We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wreckers

$$$
Seafood, British, English
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
The Old Boatshed | Charlestown Harbour, St Austell PL25 3NJ, England
01726 879053
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Wreckers and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Good for:
Romance
Large groups
Local cuisine
Outdoor seating
Special occasions
Scenic view

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 497 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 190
    Excellent
  • 162
    Very good
  • 63
    Average
  • 36
    Poor
  • 46
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
All in all a very enjoyable meal

Great, smiling, happy staff who were really friendly and not too pushy. Gave us time between courses when we asked for them. 
Anti Pasti misto starter & Hummus were both very good. Fresh ingredients and well presented.
 Main of Sea Bass & Scallops, Sea Bass very well cooked, Scallops, hmmmmm... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 6, 2015
Gogif
,
Pleurtuit, France
Good for:
  • Romance
  • Large groups
  • Local cuisine
  • Outdoor seating
  • Special occasions
  • Scenic view
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
  • Dessert
Add Photo Write a Review

497 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
uk
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015 via mobile

This place is a trap because it looks nice you think you are going to have a good time and be well looked after but you are going to be disappointed. Beware it is best to be avoided! The food is not good and expensive for what it is. The portions of fish were piled up in my plate in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wreckers, Manager at Wreckers, responded to this review

I am very shocked upon reading your review and find it difficult to understand you have left such bad comments about our food as after finishing every last bit of both your starters and mains you told us everything was lovely. From the moment you arrived you were told that we could seat you but we would need the table... More 

Cornwall,UK
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We visited Wreckers recently for a Sunday lunch, and it was a very pleasant experience. Very busy, but efficiently run by friendly staff. The food was very good and plentiful in a nice environment. Not so keen on the evening menu, as too much bias towards seafood for my liking, but still a great little restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pleurtuit, France
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Great, smiling, happy staff who were really friendly and not too pushy. Gave us time between courses when we asked for them. 
Anti Pasti misto starter & Hummus were both very good. Fresh ingredients and well presented.
 Main of Sea Bass & Scallops, Sea Bass very well cooked, Scallops, hmmmmm, on the edge of medium rare. My only gripe, being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Food excellent, superb service and an great location, just turned up and table found for us, but might be an idea to book.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cornwall
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Popped in for an impromptu lunch. Very surprised we could get in at all due to it being Easter Sunday. We had 3 courses all of which were great. The seafood feast is definitely recommend as is the fish pie. Very friendly staff although they were a little overwhelmed due to how busy it became. We didn't mind as we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015 via mobile

We love to go to wreckers on the first day of our holiday for lunch. On a sunny day we will typically walk down the footpath from where we stay near the carlyon bay hotel. Once we arrive we will sit outside and enjoy a cornish ratler, not many places still serve these so its a real treat. The food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

Great location...great service...but choked when I recieved the bill for £8.95 for A mediocre pasty which came with a handful of salad.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

''An ideal quality restaurant'' in an ideal location ( Charlestown), The quality of the food and refreshment is excellent and competitively price, well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

3rd visit here. Cream tea is good. Large warm scone with plenty of jam and cream. Nice inside with good views of Charlestown which is a lovely harbour. Nice little seating area outside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

What a little gem! Ok, so it's March and not that busy but I arrived solo for an early dinner and the staff were friendly and helpful, giving me a choice of tables and as it turned out a great vantage point to watch other diners! The food was superb, I ordered the sea bass with scallops and spinach from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Wreckers also viewed

St Austell, Cornwall
 
Charlestown, St Austell
 

Been to Wreckers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: The Old Boatshed | Charlestown Harbour, St Austell PL25 3NJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  St Austell
  • Phone Number: 01726 879053

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 0 - 31
  • Cuisine: Seafood, British, English

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wreckers staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?