We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
35 Fore Street, Lostwithiel PL220BN, England
+44 1208 873070
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 17 Restaurants in Lostwithiel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $78
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 3:00 pm
Mon - Sat 10:00 am - 2:00 pm
Tue - Thu 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Fri - Sat 6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Cuisines: English, Italian, Pizza & Pasta, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A busy bistro set in the heart of the idyllic town of Lostwithiel, Cornwall. Our menu ranges from authentic home cooked Italian meals to traditional English dishes, using fresh and locally sourced ingredients. We have a large selection of vegetarian dishes and a separate gluten free menu.Freshly ground Italian sourced coffee and cakes are served throughout the day.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    42
    13
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014 NEW

Returning from a funeral in Saltash I decided to stop for lunch in Lostwithiel. I checked the main street and the most appealing place appeared to be the Terra Nova Restaurant. On a December day it was not full and I was quickly shown to a table. The service was prompt and polite. I chose the Hamburger. It was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alban, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014 via mobile

Just had a great Sunday lunch (beef, Turkey or pork roast) at a great price and huge portions lovely staff good service

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

We have family in the area that we travel down to visit in the school holidays and we’ve been to Terra Nova a few times now, most recently at half term and I thought it was time I left a review. I haven’t had a bad meal yet and the portion sizes are really generous, especially considering how good value... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014 via mobile

Food was very average and the service was terrible. They couldn't seem to accommodate a combination from the menu or have any initiative. Also lack of drink options, no rum for example.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

I ate here recently having not been for several years. The food was superb, I thoroughly recommend the chips, prawns and the steak was also very nice (although it would be better if asked how well I would have liked it cooked). The only thing that let the experience down was the fact that the restaurant seemed to be used... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

We were the other party who arrived at the same time as John B and we did consider leaving with them. We were glad we didn't. The welcome on arrival and first few minutes are best described as a "Glass Half empty" approach. We chose the restaurant from Trip advisor and Trip advisor could help here by making information about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Very good food. Gluten free offered. I've never been disappointed when eating here. We eat here for family celebrations and just as a couple. I feel comfortable with both. I have a family of fussy/special diet eaters we can all have a choice which is great. It can get busy so booking for an evening meal may be advisable if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terra_Nova_Bistro, Manager at Terra Nova, responded to this review

Thank you very much, it's always good to see people coming back regularly! More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

I work as a railway engineer on the local infrastructure and fancied a quick meal during my lunch. I walked in and asked to see a menu, the young lady / waitress looked me up and down and said sorry we are fully booked. (4 people were in the restaurant) I have never been made to feel so worthless, rather... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Terra_Nova_Bistro, Manager at Terra Nova, responded to this review

I'd rather you didn't use dismissive, sexist language towards our staff. The front of house member in question was perfectly polite. I'm very sorry we couldn't fit you in, but, regardless of how it appears, if all the tables were booked out over the next hour or so we wouldn't be able seat you. I've checked the diary and half... More 

Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

I have seen the positive reviews but have to say I have never met with such an appalling unwelcoming and obnoxious waitress as we did tonight, Monday. We arrived at the restaurant 5 minutes before opening time and there was another party also waiting for the restaurant to open. On opening, I would have expected the waitress to have opened... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terra_Nova_Bistro, Manager at Terra Nova, responded to this review

I'm sorry you were not greeted in a manner that you were happy with, the member of staff in question is young, but she's been working for us for quite a while and we will be discussing the matter with her. Obviously we are happy to take walk ins if we can fit them in, but it is half term... More 

Cornwall, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Truly delicious food very reasonably priced. We were warmly welcomed and given a table for 2. As it was such a sunny day I asked if we could move to a table for 4 which had the sun. Not a problem at all. Our coffees were large, hot and delicious. Our shared starter, plenty for 2, included the best olives... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terra_Nova_Bistro, Manager at Terra Nova, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we're really pleased you enjoyed your coffees and food! More 

Travelers who viewed Terra Nova also viewed

Lostwithiel, Cornwall
 
Lostwithiel, Cornwall
Lostwithiel, Cornwall
 

Been to Terra Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terra Nova

Address: 35 Fore Street, Lostwithiel PL220BN, England
Phone Number: +44 1208 873070
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Lostwithiel
Open Hours:
Sunday 10:00 am - 3:00 pm
Monday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm
Tuesday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm  7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm  7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm  7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm  6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm  6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 8 - 78
Cuisine: English, Italian, Pizza & Pasta, Bistro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Terra Nova staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?