We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wickentree Restaurant at Housing Units

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Wickentree Lane | Failsworth, Oldham M35 9BA, England
0161-681-5678
Website
Add hours for Wickentree Restaurant at Housing Units and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 182 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 86
    Excellent
  • 54
    Very good
  • 24
    Average
  • 12
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Really good food and friendly service

Went for lunch with a couple of friends one of whom is a guide dog puppy walker. Restaurant staff could not have been more helpful with the dog placing us at a quiet table and providing iced water for the dog. Our food was delicious and i can really recommend the chicken ceasar salad which was... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 25, 2015
Fahy_9
,
Saddleworth Oldham
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saddleworth Oldham
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015 NEW

Went for lunch with a couple of friends one of whom is a guide dog puppy walker. Restaurant staff could not have been more helpful with the dog placing us at a quiet table and providing iced water for the dog. Our food was delicious and i can really recommend the chicken ceasar salad which was probably the best I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015 NEW

Today we visited The Wickentree for a mid-morning snack. We were greeted by a polite and friendly waiter who was quite willing to move tables so that we could have wheelchair access and all sit together. The décor is modern yet traditional at the same time. It looked like a lot of money had been spent on lighting and televisions... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015 via mobile

Mother's Day afternoon tea! Food scrumptious ! Beautiful surroundings, Atmosphere unhurried, calm and friendly 😄 well worth a revisit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Wickentree ... H, Kerry Mills at Wickentree Restaurant at Housing Units, responded to this review

Thank you for you kind comments on our Mother's Day afternoon tea! I am pleased that you found our food scrumptious, our surrounding beautiful and our atmosphere calm and friendly. I will pass all your comments onto to our Restaurant Team who will be delighted to hear these. Kind Regards More 

Hyde, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

I am never disappointed when I visit the restaurant. Met and seated by Rita who always has a friendly word and never seats me in a corner I always sit where I can see everything that's going on. Jodie on the counter took my order always so polite. Then as I'm always alone Rachel and Ann always have a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Wickentree ... H, Kerry Mills at Wickentree Restaurant at Housing Units, responded to this review

Thank you for you lovely comments on our Restaurant. I am pleased that you find our food lovely and our staff friendly. I will pass all your comments onto the Restaurant Team who will be delighted to hear these. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015 via mobile

A nice little place to eat, a nice menu and although a little pricey the setting is nice. Nice staff as well

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The Wickentree ... H, Kerry Mills at Wickentree Restaurant at Housing Units, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments on our restaurant. I am pleased you find our menu, staff and setting nice. I will pass your comments onto our staff who will be delighted to hear this. Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon! More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

12 months have gone by since we had a very disappointing meal at the Wickentree. We decided to give it another chance, but.... oh dear.....nothing has changed. We were greeted and seated nicely. I ordered the minute steak on toasted chiabatta with onion rings and 'black peppered mayo dressing' Onion rings, very good. Minute steak more like a warmed up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Wickentree ... H, Kerry Mills at Wickentree Restaurant at Housing Units, responded to this review

Firstly can I send my apologies that you were disappointed on your visit to The Wickentree. The steak sandwich is one of our bestselling dishes. I have passed your feedback on to our Restaurant Manager who adds his apologies and is surprised to hear the comments made in regards to the steal dish and has investigated the cut of meat... More 

lancashire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

its a place we go to when we want to start a special day off for e.g. a birthday treat or when friends come to visit as a special treat

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The Wickentree ... H, Kerry Mills at Wickentree Restaurant at Housing Units, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on our Restaurant I am delighted that you like to come to us for special occasions and look forward to seeing you here for many more! More 

Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Had an excellent Sunday breakfast, service was good food hot and plentiful. Will definitely be back for more.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The Wickentree ... H, Kerry Mills at Wickentree Restaurant at Housing Units, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful review I am pleased that you had an excellent Sunday breakfast and that you found our service good and our food hot and plentiful. Everyone here at Housing Units look forward to welcoming you back soon! More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

The waitress was called rita. She was a meet and greet and was lovely. She showed us to our table and gave us our menu and told us how to order. She is definatly a credit to your restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Wickentree ... H, Kerry Mills at Wickentree Restaurant at Housing Units, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments for Rita. I will pass these onto Rita and the Team who will be delighted to hear these. Thank you for visiting The Wickentree Restaurant at Housing Units we look forward to your next visit. More 

Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015 via mobile

Had afternoon tea here thought it was expensive and didn't get to choose own cakes which was disappointing and spoon didn't fit in jelly glass properly. It was nice and had to wait along time for teapot to be refilled .

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Wickentree ... H, K Mills at Wickentree Restaurant at Housing Units, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies that our Afternoon Tea was not to your satisfaction. Indeed we do not offer a choice on the desserts we serve as the ones on the menu are the chefs recommendations, however if you would like to request a new selection please do ask a member of our team who will certainly arrange this for you.... More 

Travelers who viewed Wickentree Restaurant at Housing Units also viewed

Oldham, Greater Manchester
Oldham, Greater Manchester
 
Oldham, Greater Manchester
Oldham, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Wickentree Restaurant at Housing Units? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Wickentree Lane | Failsworth, Oldham M35 9BA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Oldham
  • Phone Number: 0161-681-5678

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wickentree Restaurant at Housing Units staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?