesn't get any better than that and we appreciate your trust and continued... More

Brockville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I visited the Gridiron for the first time by taking my girlfriend Michele out for her 40th birthday, it gets top marks, the food, Atmosphere and Service were outstanding. We started by having the G&G Combo platter which usually is just small finger foods to get you started, The portion we received was surprisingly generous not mention Very tasty......... For... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thegooseandgrid... M, Owner at Goose & Gridiron, responded to this review

Thanks for making us part of a special day!! Thanks for your gracious review and we hope to see you for your 41st!! Or sooner!! Cheers from all of us at The Goose :) More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We live in the area so we go regularly to the Goose for supper or lunch. They have great soups for the lunch. Lately, I have been enjoying their sticky toffee pudding way too much. My favorite dish on the menu is the Madras Chicken Curry with a delicious cold Granville Lions Winter ale, I could not ask for better.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thegooseandgrid... M, Owner at Goose & Gridiron, responded to this review

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to many more! Cheers from all of us at The Goose :) More

Erdington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I was in Merrickville in September last year and called into "goose and Gridiron" we had a couple of hours there in which we ate and drank but I must admit mostly drank . Great hospitality and food , and if Im ever back in the area i would drop by

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thegooseandgrid... M, Owner at Goose & Gridiron, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review! Hope to see you soon! With many thanks, cheers from all of us at The Goose :) More

Travelers who viewed Goose & Gridiron also viewed

 
Merrickville, Ontario
Merrickville, Ontario
 

Been to Goose & Gridiron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goose & Gridiron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing