We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The King’s Head

Certificate of Excellence
$$$
Gastropub, French, Pub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
123 High Street, Teddington TW11 8HG, England
+44 20 3166 2900
Website
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Mon - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is very much a Victorian purpose built pub, but its roots are...
This is very much a Victorian purpose built pub, but its roots are somewhat older. The original Teddington King's Head dates back to 1689, the time of William III. Maybe it's the history of the building that gives the pub its appeal or it could be Polly and her team who are undeniably charming, attentive and professional that make you want to come back time and time again. Our regulars love us for the informality and cosiness of the King's, we have a large pewter bar, inviting snugs, three separate rooms, open fireplaces and a wonderful walled patio at the back (with our own fruiting grape vine). Our open kitchen shows we are as serious about our food as we are about our ales and our wines - the menu features French brasserie dishes with an English pub twist with everything cooked fresh on the premises.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 213 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 72
    Excellent
  • 86
    Very good
  • 30
    Average
  • 15
    Poor
  • 10
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Surprisingly quiet location

The courtyard on a sunny day is a great place to eat, and the inside looks cosy for when the weather isn't so kind. Food nicely presented and beautifully cooked My only real complaint was that service was a little slow.

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 20, 2015
Peter S
,
London, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

The courtyard on a sunny day is a great place to eat, and the inside looks cosy for when the weather isn't so kind. Food nicely presented and beautifully cooked My only real complaint was that service was a little slow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pollyanna D, General Manager at The King’s Head, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your kind words regarding our garden, restaurant and food. I am very sorry to hear that your service was slow. We strive in providing excellent customer service and will be discussing the service in our management meeting to ensure this does not happen again. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind... More 

london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

Went for my Dads birthday. We sat outside we could have been in the doing of France. Excellent food really tasty bad super service. We will be back. Thank you Kings Head :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pollyanna D, General Manager at The King’s Head, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Our garden is truly beautiful and with the vibrant plants and sunny setting. We are really glad your dad enjoyed his birthday and look forward to seeing you again over the summer months. Kind Regards, Polly Dunn General Manager More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Really really good food and amazing service just everything is perfect in this place. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pollyanna D, General Manager at The King’s Head, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your kind words about The King's Head. To say we are perfect is truly fantastic. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again over the summer. Kind Regards, Polly Dunn General Manager More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

We love this place , have been going for three years. The food is always delicious and the staff are friendly and attentive. We go as a couple or with our kids and we have never had a bad word to say about it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pollyanna D, General Manager at The King’s Head, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for writing such a lovely review about The King's Head. We do strive to provide excellent customer service alongside delicious fresh food. We look forward to seeing you again throughout the summer. Kind Regards, Polly Dunn General Manager More 

Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

I visited for lunch after hearing great things about the lunch menu. £5.95 for a salmon baguette sandwich with fries and a salad! Bargain. It was also delicious, cooked well and value for money. We sat out the back, in the garden. Lovely suntrap!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pollyanna D, General Manager at The King’s Head, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your review about The King's Head. The Salmon baguette is definitely a winner! We look forward to seeing you again throughout the summer in our lovely garden. Kind Regards, Polly Dunn General Manager More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

Visited a old favourite of mine, the King's Head in Teddington. Nice enough pub out front (they do keep their beers very well), but out back is a full restaurant with some connection to Raymond Blanc. Great service - if you get the right waiter - and a very good wine list. Highly recommend!! Especially the Malbec Salentein!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pollyanna D, General Manager at The King’s Head, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your lovely review about The King's Head. It was great to see you back in the restaurant again. We now have a new guest beer - Mr Chubb's lunchtime bitter which I think you'll love! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, Polly Dunn General Manager More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

Nice wee pub that serves great ales and nice food. Fish finger sandwich was delicious!! And the Cheese and Biscuits fab!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pollyanna D, General Manager at The King’s Head, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your lovely review about The King's Head. We take pride in our ales and the food we serve! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, Polly Dunn General Manager More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

Very nice pub, but eaten twice now and food poor, ordered of the menu and the food I got was not what was on the menu, ordered goats cheese, got Brie, no one told me that they had run out or that there was a change. Please speak up, if I was told I could have made my own mind... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pollyanna D, General Manager at The King’s Head, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your review about The King's Head. Please could you contact me to discuss your experience and the food you ordered? We have a Rainbow beetroot salad with goats curd and a goats cheese, beetroot and walnut baguette. We don't currently have any brie on our menu and would like to understand which dish you ordered... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

We had friends up working at the Hampton Curt Flower Festival so wanted to meet them somewhere nice and relaxed after their hard days work at the show. It was the hottest July day since records began and at first I was a little dissapointed that we were not able to sit outside, but the airconditioning inside was actually the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pollyanna D, General Manager at The King’s Head, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your lovely review about your meal with us last week. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, Polly Dunn General Manager More 

London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

As locals have visited the restaurant several times, but unfortunately have not found the food to be great? Today, on Father's Day our son took us there for a late lunch. As vegetarians the options are very limited, which we are quite used to. However, today's option were less than 'nice' and really need to be improved. They lacked not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pollyanna D, General Manager at The King’s Head, responded to this review

Good evening, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at The Kings Head and your kind words about my staff. I'd love to speak to you directly about your experience yesterday so that we are able to improve our offering to all guests. Please do contact me directly on: kingshead@whitebrasserie.com or 02031662900 Kind Regards, Polly Dunn... More 

Travelers who viewed The King’s Head also viewed

Teddington, Greater London
Teddington, Greater London
 
Teddington, Greater London
 

Been to The King’s Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King’s Head

Address: 123 High Street, Teddington TW11 8HG, England
Phone Number: +44 20 3166 2900
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater London  >  Teddington
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 19 - 39
Cuisine: Gastropub, French, Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 123 High Street, Teddington TW11 8HG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater London  >  Teddington
  • Phone Number: +44 20 3166 2900

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 19 - 39
  • Cuisine: Gastropub, French, Pub

Description

This is very much a Victorian purpose built pub, but its roots are somewhat older. The original Teddington King's Head dates back to 1689, the time of William III. Maybe it's the history of the building that gives the pub its appeal or it could be Polly and her team who are undeniably charming, attentive and professional that make you want to come back time and time again. Our regulars love us for the informality and cosiness of the King's, we have a large pewter bar, inviting snugs, three separate rooms, open fireplaces and a wonderful walled patio at the back (with our own fruiting grape vine). Our open kitchen shows we are as serious about our food as we are about our ales and our wines - the menu features French brasserie dishes with an English pub twist with everything cooked fresh on the premises.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The King’s Head staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?